We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget hotel with good location.”
Review of Chinatown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chinatown Hotel
Ranked #428 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice budget hotel with good location.”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I have read some bad comments and some good comments below but decide to book the room anyway with my limited budget. Overall I found the hotel service is decent and worth for the price we paid for. The room is clean. We got pretty much everything we need – clean towel, soap, air cons is working. Got to be honest that we do expect for the worst but it turn out surprising and not as bad as we thought it would be. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who has limited budget and would like to stay in the right locations. Staff are very friendly. We have a good time shopping around Sampeng area and find very good food in 5 mins walk. Can’t ask for more.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamposis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinatownhotel, Front Office Manager at Chinatown Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Greeting from Chinatown Hotel

Thank you for your comment full of kind words expressed on behalf of our service and hospitality you received during your recent stay at Chinatown Hotel.

Allow me to express my gratitude for doing us the honor of arranging your very special day At Chinatown Hotel. Please contact hotel directly tell us your name and (Do you have other information like passport ID )

In the meantime, my team and I remain hopeful your next travels to Bangkok will follow in near future, and please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly once again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Management Team
Chinatown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    101
    57
    24
    6
See reviews for
33
66
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Unfortunately this hotel doesn't seem to be getting very good reviews. We still went ahead and booked as we had stayed here before and foundit to be satisfactory. When we arrived I asked that the room has an in room safety deposit box because of previous comments on trip advisor. It clearly states on their web page that all rooms have safety deposit boxes. So I was surprised when they said ours didn't but that we were welcome to use theirs behind the front reception. All rooms were apparently equipped with hair dryers. Ours wasn't so I phoned front reception and they had one delivered to us. I almost felt that I should return it by hand given the previous comments but left it in the room. Our dispenser with the liquid soap was also empty so we used our own personal soaps that we bought at a corner store. After coming back from a full day out we returned to find that we had no clean towels or fresh water as described on their site. The next day I had to ask the cleaning lady for some fresh towels and water. I then told her not to bother making up the room as we were leaving the next morning. The girls on the front desk are all very nice and helpful but once you get upstairs it all changes. There seemed to be very loud talking on walky talkies throughout the night and especially beginning at 5am with the cleaning staff. More than likely we wouldn't stay again as we felt they were very stingy charging for any coffee or tea bags you use, beware of this before making yourself a cuppa.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor, seems they haven't done these up as yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinatownhotel, Manager at Chinatown Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Karen M,

I do sincerely apologize for your bad experienced you have received while staying at our hotel.  With no excuses, after reading your comment, all of our reception staffs and cleaning service are called in to learn about their mistake and to think of how to improve our service. We do take your comment seriously as you are a frequent traveller to our hotel unlike some previous comments in which we have investigate and found no trail of their stay.

Your previous stay with us was in December 2012, at that time you have checked in we have no non-smoking room available. You were upgraded to superior room which hair dryer and safety box are provided. However, this time you are staying in a standard room where no hair dryer and safety box is provide.  We also noticed wrong wording on the website saying that we provide safety box in all room. The advertising is now removed. However, the hotel is under renovating and plan to put safety box in all room. Thanks to your comment, all maids are now using small talk to communicate and that we are consider to remove small charges on instant coffee and tea on the mini bar list.

Our hotel manager will contact you shortly for complimentary voucher. Your comment is very valuable to us, we hope to be able to service you again the next time in Bangkok. 

Management Team
Chinatown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Tawau
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stay many times in Bangkok but first time in this China Town area. Good location and nice and polite staffs. Room is small (Standard )but clean and bed are comfortable. Only 5 minutes walking to the Golden Buddha Wat Traimit and there are a lot of hawker food in front of hotel. Will come back but hope that the instant coffee in the room should be Free.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaglescliffe
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This is a budget hotel but with good service.
Located in the centre of China town it has easy access for everywhere in the centre of bangkok.
A night market for evening eating is just out the front door and its within walking distance 10min, from the station, underground is about the same.
Rooms were clean and comfortable and relatively quiet.
this hotel suited us down to the ground as we mixed with local people from surrounding counteries and wasn't full of young europeans looking for a cheap / free night

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGY-Eaglescliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The place is ok for the price paid. I have free wifi in my room & the center of China town. The breakfast is ok & the Myanmar staff in the restaurant r helpful. The rooms are clean but the lift need to be upgraded. The front office staff are very helpful & the place is safe.
I have stayed in this place several times while in transit between December 2008 & November 2010

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harsha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

hotel is located at the beginning of Yaowarat road. along the road are all the shops, food stalls and restaurant. very convenient location. and the rate is reasonable in view of the convenient of the location. ok for 1-2 night stay. anyway, just for sleep, can't expect much..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne7729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hotel is very easy to locate in Chinatown. Travelling around Bangkok with taxis and the hotel provides ample of name cards which you can take with you and show the taxi drivers.

The reception staff and bellboys are very friendly and very helpful. Got one of my rooms upgraded because we requested for the rooms to be on the same floor. Basic toilet amenities and very clean. Highly recommend this hotel if you like Chinatown's hustle and bustle environment.

Disappointment - Was hoping they have a room safe but none. Do not expect extravagant breakfast selection, you will be super disappointed. Dining staff are very unfriendly with zero smiles. They are constantly giving you dirty looks especially one particular waitress. Wasn't a good start to a day, everyday, being greeted with hostility. Absolutely do not recommend having breakfast here. Recommend to just go to the nearby street stalls for a much tastier and friendlier breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Check Inn Chinatown
Check Inn Chinatown
#397 of 867 in Bangkok
169 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Grand China Hotel
Grand China Hotel
#339 of 867 in Bangkok
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Prime Hotel Central Station Bangkok
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#345 of 867 in Bangkok
375 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
#315 of 867 in Bangkok
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinatown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinatown Hotel

Property: Chinatown Hotel
Address: 526 Yaowarat Rd | Sumpantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #428 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chinatown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Zenrooms, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chinatown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chinatown Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing