We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honestly not very good, even for the money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Merry V Guesthouse
Ranked #279 of 1,193 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Honestly not very good, even for the money”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I was very surprised that this guesthouse has such good reviews. Maybe it was just my room but this place was quite terrible. Yes the location and price is great however I don't think it is worth it at all. There ARE bed bugs, I woke up with a rash all over my shoulder. There was no blankets provided, no toilet paper, the floors, walls etc were quite dirty. It is the size of a jail cell with a similar feeling to it. And the bathroom/shower combo is bearable with hot water but not very comfortable. There is no elevator and no help with bags if you are traveling with a lot of stuff. No openable windows in rooms. Even when we were booking the lady asked us if we wanted to look at the room first so even they must know how bad it is. My advice would be to pay an extra few dollars and go elsewhere. Even a hostel would be better.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marnie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    74
    43
    15
    3
See reviews for
12
58
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I've stayed at the New Merry V for many years on my travels in SE Asia. True, the beds are hard. True there is no charm to the accommodation. However, if you want a clean and functional room for the night, you can't beat the New Merry V. The airport bus will drop you on Phra Arthit Road as well, so take the A2 bus (the same one that goes to Koh San Road, pretty sure it's the A2) and tell them to drop you at Phra Arthit. Simple, convienient, and the coffee at Ricky Coffee shop in the lobby is awesome. You can easily spend more on your breakfast than on your room!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back, away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNGypsyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Inevitably independent travel in south east asia leads to some time spent in the Koh San Road area, and more often than not i end up staying at this guesthouse for several reasons. it's a short walk to Koh San Road but far enough away that i can avoid the nonsense if i chose to. it's very clean, quiet and secure, particularly the rear building. it has a good internet shop and an excellent restaurant on site. in my experience the staff are efficient. it is also a very short walk to the ferry station on the Chao Phraya River, great as the ferry is my favorite method of transport. The rooms in the rear building are more expensive but personally i think it's worth it, large rooms with ice cold aircon and good showers. if you're a budget traveler there is not much to fault.

Room Tip: rear building rooms are more expensive for a reason, they're excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeShamanix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

OK for the money but it felt like I was in a prison cell. Bed was rock hard, no view from window just another wall, was quite noisy and staff were not very friendly. However, even though it was old it was clean, didn't see a single bug. Good on a budget if all you want is to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I have stayed here for two nights in the low season! My single room with shared bathroom was B150 (!) which is even for thailand cheap! And the entire place was clean! They must clean the bathrooms several times a day! And there was NO single animal in the room! No mosquito, no cockroach, no ant no nothing! How do they do that! amazing! You don't have a duvet or anything on the bed,so either bring your own or don't bother, as its hot anyway.
Most rooms don't have power plugs and you have to charge your things at reception for B 20, and you can certainly trust them.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank followasparklingstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stayed here in November 2010 and thought it has all you need for someone like me, a solo budget traveler. Single rooms were 150 Baht. They were clean and safe with a shared shower.
The location is great as it's close to Koh San Road but far enough away from the noise.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KuriTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2011

just so-so for the money. it's cheap and ok. pay for toilet paper. pay for wifi but at least it's available. not great but nice to pay 330 for bed with hot water. didn't see any roaches which was good! could've been cleaner could've been dirtier. nice cafe on first floor. look elsewhere if you want something nice. go for it if you don't care and want cheap.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namenomatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
New Siam Riverside Guest House
Banglamphu
Phra Arthit Mansion
Phra Arthit Mansion
#365 of 641 in Bangkok
18 reviews
Banglamphu
Rainbow Khaosan Hostel and Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House II
New Siam Guest House II
#36 of 641 in Bangkok
813 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Palace View
New Siam Palace View
#99 of 1,193 in Bangkok
114 reviews
Banglamphu
Thara House
Thara House
#106 of 641 in Bangkok
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Merry V Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Merry V Guesthouse

Property: New Merry V Guesthouse
Address: 18-20 Phra Athit Road, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 1,193 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
New Merry v Guesthouse Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing