We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find, good value Bangkok oasis”
Review of Silom Serene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silom Serene
Ranked #285 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
bendigo
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Find, good value Bangkok oasis”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

we usually stay in a different area in Bangkok, and were looking for a change. we couldn't have been more pleased with the cost, less than $60.00 per night including free wifi and breakfast.

Rooms larger than normal, breakfast, all freshly cooked, and not piled out in one hit, The staff were more than obliging, courteous, friendly and professional.

Location close to skytrain and mrt, and right in the middle of Patpong.
Will be using this hotel everytime we go go to Bangkok in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garryBendigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    257
    91
    23
    14
See reviews for
57
166
73
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melb Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here a couple of years ago and thought it was very good. Its close to Saladang station and Pat Pong Market.
This time however when we arrived we found the afternoon shift to be less than helpful.
The afternoon shift manager was very abrupt and when we went up and opened up our room we found that we had been given a smoking room that absolutely stank. They knew it as well because they had an Ionizer running in there to try and get rid of the smell.
When my wife went down to ask for another room they said all they could give us till tomorrow was a room with 2 single beds.
This is after we had booked 8 months in advance.
As hard as we tried we also could not get a towel for the pool.
We did however find the breakfast staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Try and stay on the pool side its a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motor_Scooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I stayed here a number of times in 2006-2008, and recently came back. My impressions are mixed. The location is very convenient to the BTS Skytrain and Silom & Sathorn Roads. Staff are friendly and courteous. While being comfortable, the hotel is tired, (my room, at least), and in need of updating. The bathrooms, especially, could use a little sprucing up. The bed could also be replaced. The carpets in the hall are old and faded. Despite being "long in the tooth," it is clean and well located. Breakfast was not included in the rate I paid (and should have been). The WiFi was free. I like is the free "left luggage" service. So...my review is "mixed."

I would like to see this hotel update their rooms a bit as there are a number of new hotels in this part of Bangkok in the same price range to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onomataho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

I always stay in this hotel for my business trips to Bangkok. It is just a few steps from United Center building, where my office is located. It is in a walking distance to both BTS Skytrain and MRT stations, have so many options of street food and snacks during the day and night, have lots of 7-11 nearby and malls, also just need to cross the street to enjoy the night at Patpong Night Market.

I also always enjoy the breakfast here. Simple meals but tasty, perfect in the morning.

The room is old but everything is still functioning properly. Cleanliness is always well kept. The swimming pool is small, so I never use it during several times I stayed there.

I won't stay there for my personal trips, but for a low budget business trips, this is a good deal, especially if you need to go to Silom business area.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy_backpackgal82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

A quiet hotel in the middle of the action in Bangkok. The room was updated and clean. The location was great as it was steps from food, massages, the sky train, and the night market. For the price it was good value. Not all staff spoke great English.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel itself was clean, we got a free room upgrade! The main part of the room was kept updated, the bathroom could have used some work but was not bad and pool area was small but nice and quiet. The bed was VERY hard but that seems to be the norm at hotels around this price range in the area. The location is great for people spending time in Bangkok, you're literally across the street from the Patpong night market where you can haggle on prices and see some of the "interesting" night life just by going for a walk. And 5 min walk to the Sky Train system that can take you to MBK, Siam Paragon shopping center or the river where you can hop on a ferry to a variety places including Asiatique and dinner cruises.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to people looking to see the city and not spend a ton of money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The Serene is a fantasic Hotel in the heart of Bangkok. It is centerally located, and well appointed. The staff are excellent, always freindly, helpful and accommodating to any request. Our room was comfortable and quiet, the restaurant excellent and the pool was a delight in the Bangkok heat. A superb hotel that is fantastic value.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Le Siam Hotel
Le Siam Hotel
#259 of 862 in Bangkok
399 reviews
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#188 of 862 in Bangkok
870 reviews
Silom
D Varee Diva Bally Silom, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
I-Residence Hotel Silom
I-Residence Hotel Silom
#281 of 862 in Bangkok
1,490 reviews
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#182 of 862 in Bangkok
1,584 reviews
Silom
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
#308 of 862 in Bangkok
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silom Serene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silom Serene

Property: Silom Serene
Address: 7 Soi Pipat Silom Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silom Serene 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silom Serene, a boutique hotel provides a perfect haven for total relaxation and rejuvenation from the hustle and bustle of modern city life. Although the Silom Serene is centrally located in the prime business district of Bangkok, it is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and an inviting outdoor swimming pool as well as a Jacuzzi, thus providing ample seclusion from the commotion of the city of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Silom Serene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silom Serene Bangkok
Silom Serene Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing