We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bangkok is still safe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sukhumvit

Sukhumvit
Book In Advance
More Info
US$35.55*
and up
Half Day Cooking Class in Bangkok
Ranked #39 of 524 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This trendy neighborhood is filled with fine restaurants, bars, dance clubs, bookstores, Internet cafes and shopping centers.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Bangkok is still safe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

It makes me very sad to see that tourism in Thailand is suffering so badly due to the recent coup.
I have been living in Bangkok and using Thailand as a base for the last 7 years whilst traveling to various parts of the world for my job. I have never felt more safe and cannot understand why tourists are not coming as much these days.
I think it is bad news that most countries have issued negative travel advisories when the facts say that Thailand is still a very safe holiday destination. Local people and businesses are suffering needlessly.
Please pass the word that there is no reason to stay away.
It's business as usual.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
22 Thank Darryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    563
    703
    222
    34
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good area to find nice restaurant if you can endure traffic jam”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Sukhumvit has traffic jam 24/7 365 days in a years. There are many good restaurants, western and Thai, bars, but parking is hard to find especially in Thonglor. Restaurants in a modern part of town Pleonchit, Chidlom, Central World provide much of the same quality in newer ambient and plenty of parking.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dprom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“I live here and love the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

It doesn't get any better than Sukhumvit as the area caters for all walks of life, for Thai and Westerners. You can choose to eat cheap or upmarket and you'll find it in Sukhumvit. Same same for accomodation and entertainment.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Everything you need and more for a city destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Variety of hotel choices, quality restaurants and entertaining bars to suit all. Certain seedy parts, as a couple never felt uncomfortable or unsafe. Everything in walking distance, or a quick trip on a perfectly located BTS. Shopping to suit everyone from high end fashion to street stalls. Can't rave enough about it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Spacey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“My Home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Yup. Sukhumvit is where I call home. The best thing about this lovely neighborhood is location, location and (you guess right) location. No other areas in Bangkok can offer what Sukhumvit can; it has everything - the park, good restaurants, hip coffee shops, street food, quiet & peaceful roads, nightlife, sweet neighbors and much, much more.. Oh, I must also include the BTS (the sky train system) which makes staying here even more convenient since its routes cover the whole Sukhumvit area (so I don't need a car now). So come and experience my neighborhood, but you must take your time though to really get the experience from this special area. Try (at least) two weeks!!! See ya.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Kaito-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sukhumvit also viewed

 

Been to Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing