We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay on Khao San Road” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buddy Lodge Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #190 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best place to stay on Khao San Road”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

It's a bit pricier for a backpacker budget but this place is one of the best stay in the area. It's location is unparalleled and is bang in the centre of the Khao San action. It has nice clean rooms, great staff, one of the best gyms in Thailand and a cool rooftop bar and pool. A great place to stay if you don't mind paying a little extra for somewhere nice as opposed to a hostel/guesthouse. The manager was also a great help to us being new in Thailand. A great place to explore Khao San from and get some rest from all the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r65474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear R65474,

Thank you very much for choosing the Buddy Lodge and for taking the time to post a review of your travel experiences on Trip Advisor.

We really appreciate your kind words and your positive recommendation to stay at our hotel.

As you mention the Buddy Lodge is perfectly located right in the middle of the Khaosan Road and is only a short walk or taxi ride away from lots of the main sights in Bangkok.

We hope you will return again in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    503
    218
    64
    53
See reviews for
101
518
127
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in buddy lodge based on a recommendation from a friend who was there a few years ago and I'm pleased to say it was as great at they remembered. It was a good price hotel (obviously hostels are cheaper but as Bangkok is a starting point for most people, do you really want you first night in Thailand in a mixed dorm of drunk, amorous strangers!?). The hotel is NOT buddy boutique hotel (which is at the other end of KSR). Look for a huge yellow sign high up outside the building (near D&D). You have to walk through what looks like a little shopping centre to get to the front door/reception. You'll walk past a McDonalds and a tattoo parlour (nicer than it sounds).

The hotel follows a colonial theme with cream cladded walls, green glass lamps, plantain style shutters. The check in was quick, just a copy of the passport and a deposit which we got back on check out. We had a twin room and the beds were firm as usual in Thailand. The room is big, very clean and feels really traditional. We asked for a room on the 5th floor which is the same floor as the pool. We were told it was quieter but with the protests going on, I imagine all rooms can hear something.

The location is great, KSR is a great backpacker location. Lots of reasonable bars, massages and shops. There's also a Main Street just behind KSR that's full of bars and restaurants. Grab a bucket for 250B, stop and have a foot massage for 120B and finish with pad thai for 80B amazing!!

I'd definitely recommend buddy lodge to both new to Thailand back packers, those traveling but not willing to stay in hostels and those looking for a good base to sight see in KSR.

The only thing is KSR is no where near any metro or sky train stations. But it's cheaper to get a tuk tuk to stations and get around on trains or go to the pier and get boats to places. ENJOY!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraJ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear LauraJ84,

Our sincerest thanks for taking the time to write an on-line review for the Buddy Lodge Hotel. Our Management Team take great care in reading and reacting to helpful reviews such as yours.

Your compliments of the hotel are very well received and make us proud to have had the opportunity to welcome you here as a guest.

We also really appreciate your recommendations to all future travelers about the location and nightlife surrounding our city hotel.

We hope that you will have the chance to visit us again soon and we thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

A little more expensive than some of the hostel options, but well worth it. spacious room, very clean, great shower, and our room even had a balcony.

Great rooftop swimming pool and bar too, which is an added bonus.

Great location right on the khao san road.

A little noisy at night, but you can't complain about this if you stay on the KSR.

Would thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear CBN88,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our city hotel for during your recent vacation to Thailand.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to make the most of our great location in one of the main party areas in Bangkok.

Our rooftop pool is a great way to relax and with it being high up on the 5th floor of the hotel you can almost forget it is right in the middle of a massive city.

We truly hope you will choose the Buddy Lodge once more for your next holiday.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner are currently travelling, a few weeks ago, my partners brothers came to surprise him.
On checking in to Buddy Lodge with all the excitement, we realised we had left one of the hand luggage bags in the taxi, which had everything in it, passport, phone, money, travel documents etc.
On realising our panic, the manager John and his staff were so so helpful and managed to contact the taxi company and we retrieved the left bag. Phew!
After this drama, we got to our rooms. Fantastic - cannot fault them at all, spacious, clean & tidy, bed comfy enough. We then checked out the rooftop pool which was awesome, spent a lot of time here to get away from the hustle and bustle of koh San road. Pool towels provided and there is even a pool bar! Magic.
Even managed to get use of the gym which again was brilliant.
All in all, wonderful hotel, without a doubt the best that we could see on koh San road. Will definitely be returning in 4 weeks when passing through Bangkok again.
Thanks again John to yourself and your helpful friendly staff. See you again soon.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank DebbieNeil17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear DebbieNeil17,

Thank you for choosing the Buddy Lodge Hotel for your short stay in Bangkok. We were delighted to be able to welcome you, your partner and his 3 brothers.

At our hotel we like to put a lot of emphasis of providing a high level customer service. We were also very relieved after we manged to help you get your travel documents back after they had been left in the taxi you took from the airport.

Our Fitness Centre and Gym is available for all our guests during their stay and is equipped with everything you might need for an early morning work out, prior to exploring Bangkok.

It was also nice to see you again at the end of your trip when you returned for one more night, just before your flight home.

Hope to see you again next year.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean, helpful & bonus english man was very approachable & offered good advice. Great location, pool is nice spot after hetic khoasan! Rooms good, felt safe, mossy net and safety box! All you need would deffo return & reccomend. We was on sixth floor so could here no noise!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSH92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear HSH92,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Buddy Lodge Hotel.

We are pleased to read you had an enjoyable experience and were impressed with our large colonial style rooms.

It was a pleasure having you stay here and we hope we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

i have just returned from an excellent stay at buddy lodge this hotel is perfectly situated on khaosan road with all the facilities that you could need and expect from a hotel in a much higher price bracket clean and safe with beautiful decor ,the staff go out of their way to make sure you have all the info and help you need whether your trip is for business or leisure plus the bar in the hotel is an excellent place to go and have a cool beer. i cannot recommend this hotel enough!

Room Tip: the rooms on the third floor with patio balcony are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Richard D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review of your recent stay in our boutique hotel on the famous Khaosan Road.

We are glad you liked your room and found it to be well equipped with all the necessary facilities needed in a modern hotel.

We are pleased that overall you felt our hotel represented good value for money and that you were happy with the quality of service offered by our team.

We hope you and your family will be able to return again next year.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I arrived on Khaosan road with no address, this was no problem as very friendly local people knew where it was and it was very easily located and had very clear signpost.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and helped with our heavy back packs.
Our room was outstanding very clean, nice touch of elephant arranged towels. Mini bar had everything you could possible want. Elevators to all floors. Shower hot, bathroom clean with lovely free bathroom essentials. Also had robes in our rooms. Had a tv and everything operated with a touch on the bedside control panel.
The pool is excellent. Very clean and beautiful and good views of the city. Staff are lovely and polite, towels are given. Bar has good price on beverages.
The gym is fully equipped and staff are very helpful, it also has a boxing/ fighting ring.
Very conveniently located shops, bars, restaurants on the doorstep. Bonus of no noise from the street was heard from the room.
I really enjoyed my stay here and would reccomend it to anyone! I love it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylieed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Kylie D,

Thank you for your very generous review. Our management and staff are always pleased to hear from our guests about their experiences here as this gives us the opportunity to make improvements to the services we provide.

It was a pleasure to be able to accommodate you during your recent vacation to Thailand and we were delighted you took advantage of the hotel's strategic location and amenities’.

We hope that you will have the chance to visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#341 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#140 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#181 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#368 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#359 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Lodge Hotel

Property: Buddy Lodge Hotel
Address: 265 Khaosan Rd. Taladyod Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#140 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Buddy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the shopping and entertainment streets of Khaosan Road, Buddy Lodge is your best refuge of a cozy hotel where guests can return to a quiet relaxation away from the entire bustle of the tourist street market. The historical core of Bangkok where most of the tourist attractions are found just around the corner and one can walk to visit Bangkok’s most popular tourist attractions, The Grand Palace, The Golden Mount, The Temple of The Emerald Buddha (Wat Phra Kaew), The Temple of The Reclining Buddha (Wat Pho), The Democracy Monument, and many other cultural sites in the Bangkok City Old Town. Buddy Lodge offers the most convenient location and comfortable facilities for travelers to the popular Khaosan Road and visitors to the famous historical places of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Buddy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing