We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Many snakes and educational demonstration”

Snake Farm (Queen Saovabha Memorial Institute)
Ranked #30 of 530 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Queen Saovabha Memorial Institute, this organization produces anti-venom serum for snake-bite victims nationwide.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,998 reviews
1,774 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,645 helpful votes
“Many snakes and educational demonstration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Not just a snake farm but one of the few places open to the public which develops vaccines extracted from snake venom. 200 baht to get in 50 for kids, make sure you see one of the demonstrations at 11am when they extract the venom. There's a second show at 2.30pm on weekdays. The google map on this site has is pinned in the wrong location. It is on Rama IV Rd which is a very long road. It is just west of Lumphini Park, a short walk beyond MRT Silom.
Enclosures house some of the most dangerous snakes alive, Banded Kraits & hissing Cobras.
There was a scary bit during the demonstration I saw. One snake was obviously distressed and lots of tiny snakes started emerging from its backside, was it giving birth ?? Staff and even the public helped gather up these poor tiny snakes and put them back in an enclosure.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    452
    136
    29
    19
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Really interesting and great photo opportunities, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Despite being jet lagged after arriving in Bangkok, I really wanted to catch a live show based on the other reviews and I wasn't disappointed. Entry cost just 200 Baht, so £4 approximately per person which is pretty good value considering what you'd get in the UK for that equivalent.

The whole farm was really well thought out and the snakes seemed pretty happy and not in distress. There wasn't time to look inside before the show, but afterwards I went round all the other snake enclosures and got to see some really interesting snakes and take some photographs. Despite one of the snake handlers wanting to get into an enclosure and take a snake out for the live demonstration, he waited when he saw I was taking photographs which I thought was really thoughtful.

The show was packed despite it being a Friday at 2:30 so would suggest you sit down about 15 minutes beforehand to ensure you get a good spot. The guide was nice and spoke both Thai and English and about 7-8 different types of snake were brought out.

The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I felt that some of the snakes were antagonised for the audience - the snake would come out and the handler would sometimes put it on the ground... the snake would sometimes not move and if this happened, the handler would poke it or pull its tail - something that didn't sit well with me. The snakes looked really, really healthy and I imagine it didn't hurt them, but even so..... It's totally up to the reader whether that would bother them, I would still recommend the place as they do amazing work and it's the second oldest snake farm in the world. However, I couldn't help feeling slightly sorry for the snakes who probably just wanted to go to sleep.....

I did hold the boa constrictor at the end and that was pretty awesome - they let you take your time taking photographs and didn't try and charge you anything for them. Again, the snake looked very happy and healthy, but no doubt would rather have been sleeping or eating mice...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great to visit - make sure to catch a live show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

As others have said, make sure to catch a live show. Pretty sure they are 11 and 2:30 during the week and just 11 on the weekends (check the website). The show is very entertaining. When done go into the main building and check out the exhibits on both the first and second floor.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank joe1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best 100 baht spent in Bangkok.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

The staff speak excellent English and there was a fascinating Collection of live snakes, including many venous cobras, vipers and Craits. The show was excellent, but avoid weekends if you want to see the venom extraction. The best time to go is early in the morning as it's less hot and the exhibits are inside and outside. Even if you don't like snakes you should go, and if you do, then it's a great way to learn about what you might see through Asia. The profit goes to a good cause, and it's one of only two anti venom snake farms in the world. The animals have large and clean exhibits and there also interesting displays on how the venom works, life cycles, first aid and snake structures.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gapyear14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roeselare, Belgium
Level Contributor
305 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Snakes and how to use them”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The extracting of the venom was very interesting to see, as well as the range of snakes in the serpentarium and outside.

What to work on:
- a better signalisation to get there
- better English spoken explanation

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rattenpakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Snake Farm (Queen Saovabha Memorial Institute) also viewed

 

Been to Snake Farm (Queen Saovabha Memorial Institute)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing