We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience”
Review of Le Maverick Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Le Maverick Restaurant & Bar
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sukhumvit
Description: Modern Bistronomy, French & Mediterranean- Extensive Wine Gallery, Wine by Glass - Open Kitchen, Chef Table, degustation and discovery menus - Opening Hours: 17.30 to 23.00, Monday to Saturday. Closed on Sunday.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had dinner in this restaurant, not our first time, although it will be the last. Since our last time (two months ago), the menu had changed and prices went up and selection of food got limited especially for main courses, not to mention the step prices for these dishes, especially the steaks. Once again their tapas selection is strange and not well thought. If they want to offer Spanish or Basque tapas, they should get a proper chef from the Spanish Basque country.

We order the squid dish for starter and it was so hard that only the sauce saved the dish. Then for main we ordered the cod fish with a risotto that has the rice under cooked and the duck leg. My partner told me the smell of the duck was not right, but we thought it may be due to the cooking. Well she ate it and then back home and during the night she had stomach pain and had to go to toilet few times. Well, it was rather obvious that the duck wasn´t in proper condition and this is a shame for a place like that. It seems that they may serve anything they may have without checking if it is still in good condition. We will obviously never be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Prayanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eric2328, Owner at Le Maverick Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Khun Prayanak,
First of all, we are extremely sorry and shocked about such fact and would like to express our sincere apologies to your partner. Second, we would of course like to thank you both for being a regular guest at Maverick and for the prompt review.
We are in the business of making people happy and taking care of our guests, so this is the worst thing that could happen to us. We only use high quality products and take very much care of our supply chain, that’s why we directly investigated upon your complain. The ingredients were delivered fresh friday morning, day we reopened after our Songkran holliday, thus the food chain was without doubt perfect for all dishes selected by you that evening; we served a total of 9 of the same dish that evening. No other guests, many of them regulars, made any complain, we had only positive feedbacks. Having said this, whatever the source of your partner’s feeling in the night after the dinner was, your disappontment seemed to have been global : dishes fares, nature of the tapas menu, thus the only way to waive such a negative experience is to replace it by a wonderful Dinner for the 2 of You, that we are glad to propose, with a Chef Menu and a direct interaction where Chef Jerome Lagarde and I will be very pleased to present and comment our Basque and French fine Dining Modern Eatery concept.
Our Executive Chef As you already knew is indeed a Basque Native, and Basque People always define themselves Basque before to mention if they are from France or Spain that they never considered their true identity. Moreover, although not a Chef, but foodie and cookbooks collector, I'm also very involved in our culinary choices and currently on a trip in Barcelona, Spain, tasting many tapas and other local dishes to make sure we never betray our Guests with our offerings.So far, after a complete Week, I can tell our Paellas and Tapas are positionned on the upper end of the tapas range, without reaching the level of perfection of 'Tickets' from Albert Adria but fairly good, more sophisticated and cheaper than most of what I got in Catalunya.
I sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves and share your own spanish experience and ours while enjoying this wonderful Chef Dinner in our company, and Kindly inviting you to provide us your contact details,

Kind regards
Eric Paul Co-founder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    41
    4
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maverick - The place to be in Bangkok”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Having visited some over 100 restaurants in Bangkok, I have to say Maverick beats them all. The food, atmosphere, design ... everything just works.

I have already visited this restaurant few times and it just keeps getting better and better - new items on the menu and new dinner area by the open kitchen is really nice addition just to mention couple of things.

I would actually extend my gratitude beyond Bangkok. I cannot think of other restaurant right now I would like to visit soon again as much as Maverick.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Everything Perfect: Good Food, Excellent Service, Nice Ambiance and last but not least Right Price!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I'm leaving in Bangkok so I go out for dinner quite often, for both business and pleasure. The question is that at the end I finish to go always in the same place because most of the time that I try a new place is not a good experience.
I'm quite happy to say that this time is exactly the opposite: a great experience.
The Manager Bruno did a very good job to teach the staff to be polite but not " too much polite" same same it happen, many time, in many restaurant in Bangkok, where you feel the oppression of the staff watching you all the time and, as soon as you drink your glass of water, fill in again in less than one second.
Maybe you don't mind about this, in any case the food is superb and the list of wines excellent too, with many good and known wines at the right price.
Frankly speaking many restaurant in Bangkok have some wines in the list that you can find only in the Italian suburb of some cheap supermarket, but here they sell like "nectar of the gods".
Nice atmosphere, the right light, the right temperature ( quite often we frozen in some restaurant because the air condition is too strong???) nice music, .....
The price is also not too expensive for what they offer too.
In one word Bravo!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertoBangkok1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rawai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We were left satisfied beyond measure after dining at Maverick. Not the usual pretentious atmosphere reserved for Bangkok's highest tier of French restaurants at all. The decor is contemporary, the music unobtrusive and the service discreet yet attentive. The food cannot be faulted and the wine selections suit every occasion. Thumbs up.

Helpful?
Thank JeremyStreeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Ingredients Used and Prepared with Skill”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had a fabulous meal at Maverick's. This is undoubtedly one of the best restaurants in Bangkok for this style of food. Honestly, most of what you spend goes into the premium imported ingredients they use. The owner seems to be a perfectionist and it shows in his creations which are honest and perfectly balanced without trying to be fancy. They have quite a good selection of wines from all over the world and the service was excellent, being attentive without being intrusive. The Mozzarella de Bufalla was one of the best I've had anywhere in the world. Their reductions are also very good. Their menu is also quite unique and revolves around their produce, this is rare to find. It would be difficult not to have a good meal at Maverick's.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chazzerau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Maverick Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing