We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central hotel”
Review of Buddy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #185 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good central hotel”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

For Bangkok this hotel is ideally located on Khao San Road, directly in the midst of all the action. The rooms were a little nosy at night but this is what you'd expect for any hotel on this road. The hotel itself was great, although the rooms may be a bit shabby round the edges they're nicely furnished and clean. The rooftop pool is a nice touch and definitely what you need after venturing into the Bangkok heat. The staff were generally friendly and helpful. The only thing I would add is that they might supply city maps and general tourist info on the city at reception as we definitely struggled on our first day. Overall I would recommend this hotel as it ticks all the necessary boxes for a city hotel, provided you want to be in the busy area of Khao San Road (and don't mind the noise).

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rhian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Rhian E,

Thank you for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor review of your recent stay at our Bangkok City Hotel.

We really appreciate your kind words about our staff’s customer service and are Colonial style rooms.

Over the coming months we will be starting a new project to soundproof some of the guests rooms which are closest to the Khaosan Road. We are hoping that once this is complete it will significantly reduce the noise intrusion from outside the hotel.

We hope to see you again on your next trip.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    518
    223
    64
    53
See reviews for
104
531
132
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great central location. On one of th main party strips, but hotel is far enough off that it was not noisy. Staff very helpful and travel agent in hotel very helpful. Small but clean rooms. Very nice pool

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dyanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Dyanna W,

Thank you very much for the compliments on our services and facilities. We would like to express our appreciation for your positive review and our whole team were delighted you had such an enjoyable stay.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon to the Buddy Lodge Hotel in Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bere Alston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have stayed at both the Buddy Boutique and Buddy Lodge in both are visits to bangkok. We had a perfect stay both times. The staff where all friendly and helpful and loved my 4yr old :) They made us feel so welcome. The manager was very helpful and friendly also Stopped to chat lots with us and check we were ok :) The reception staff where very helpful and translated address's for us and giving us guide prices for taxis and tuk tuks so we didnt get ripped off :) Their travel agency is just opperstie the hotel and perfect for booking day trips and taxis etc :) we booked both with them and went without a fault. Room was clean, spacious with a little balcony (perfect for drying swim wear). Swimming pool was a good size, on the roof so a real sun trap and very yummy cocktails specially the strawberry mojito. Thank you Buddy Team for a wonderful stay both times and we WILL be back. ALFORD FAMILY. Visited april and may 2014 :

Room Tip: Ask for rear of hotel to avoid to much noise :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jade A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Jade A,

Our sincerest thanks for taking the time to write an on-line review for the Buddy Lodge Hotel. Our Management Team take great care in reading and reacting to helpful reviews such as yours.

Your compliments of the hotel are very well received and make us proud to have had the opportunity to welcome you here as a guest.

We also really appreciate your recommendations to all future travelers about the location and nightlife surrounding our city hotel.

We hope that you will have the chance to visit us again soon and we thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards,

John Pettengell
Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We arrived at The Buddy on Saturday from Heathrow..... unfortunately our luggage did not arrive with us. After 2 hours at the airport and no BA staff to talk to, we were stressed and tired. We headed to The Buddy. The phone number we were given kept ringing out unanswered. The staff at reception were excellent - they tried on numerous occasions to make contact with the relevant service desk and, after phoning 3 different numbers, tracked the right person down. Everyday for the next 4 days one of the reception staff would call on our behalf. They never gave the impression it was a hassle and tried their hardest to help us resolve the situation. When we had to book an additional night's accommodation again, it was no problem. We left today after 5 days in Bangkok to (hopefully) collect our luggage from the airport. John, the Group Services Manager, told us not to worry, that if the luggage hadn't arrived we could still have it forwarded to The Buddy and they would store it until we returned to Bangkok. We have travelled to Bangkok for over 20 years and many things have changed in and around Khao San Road - we were thinking we probably wouldn't stay there again. But do you know what? At the Buddy Lodge Hotel you feel safe, secure and valued as a customer - and any time we're passing through Bangkok we will be back there. Thanks for reassuring us and doing your best to resolve the situation!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JingsGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Jings Glasgow,

Thank you very much for once again staying at the Buddy Lodge on Khaosan Road, it was a pleasure to be able to welcome back again.

We were pleased to read we were able to assist you with the luggage problem during your stay and were satisfied with the professional service provided by our Front Office Staff.

We look forward to your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here and it was perfect for 2 nights. You can really feel the energy of Bangkok and there's so much to do. The breakfast wasn't good but everything else was superb, i would recommend this place to anyone but minus the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Lucy W,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our city hotel for during your recent vacation to Thailand.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to make the most of our great location in one of the main party areas in Bangkok.

Our rooftop pool is a great way to relax and with it being high up on the 5th floor of the hotel you can almost forget it is right in the middle of a massive city.

We are sorry you did not enjoy the hotel's breakfast your comments have been passed to the restaurant manager to try and look at the selection available.

We truly hope you will choose the Buddy Lodge once more for your next holiday.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for just two nights in March 2014. We would definitely stay again, but it certainly wasn't our favorite hotel in our month long vacation.
Pros:
-Location, location, location! We stayed her because we wanted to go out on Khaosan Rd. and it was perfect.
-The room was a bit dated, in a good way, and very clean.
-The rooftop pool (free popcorn!) was a HUGE bonus after a late night (early morning?!) on Khaosan Rd.
-Very quiet! We didn't hear any noise from the street, which was surprising. The downside is we did hear noise from our neighbors partying in the hallway.

Cons:
-A little explanation of the room lighting/tv system would have been helpful. Never occurred to me it was the night stand
-The fridge was so well stocked that a bottle fell out when I opened it and I was charged $6 USD for a beer I didn't even try to drink
-cockroaches appeared the second day (while this is a tropical location and it is to be expected this was the only hotel I saw one....actually it is the only cockroaches I saw all trip)


We would stay again and definitely recommend it for a few nights. I wouldn't want to stay there more than that, not just for the hotel but the location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tandoori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Tandoori,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Our whole team were delighted to learn you had such an enjoyable stay here and were pleased with the big four poster bed and all the other hotel facilities.

Customer feedback is vitally important to us and the issues you have raised will be addressed at our next management meeting.

We are pleased to read that overall you would stay here again in the future and would recommend us to your friends.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newhaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights to start our Thailand travel experience, and it was a perfect start. Room was beautiful, clean and a good size. We requested a higher room as had heard it gets quite noisy and our request was met.

The pool was beautiful and just what you needed after a day in the Bangkok sun. The breakfast was nice although I would have like my eggs to be cooked a little more, have opted to go scrambled since.

There were a few ants in the room but they were only small and didnt cause any issue.

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff and a brilliant start to our travels

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevie18087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Stevie R,

Thank you for staying at the Buddy Lodge Hotel at the start of your holiday to Thailand.

We really appreciate your kind words regarding our customer service, clean rooms and roof top swimming pool.

Thank you again for picking the Buddy Lodge and we hope you will return again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#345 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#139 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#356 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#174 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
D&D INN
D&D INN
#541 of 858 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Lodge Hotel

Property: Buddy Lodge Hotel
Address: 265 Khaosan Rd. Taladyod Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#140 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Buddy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the shopping and entertainment streets of Khaosan Road, Buddy Lodge is your best refuge of a cozy hotel where guests can return to a quiet relaxation away from the entire bustle of the tourist street market. The historical core of Bangkok where most of the tourist attractions are found just around the corner and one can walk to visit Bangkok’s most popular tourist attractions, The Grand Palace, The Golden Mount, The Temple of The Emerald Buddha (Wat Phra Kaew), The Temple of The Reclining Buddha (Wat Pho), The Democracy Monument, and many other cultural sites in the Bangkok City Old Town. Buddy Lodge offers the most convenient location and comfortable facilities for travelers to the popular Khaosan Road and visitors to the famous historical places of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buddy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing