We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False Advertising!”
Review of Bangkok City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bangkok City Inn
Ranked #703 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Chiang Mai
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“False Advertising!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

all. They also had a 'jae' flag in one of the dishes, meaning it is vegan. However, I could see clearly that there was egg in it.

The other reason I chose this hotel was because it boasted that it had a fitness centre and swimming pool on it's website. However, this was completely false. The staff were not at all apologetic and simply said something about it's their agency. The website appears to be theirs and should have been rectified.

I would not recommend this tin-pot establishment at all.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank MsDeeChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    189
    145
    44
    29
See reviews for
56
55
35
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stay at Bangkok City Inn between 1/10/2013 to 5/10/2013.
The room was very smelly, after we complaint they just do some spraying, good for the night and next day the same smell came back again and do it everyday. I think they have to change the carpet and bed sheet and mattress.
We stay 5 days and there was no HOT water most of the time. We have to wait for HIt water to bathe.
We told our friend not to stay at Bangkok City Inn Hotel if they do not improve the hygiene and carpet and get rid of the smell.
Madam Liew from Singapore.

Room Tip: Bangkok City Inn is in a very good location BUT the room was very smelly and unhygienic. Bangkok Ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boon Hua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Not the best or comfortable hotel because the bed is very hard; it's been a long day since they renovate; u can hear voices from hallway; and the service is so-so. If u stay in the lobby for wifi (room's wifi not strong), you might get mosquito bites but overall, the hotel is acceptable to stay.

The hotel is near to everywhere. Just in front of it, is the restaurant by the river. Beside is, Chinese restaurant. Behind it, famous coffee shop that sell extremely nice coffee; chicken rice; satay; pad Thai (the massage beside tattoo shop in from of the pad Thai stall is more expensive than pratunam's); 5mins walk to BIG C; 7mins walk to central world; 7mins walk to platinum mall; 5 mins to Pratunam.

Whichever place u walk to, there are street stalls.

Can get help from bellboys to get a cab for u to go airport at 300baht, if u r lucky, get one that goes by meter.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HermitO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

If you've never traveled around Asia before, this hotel may not be for you. But for seasoned travelers, I think Bangkok City Inn is a decent value.

Pros:
* Surprisingly cheery breakfast area and decent lobby
* Lots of staff around so breakfast was always turned over
* Average Asian breakfast with obligatory fried rice / noodles / stir-fry and egg / bacon choices, but always hot
* Location initially hard to get to (the map on their website is NOT helpful) but easy to navigate to once you know where it is
* Great clothes shopping at Platinum Mall (7 min walk), huge mall across the street with nice movie theater (Central World) and easy access to mass transit

Cons:
* Hard'ish beds - but not common for Asia. This isn't the Westin.
* In-room furnishings dated including bathroom fixtures, but then again, I've noticed hotel prices in Bangkok on the rise over the last 10 years. Not much selection in the USD30 range anymore unless it's far from the city center (nearby Holiday Inn is $100+)

Will you look forward to coming back to your room in the evening? Probably not. But if you're the type who's happy in a relatively clean (didn't see any bugs) room for the evening and would rather spend your money / time exploring Bangkok, then this property represents a decent value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jt10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had one day stay in BKK on the way home and chose City Inn as one-night after-shopping sleeping place. The hotel's location is really nice. It is very easy to walk to the most popular trade centers such as Siam, Platinum Fashion Mall, MBK from here. BUT we didn't want to return to the room in the evening and wanted to speed-up time and go to the airport ASAP. Reason: old furniture, another building's wall as a view, and aufull smell in the room. We decided that it goes from air conditioner. We don't need a luxury hotel for a such price but need the room to be clean, bright and simply smell good. Can't recommend it to anybody even to spend a transit night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank TankaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

this is really old fashion hotel with no adapter, iron broad or hair dryer provided. Lower floor is quite busy especially the air con is noisy. Neither with the toothbrush and the toothpaste. The only well recommend is the location wise. It just opposite the centre world and platinum shopping mall. Infront is the Big C supermarket.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were booked by an agency thats why we stayed here and maybe we got the most lowcost room and everything was old, old fashioned. Location is good but the services or the staff was awful. As we arrived so late all we want to do was to eat and rest so upon checking in, we found out that our room was not ready yet, the extra bed was not yet in place so we waited for it to be settled and when we were ready to order for the late snack I found out that the phone was broken, no dial tone, no possible way to make a call and I literally went all the way down to the lobby to do it. The next day I made a call to someone and instructed to just leave a message thinking that they would be responsible to rely it to us and I even said to the manager that our phone was broken and should be fixed. So, the person faxed something for me and they didn't gave it to me instead they were like full of questions what was it when I was looking for it because it was important then they saw it being folded in a small piece with our room number. In addition to that we ordered some sampaloc and instructed to leave it to the lobby, if I didn't asked for it they won't tell us that it was there already. Lastly the phone was never fixed and the air condition was leaking! terrible. I won't book this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissRein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
Aphrodite Inn Bangkok
Aphrodite Inn Bangkok
#328 of 862 in Bangkok
314 reviews
PJ Watergate Hotel
#602 of 862 in Bangkok
197 reviews
Pathumwan
Arnoma Grand Bangkok
Arnoma Grand Bangkok
#223 of 862 in Bangkok
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden House
#523 of 862 in Bangkok
138 reviews
First House Bangkok
#353 of 862 in Bangkok
436 reviews
Baiyoke Suite Hotel
#705 of 862 in Bangkok
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok City Inn

Property: Bangkok City Inn
Address: 43/5 Rajdamri Road Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #703 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bangkok City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bangkok City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok City Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing