We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Bangkok”
Review of Buddy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #175 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Bangkok”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My favorite hotel in Bangkok. The rooms are fantastic, colonial style with wood paneling, shutters, large flat-screen tv, huge bed,a big bathroom,safe and fridge with minibar. Great pool, great location, friendly helpful staff. Having stayed in many hotels around the world i highly recommend Buddy lodge. Check it out !

Room Tip: All the rooms are great - have stayed in a few! higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DamianOGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Damian OGM,

Thank you very much for staying at the Buddy Lodge Hotel on Khaosan Road.

We are pleased to read you were happy with your clean, comfortable room and felt we represented good value for money.

We are glad you also liked our roof-top pool which enables our guests to kick back and relax in a nice quiet location away from all the craziness below.

We look forward to your next trip to Bangkok later this year.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    540
    226
    64
    54
See reviews for
112
554
136
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have been coming here over the years as our 'Bangkok/ SE Asia base' - a kind of air-conditioned haven to chill and shake off jet lag, albeit at the epicentre of one of the noisiest tourist areas on the planet! When we came last year we felt the place, particularly the pool area, needed a freshen up or it would be our last visit. Pleased to say, though, that these improvements have happened. The rooftop pool - apparently this hotel's most talked-about asset - now has tasteful wooden loungers, nice decking and even pebbles nicely laid around the edge. It's very easy to forget you're in the heart of a throbbing metropolis when up here sipping a cocktail at sunset. As another recent review said, the staff do what it takes to make the stay comfortable - notably John and Eye - who give straightforward answers and make everything hassle-free with great tourist tips to boot.
PS the wifi in our room was good enough to watch the latest episodes of 'Homeland' on 4oD (if you allow a bit of time for the video to buffer)!
PPS Rooms are quieter on the higher floors. This IS Khao San Rd...

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank weeeksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Weeksy,

We would like to extend our warmest thanks to both you and your wife for choosing to return to the Buddy Lodge Hotel.

Everyone here was delighted to learn that you felt we had taken a substantial step forward in terms of facilities and service since your previous visit. As you mention in your review the 5th floor swimming pool area has undergone a major facelift earlier this year and now looks magnificent.

At the Buddy Group we understand the value of good customer service we are prepared to go the extra mile to try and help out valued guests. We really appreciate you mentioning that this was evident during your stay.

We look forward to your next visit in 2014.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were welcomed by really friendly English speaking staff. Our room was really nice, everything you need and very comfortable. The location could not be better, right on khao San road. Great wifi. The pool is really nice. Will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Tess F,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Buddy Lodge Hotel located right at the heart of the cities backpacker area.

It is nice to know you liked your room and all the different facilities we offer here. Next time you come to this part of Bangkok we recommend you check out the new Khaosan Museum, not far from our hotel. This small museum charts the history of Khaosan Road from it's beginnings to the present day.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Nice retreat on KhaoSan, really cant complain about anything. The englishman in the office was very nice and helpful. Price was not bad either, room clean, would stay again :-) Very nice to have oppurtunity to get away from the hustle and busle of the street :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAW76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Kaw76,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Bangkok.

We hope you are able to return again soon.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I made a booking 3 days before the arrival, and got to the hotel at 6 in the morning when 2 pm is the customary time to check in. However, the staff at the reception was very professional and immediately got me a room to stay in, not to mention a bright, warm welcome greetings. There were several comments about the noise from nearby bars in the middle of the night. I got a double bed room on the 5th floor, and I hardly had problems sleeping through it. The room was very spacious, and cleaning staff does a wonderful job maintaining cleanliness on a daily basis. The roof top pool is not to be missed.

Solo traveler, Stayed in October.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsjessiexd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear ItsJessiexd,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our boutique hotel on the busy Khaosan Road.

Everyone here really appreciates your kind words and recommendation to other future travelers to choose our hotel.

Our Management team place a lot of emphasis on providing good customer service and assistance to all our guests. We understand that arriving in a new country can sometimes be a little daunting and if we can offer a friendly face and good sound travel advice it will enhance the guests stay.

We truly hope you will return to the Buddy Lodge again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I've traveled to and from Thailand now for the last 5 years, so I think it's ok to say I've had my fair share of hotels in BKK.

Compared to them all - Buddy Lodge took the cake! There friendly staff and impeccable rooms made the final part of the trip absolutely amazing!! The rooms are spacious, beds were big and comfy, bathroom was modern and provided everything I needed. They also have nice balcony's in each room that most have nice views of the surrounding area.

You get full access to the facilities (gym, roof-top pool with a nice bar).
Location is prestige as well. My favorite bar is "Mulligans" which is open 24/7 and is directly downstairs haha!

The pool is a beauty and the gym is well-maintained and equipped. You can even learn Muai Thai if you have the time!

In summary, if you don't mind spending a little extra (compared to hostels as i'm a young solo traveler) and want a guaranteed, pleasurable experience - stay at Buddy Lodge! I urge you!!

Jay, 24
Australia

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the top floor - closer to the pool and away from the noise (even though it's not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J-Blaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear J Blaster,

Those are truly grand words about our hotel and we are very grateful that you have taken the time to share them here on Tripadvisor.

It was a pure delight to read that you were so impressed with our hotel and its facilities during the short time you spent with us.

Thank you for mentioning our friends at the nearby Mulligan's Irish Pub. This pub is open 24 hours and is a great place to catch many different types of live sport.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Buddy Lodge Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amphoe Koh Sa-mui, Surat Thani, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

the location is perfect if you want to be "in the thick of it" the hotel itself is on the popular kohsarn road over mcdonalds wich makes it easy to remember !!!!! although located on the busy streets once you are in the hotel itself its supprisingly quite offering you a good nights sleep . on check in the staff were polite and friendly and the bell hop took our bags in to the room, there is an secalator in the hotel so you dont need to walk 6 flights of stairs wich is usefull after a few drinks !!! the rooms were clean bright and airy and beautifully designed,,, thai style , with big comfortable beds and all amenities including a flat screen tv !!! you have access to the pool and weights gym which is really well equipt and kept clean.... i would highly reccomend this hotel if its within your budget, i have traveled to bkk many times before and stayed in ALL types of accomodation and from now on this is the place i will choose to stay !!! thankyou to all the staff atbuddy , esecially managers "jhon" and "eye" for making our stay comfy and worry free !!!!

Room Tip: this reveiw is of the delux room ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChawengStadium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Chaweng Stadium,

Thank you for your very nice review and for choosing to stay at the Buddy Lodge Hotel a number of times over the last few years.

Our whole team were delighted to learn that we are your hotel of choice when you travel to Bangkok.

It was a pleasure meeting you earlier this month and we are looking forward to your next visit, later this year.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#358 of 866 in Bangkok
1,298 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#380 of 866 in Bangkok
1,040 reviews
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#176 of 866 in Bangkok
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#138 of 866 in Bangkok
1,541 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Lodge Hotel

Property: Buddy Lodge Hotel
Address: 265 Khaosan Rd. Taladyod Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#140 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Buddy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the shopping and entertainment streets of Khaosan Road, Buddy Lodge is your best refuge of a cozy hotel where guests can return to a quiet relaxation away from the entire bustle of the tourist street market. The historical core of Bangkok where most of the tourist attractions are found just around the corner and one can walk to visit Bangkok’s most popular tourist attractions, The Grand Palace, The Golden Mount, The Temple of The Emerald Buddha (Wat Phra Kaew), The Temple of The Reclining Buddha (Wat Pho), The Democracy Monument, and many other cultural sites in the Bangkok City Old Town. Buddy Lodge offers the most convenient location and comfortable facilities for travelers to the popular Khaosan Road and visitors to the famous historical places of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Buddy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing