We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buddy Lodge Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oriental Residence Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paragon Inn(Bangkok)(Great Value!)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,409)
Filter reviews
1,409 results
Traveller rating
458
581
242
68
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
581
242
68
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskhaosan roadrooftop poolmosquito netfour poster bedcolonial styleparty streetnoisy at nightearly hourskhao sanquiet roomair congreat poolbreakfast is servedgrand palacetravel agentcomfy bedmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
661 - 666 of 1,409 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

The pluses here are the fabulous roof pool and the location which is walking distance from the grand palace. It is in the heart of backpacker Central but ask for a room on the top floor and the street noise isn't too bothersome. The electrics in the room were weird - you had to have the lights on for the plug sockets to work, and you can't have electric on when you're not in the room. It may sound like a small thing but it makes it remarkably hard to find time to charge cameras etc unless you want to hang around in the room to do so. Reception staff were not friendly or helpful but otherwise it was great.

Stayed: January 2557
Thank Mat1lda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Mat1Ida,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel on Trip Adviser, we really appreciate you taking the time in offering your opinion to other future travelers.

We understand that the electric boxes in the rooms can be a little confusing when you first arrive at the hotel. We do wish though if you had been experiencing issues you had contacted our main reception so we could have tried to assist in solving the problem.

We would also like to apologize for any difficulties you experienced with our reception staff. At the Buddy Group we consider communication skills and customer service as some of our top priorities and we are always working with our staff to improve this vital service area.

Thank you again for choosing the Buddy Lodge and we hope you will return again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I have stayed at the buddy lodge a few times now and highly recommend it, the staff are friendly and helpfully. The roof top bar and pool are excellent and the rooms are top class.
Danny Australia....

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dannycracknell86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Danny Cracknell86,

Thank you for staying at our boutique hotel a number of times and for your very generous recommendation to fellow Trip Advisor users to also come and try the Buddy Lodge.

We are delighted that all the hotel facilities and services were able to meet your requirements and on a personal note it was a pleasure to be able to have a quiet drink with you after work at the nearby Irish Pub.

All our staff hope you will be able to return to Thailand in the near future and visit us again.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This is a great place to stay for anyone wanting an affordable and chilled out stay in the heart of Bangkoks famous Khao San Road. A great room with nice staff and all modern facilities. Although on the khao san road the noise is not a problem and its easy to find and very reasonable given the above points - a very good hotel and i would highly recommend it for anyone wishing to stay in this iconic location in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faceyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Facey Reviews,

Thank you for posting such an excellent review about your experiences at the Buddy Lodge Hotel, Bangkok.

We were delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay, and that our service team consistently exceeded your expectations.

We really appreciate your recommendation and we can’t wait to welcome you back on your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. Taxi from the airport was 300 baht including tolls. Location-wise, it's perfect - right on the Khaosan Road and surrounded by stalls, street food, massage parlours and a mcdonalds if you're easing into Thai food. Our room was very quiet and clean. The bed is hard but perfectly reasonable to sleep in. There's also a safe in the room. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catskitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Cats Kitravel,

We are very grateful that you took the time and effort to post this review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at the Buddy Lodge.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the hotel's location and that you liked our comfortable rooms. Thank you for also commenting on the friendly, approachable nature of our staff, we place a lot of emphasis on customer service here and it is always nice when this is noticed by one of our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

As two very young 40 somethings... With out two older kids travelling with us (17 & 21) we really wanted to stay somewhere in the centre of the "happening" district in Bangkok so chose Buddy Lodge boutique hotel situated on the famous Khaosan Road.

We pre booked (approx 3 months ahead) 4 nights in a superior double ensuite room & superior twin ensuite room through agoda.com at a highly discounted price, considering that this is probably one of the most expensive places to stay on Khaosan Road. When we opened the door we were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was.

PRO'S - A huge 4 poster bed was the centre piece of the colonial themed room with all the mod-cons you would expect (Flat screen TV, phone, fridge with well stocked mini bar, electrical bedside control panel that turns on all electrics in the room including the air con)... Led to a set of french doors with a small balcony. A fantastic (newly decked) rooftop pool area, with bar can be found on the 5th floor (free towels) and a cracking modern gym with running machine(s) static bikes, cross trainers and a good selection of free weights can be found on the 3rd floor (free towels). This gym also has a Mau Thai (Thai boxing) ring and all the punch bags, gloves, head & leg guards you need to fulfill your dream of becoming a kick boxer (200Bht pp to use this)... Both myself and my son had a go and the gym trainer who was an ex fighter gave us some tips on technique before we had a couple of rounds in the ring, well worth the money. The Wifi worked throughout the WHOLE hotel, even at the pool. Rooms cleaned on a daily basis.

CON'S - The electric room safe wasn't connected to anything and could be lifted up and stolen in its own right with all our possessions inside it so we decided not to use it. House keeping we're very reluctant to leave toilet roll when the room had been cleaned and we had to go to reception on numerous occasions to request it. A minor con... In an attempt to save water and the environment sheets are washed / changed at the occupants request, which I totally agree with, but the replacement sheets although clean, just didn't have that clean smell (they didn't look dirty or smell dirty or used)... I just didn't get the feel of clean sheets. We put some laundry in as we were going out one morning (at 05:30) expecting it back by 20:00 (as per the hotel policy) the same day, we didn't receive it back until mid morning the following day, which was lucky we were not travelling on early that morning.

Overall a great base to see Bangkok from... Would I stay here again... YES

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thebates22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear The Bates22,

Greetings from the Buddy Lodge Hotel located on the world famous Khoasan Road.

Thank you for staying and for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

At our hotel we place a lot of emphasis on customer satisfaction and we really value all feedback as a way to analysis and improve the overall service we offer our guests.

We understand about the concerns you have raised about the safety box not being attached to the wall. However, we do have CCTV footage throughout the hotel and also strictly control the room access cards from the main reception. We believe that with these precautions in place the safes in the guest rooms are fine to use.

We have investigated the incident involving the late return of your laundry and unfortunately we must hold our hands up and say a mistake was made on our part. On behalf of the hotel I would like to offer our sincerest apologies for this error and offer our assurances to all future guests that we will work hard to ensure it does not happen again.

Thank you again for choosing the Buddy Lodge and we hope you had a wonderful holiday to Thailand.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews