We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really NOT something Bangkok should be proud of”
Review of Dusit Zoo

Dusit Zoo
Ranked #89 of 537 things to do in Bangkok
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Koalas, elephants, zebras and pandas are just some of the 1,600 animals on display in this fairly well-maintained zoo. The zoo also boasts large green spaces and a pond with paddle boats.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really NOT something Bangkok should be proud of”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Save yourself time and the 100 Baht entrance fee and don't visit Dusit Zoo.
It's a truly very sad experience.
Not much has changed since my first visit 20 years ago.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank rheinwiese56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    289
    229
    80
    87
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“parking inside the zoo”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The zoo going thru a turmoil time in a -forced- change at the top of the board, but also trying to keep up with the times. Of course it is doing that the 'thai-way', with for us 'falangs' some strange choices involved. (But to see the thai way, that is why you are here, not?). But it is a hudge change with the zoo from several years ago, which had filthy windows and small cages. Of course it is a zoo, so yes animals are in cages. (and surprisingly most animals love to be free, but I figure that is the same as in my home town Amsterdam, who has a reward winning zoo, but sure the animals want just to be free as they would like it here, lets not be hypocrites). As so many things in Thailand, it is the maintenance where things go pear-shaped. Plastic cups, bags in the pond, places eg to sit have been cleaned the last time,let me guess, around 1873, esp everything above eye height.
I went with 4 thai kids (from 3 to 9), and they all had a great time, it was me who saw the plastic cups in the water and so on. I do need to say thou, that I did some lifting during that day, as the thai love to stick stickers (of bushes and trees) on the window of the cages, so everybody under lets say 1.50 M, you have to lift often to let have a peek. (one of those obvious wrong weird choices they have made, but it does make you smile too, those weird choices).

One thing, and if anybody of management of Dusit zoo reads this, this really has to stop:
Why O Why do you make from your zoo also a car park? Yes, you read it correct, you can take your car in the zoo! And no, not only cars, whole coaches are parked inside! And yes, they are parked in such a way, that they have to back out driving backwards as no way to turn.
Brilliant idea! Lots of enthusiastic (3 year, 4 year etc) kids running around, and then let frustrated bus drivers maneuver around! (yes, this 'parking' is convenient next to the little playground for the kids). I would say, even for Thai standards, this is to silly! Not to mention that of course the aircon needs to be on for the waiting drivers, so they all stand there engines on....... Brilliant if you take the little train trip thru the park (don't bother, the driver mixes up a fast lap and looking at animals, he doesn't stop, -except to buy himself some food in a concrete jungle, we didn't stop at all). Passing all those cars and busses in our fun train, going thru the clouds of the exhaust pipe, then you know, This is a Zoo in Bangkok!

Special animals? Not really (thank god, lets leave them in the forest), but as white is a holy colour, there are a lot of albino's. (If you find white elephant orso, you can visit the king and present it to him. Well as the story goes..). But white python, tiger, etc etc.

Good day out in Bangkok? Why not? In my eyes it beats staying on Kao San Road and drown yourself between other falangs. If you not in a good mood, will you enjoy the zoo? Probl not, if you want you can walk 25 Meters and have seen 5 annoying things. If you just want to hang around in a park, which happens to have some animals in cages around, it is a good day.

If you have kids, they enjoy it, althou my crew of course had the most interest for the 4D
film-experience, the video games and the food. But héé, thai kids are and will be thai kids!
Just go, don't expect the world and have a good day. (and do me a favor, complain about the cars in the park, it saves me a lot of dashes to grab a kid just before they run in front (or back!) of a bus)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank wilhelmus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average zoo in Bangkok”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

First visit to Dusit Zoo. Quite far away from the nearest BTS station.

Merely walked around the zoo to discover their offerings. Spent about 1.5 hours photographing and exploring. Rather well-organized zoo. Not really plenty of different animals. The exhibits of the animals is just simple.

I guess this is all you can expect in a zoo that charges THB 100 per person (reasonable rate) to tourists.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daolong2039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If u care for animals, don't bother”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

The zoo is very big and quite easy to find, however we spent 20 minutes there and left, I almost cried walking through the monkey section, all their hair is matted and falling out and all the animals look so miserable, just sat, not even playing. There are signs everywhere saying not to feed the animals but alot of people chose to ignore that and the monkeys snatched the food out of their hands. We walked past some of the reptiles and one of the lizard was clawing the side of the cage trying desperately to get out. The camels had barely enough space to walk around and many of the animals looked very cramped. I would not recommend this zoo to anyone unfortunately.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotati, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Trip”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Overall a pretty fun way to kill some time at a good value. There are quite a few different exhibits with all kinds of animal life. I particularly enjoyed the birds; there were some pretty exotic birds that I have never seen at any other zoos. There were a few downsides; there was a bit of reconstruction going on, which meant many parts were not open. We also got caught in a heavy downpour and a lot of the animals were not in sight- didn't get to see any of the bears or big cats. I highly recommend applying bug repellent as there were a ton of mosquitoes. It is a nice zoo, but loses a star for the the unadvertised closure of many exhibits.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dusit Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing