We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“terrible accommodation in the best location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Merry V Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Merry V Guesthouse
Ranked #254 of 1,135 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“terrible accommodation in the best location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

if you can find nowhere else to stay, this will do. I stayed in a 3 bed room. it was reasonably cheap (less than $10/head/night) but not cheaper than a lot of better-looking places, and for a reason: the beds were awful, like a very thin, hard futon with one blanket, terrible sleep, there was a drain pipe that kept going outside our window, the room was maybe 3m squared, the bathrooms were shared and there was only 3 toilets/level, one of which flooded w diarrhea, only two showers which are cold, wifi expensive, was overall a bit of a dump. despite this, we did have a street view out the window that was cool at night and it had a fan (so loud) and would be a great place to meet other travellers i guess and it really is in the best location!! it was right near a v vibrant ally way with lots of nightlife, travel centres and food places (there is none in the hostel) and a 5min walk from khao san road, cant remember how far from airport it is. and close to a bus stop too i think.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haileighruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    73
    43
    15
    3
See reviews for
12
58
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wurzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

So this is a cheap guesthouse that we wanted to try out, and actually really liked it! First we booked only one night, cuz we were affraid the room was too dirty and the staff is not really that nice! - But we were supprised. The roomwas not superclean but no bugs nor cockroaches anywhere near! Also we had a hot shower and an aircon for only 450 BAHT for a doubleroom per night. We've been there twice and always had a quiet room, even though the Khao San Rd area can be quite loud sometime. If u look for a clean low budget guesthouse, you can definitely crush here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DhaliaAline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms look like the ones from the movie "The Beach". The staff were very friendly and the location of New Merry V is great. It is a bit away from khasan road so it is a little bit more calm around here, but still very close to khaosan. Very good value for your money, I will stay here during my next visit to Bangkok.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
315 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Unfriendly, overpriced, no ambiance, rascist and noisey... Rooms are poorly ventilated and not soundproof... Lite pours in all nite... They charge for Y Fi and if you break a glass they come out and scream at you.. The staff are overt bigots and as friendly as a grinch...

Room Tip: leave the area, good rooms you will pay for cheap rooms are just that
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James_KK9185AX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I love this guesthouse, it gave me what i need. Bed and shower, very basic but that's all I need and it is clean. I Pay 240 THB for double room, with fan and shared bathroom. Although I need to pay more for the wifi, the Santichai Prakhan Public Park nearby provide free wifi by TOT and TRUE. Moreover, this beautiful park is cute with old fortress, riverside, and (quite) beautiful bridge scenery. Rambuttri is a little street, very close to Khaosan Road and main attraction in Bangkok. The worst thing is that there is no electric plug in the room, I can only charge my device in the receptionist, they help me to charge it.

Room Tip: Choose room with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dara Ayuda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Rambuttri is a great little Street, favoured over the slightly more manic Koh San Road and still manages to be quite quaint. Situated a 5 minute walk from Koh San this hotel offers basic but clean rooms, and in the private bathrooms a very good hot shower. After 3 months in South east Asia this may be one of the best showers. 450baht gets you a private double with en suite, the room was clean, linen was clean, towels were clean and for the first time in a while, we got a plentiful supply of toilet paper. The ceiling fan was a little 'dodgey' looking, but it remained working all night and didn't fall off, so I expect that this is just a look.
Great little place for the budget traveller for a couple of nights close to the action.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

If you've not seen the film "The Beach" starring Leonardo DiCaprio then you have to watch it before arriving in Thailand! Anyway the single rooms with shared bathroom at this hostel are exactly like the ones at the start of the movie when he's in Bangkok. But smaller. Good to meet people though as I got the impression that the corridor and balcony can be a pretty social area. I stayed one night in this room before moving to a larger private room. This was much better and well worth the extra money in my opinion. A very large double bed, a lot of room space and hot water all the time. The food was ok in the restaurant downstairs but nothing special (I only had breakfast there). The staff are not very friendly. It's in a fantastic location at the bottom of Rambuttri Street which is like Khao San Roads little brother but much nicer in my opinion. My only moan would be having to pay for the wifi, for most people this is an essential item and you end up buying it everyday so should just add a little onto the room cost and provide for free like everywhere else.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jonny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#406 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Banglamphu
Phra Arthit Mansion
Phra Arthit Mansion
#360 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Banglamphu
Rainbow Khaosan Hostel and Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
New Siam Riverside Guest House
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House II
New Siam Guest House II
#35 of 606 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House I
New Siam Guest House I
#163 of 606 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Merry V Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Merry V Guesthouse

Property: New Merry V Guesthouse
Address: 18-20 Phra Athit Road, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 1,135 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
New Merry v Guesthouse Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing