We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value for budget travellers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Merry V Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Merry V Guesthouse
Ranked #257 of 1,136 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best value for budget travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I've stayed at the New Merry V for many years on my travels in SE Asia. True, the beds are hard. True there is no charm to the accommodation. However, if you want a clean and functional room for the night, you can't beat the New Merry V. The airport bus will drop you on Phra Arthit Road as well, so take the A2 bus (the same one that goes to Koh San Road, pretty sure it's the A2) and tell them to drop you at Phra Arthit. Simple, convienient, and the coffee at Ricky Coffee shop in the lobby is awesome. You can easily spend more on your breakfast than on your room!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back, away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNGypsyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    73
    43
    15
    3
See reviews for
12
58
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Inevitably independent travel in south east asia leads to some time spent in the Koh San Road area, and more often than not i end up staying at this guesthouse for several reasons. it's a short walk to Koh San Road but far enough away that i can avoid the nonsense if i chose to. it's very clean, quiet and secure, particularly the rear building. it has a good internet shop and an excellent restaurant on site. in my experience the staff are efficient. it is also a very short walk to the ferry station on the Chao Phraya River, great as the ferry is my favorite method of transport. The rooms in the rear building are more expensive but personally i think it's worth it, large rooms with ice cold aircon and good showers. if you're a budget traveler there is not much to fault.

Room Tip: rear building rooms are more expensive for a reason, they're excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeShamanix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

OK for the money but it felt like I was in a prison cell. Bed was rock hard, no view from window just another wall, was quite noisy and staff were not very friendly. However, even though it was old it was clean, didn't see a single bug. Good on a budget if all you want is to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

I have stayed here for two nights in the low season! My single room with shared bathroom was B150 (!) which is even for thailand cheap! And the entire place was clean! They must clean the bathrooms several times a day! And there was NO single animal in the room! No mosquito, no cockroach, no ant no nothing! How do they do that! amazing! You don't have a duvet or anything on the bed,so either bring your own or don't bother, as its hot anyway.
Most rooms don't have power plugs and you have to charge your things at reception for B 20, and you can certainly trust them.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank followasparklingstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stayed here in November 2010 and thought it has all you need for someone like me, a solo budget traveler. Single rooms were 150 Baht. They were clean and safe with a shared shower.
The location is great as it's close to Koh San Road but far enough away from the noise.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KuriTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

just so-so for the money. it's cheap and ok. pay for toilet paper. pay for wifi but at least it's available. not great but nice to pay 330 for bed with hot water. didn't see any roaches which was good! could've been cleaner could've been dirtier. nice cafe on first floor. look elsewhere if you want something nice. go for it if you don't care and want cheap.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank namenomatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

If you go to Bangkok on a shoestring just stay in this place. Really good value for you money: cheap, clean rooms, friendly staff and the best thing, just close of everything (the pier is in front, there is a bus stop to get you almost everywhere if you are pissed off with tuk tuk and taxi drivers, and Kao San Road, one of the most famous address in Bkk). I stayed there several times... first when I got in Bkk in the beggining of May, than later after other trips till the end of July... Yes I drop my big backpack there just to travel with a small for short trip and you pay only 10 baht per day (it is safe!).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#401 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Banglamphu
Phra Arthit Mansion
Phra Arthit Mansion
#361 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Banglamphu
Rainbow Khaosan Hostel and Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
New Siam Riverside Guest House
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House II
New Siam Guest House II
#35 of 606 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House I
New Siam Guest House I
#164 of 606 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Merry V Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Merry V Guesthouse

Property: New Merry V Guesthouse
Address: 18-20 Phra Athit Road, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 1,136 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
New Merry v Guesthouse Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing