We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - cheap, good location but small rooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Merry V Guesthouse
Ranked #279 of 1,194 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Manchester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“OK - cheap, good location but small rooms”
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Room was small but ok for the price we paid. I would definately get a room with a/c in Bangkok as it can get very hot and stuffy. We only had a fan in this guesthouse which didn't do an awful lot apart from move the hot air around the room. Location-wise Merry V is ideal especially for backpackers. For a large guesthouse it was quiet too. There are better places for better prices nearby.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryMip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    74
    43
    15
    3
See reviews for
12
58
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ta23
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2009

We heard about this place from a friend who stayed there and said good things about it. We stayed three nights in Bangkok and had a excellent room with A/C and cable (2 beds) for 550 Baht. Then we came back and stayed another night a week later and got the room next door which had pretty worn beds, which was less than comfortable. As others have said, get a room on the backside because they are quieter. Staff was very helpful with any questions we had. It has a decent location, near the night market and khaosan Road (though close to an hour from either airport).

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ta23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

I stayed here alone for 3 days whilst waiting for friends. I'd moved from Koh San as I couldnt stand the grubby rooms and constant noise. For only 100BHT extra (400BHT total) I had an immaculate room with its own bathroom, TV and aircon. As I recall it even had a fridge. After staying in 7 or 8 other guesthouses in Bangkok and looking at several more at similar prices this one wins by miles. In fact so highly do I reccommend it that next month I am returning to Bangkok on a far higher budget than last time but I will still use this accommodation as I was so impressed last time.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D.C.
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2007

My husband and I loved this place. It's really small but really clean
and fresh. Nice beds, great air con, tv, little frig, nice shower. If you're in Bangkok to get out and see stuff and don't need a big fancy place it's perfect. If you're on a tight budget but don't want to sleep like a backpacker anymore (in dirty, iffy places) it's perfect. It's located just around the corner from the loud and touristy section and gives you a nice distance from the chaos. If you like the touristy stuff you're still right there. Close to lots of sights that you can walk to and across the street from a riverboat dock.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
Thank lscreennamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 August 2004

If you do get one of the cheap rooms ( no bathroom or air-con) ask if they have one on the end or with a window. I have stayed at this place a couple of times because it's close to alot of the attractions and it's easy to get public transport to other places of interest. But, the first time I had an end room - with a window - the second time I was in the middle of a row of small rooms and the window overlooked a shaft that runs up the center of the building. There was also another window directly opposite mine. less than a meter away, so privacy was an issue. Definitely a good budget choice. Be aware, the travel agent downstairs seems to keep irregular hours. I was trying to change a ticket I bought with them and they just didn't open and no-one could tell me why. Perhaps it was a one off - a family emergency or similiar. The girl who runs the internet shop is extremely helpful with anything you need - internet, ph. calls, scanning, printing. It would be nice if the girls at the desk smiled once in awhile when I came in and out though.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 June 2004

We were hesitant about staying here because we couldn't find any reviews. So I am writing this for any else in the same situation. Overall we found it a nice and easy place to get our footing in Bangkok. The rooms in the guesthouse are very basic - just a bottom sheet and small blanket, no towels and no toilet paper (the norm in non-western Thailand) but no matter, it was still a nice place to stay. We "splurged" for our own bath and a/c which cost 400Baht (about 10US$) but you could have stayed there for as little as 150 Baht. There is a restaurant on the ground floor with very good food, an ATM, fast internet service and a travel agent (though not an "official" one) and the staff are friendly and helpful. It made our first few days in Bangkok easier. It's also near some major sites like the Grand Palace, Wat Pho and the National Art Gallery. It's also near KoSan Road but far enough away that it is in calmer surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
New Siam Riverside Guest House
Banglamphu
Phra Arthit Mansion
Phra Arthit Mansion
#367 of 641 in Bangkok
18 reviews
Banglamphu
Rainbow Khaosan Hostel and Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House II
New Siam Guest House II
#33 of 641 in Bangkok
813 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Palace View
New Siam Palace View
#98 of 1,194 in Bangkok
114 reviews
Banglamphu
Thara House
Thara House
#106 of 641 in Bangkok
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Merry V Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Merry V Guesthouse

Property: New Merry V Guesthouse
Address: 18-20 Phra Athit Road, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 1,194 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
New Merry v Guesthouse Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing