We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to DMK and great restaurant across the road”
Review of Louis Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Louis Tavern Hotel
Ranked #711 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Close to DMK and great restaurant across the road”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is an average hotel with clean rooms and a swimming pool. We were there just for a night and chose it for it's proximity to DMK airport. It is very conveniently located. The best part? The restaurant across the road. The best food I have had in Bangkok and Lily, the cook/owner/waitress is super sweet and willing to help you make choices according to your taste. Ate lunch and dinner there!

Back to the hotel - It's great for a stopover. Enjoy a dip in the pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    17
    37
    8
    10
See reviews for
13
21
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We just had a one night stay to be ready for the flight from Don Muang airport. The hotel is near to the airport and you can even hear the frequent sounds of the planes taking off and landing. There are taxis easily available and there is a card where you can show the taxi the location and roads leading to the hotel when you are returning. Ordered some breakfast items and the staff were not so proficient in English.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TehCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I needed a place to overnight, on my way to Chiang Mai. This worked, as it was reasonably close to Don Mueng Airport AND reasonably priced.

The room was a bit tired. I think it was clean, but it was a bit hard to tell. The carpet was worn and seemed dirty. The breakfast was okay, but nothing to get very excited about. If you want a western breakfast, other than an omelet, you won't find it here.

It works for a quick stay between flights. For a longer period, I think there are far better places in far better locations for just a bit more money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My stay here was very comfortable. The rooms are big and clean. The staff is very helpful also and very pleasant. I ordered room service a few times for dinner and the food here is excellent ! If you have a flight in or out of Don Mueang Airport, then I would recommend this hotel. It also is very near to the hotel. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I read some of the reviews who moan about Louis Tavern. This place is the best value hotel in the area. It was one of the first hotels in the area of the Dong Mueang airport which was until fairly recently the Bangkok international airport but has been consumed by the sprawl that is Bangkok. It is great! The staff are efficient and friendly and very very helpful. The rooms are not clean, they are spotless!!!! and although you could level criticism that certain aspects are a bit dated, they are all refurbished on a regular basis and are extremely comfortable. The area around the hotel is Thai, not tourist the street food changes by the day and by the hour and in the adjacent soi you can get any service from getting your phone repaired to having your shoes resoled! Don't expect everyone you meet to speak fluent English, they don't but they will try. This is their country, meet them halfway. I have stayed at this place for over 10 years and frankly would not stay anywhere else if I wanted to be near the airport. Like I say, if you want to be in Thailand stay here..It's worth it.

Room Tip: Go to the restaurant in the garden adjacent to the hotel "Aroi ti Seuen" for a bit more lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pazin, Croatia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The hotel has it's pros and cons.
Pros: close to airport, very good food, free wifi, clean
Cons: very old
Room service 130B for Thai Fried chicken with cashewnuts.
Across the road is local (open space) little bar/restaurant with big wall screen to watch Premier league on Saturday night, they serve food 50B. Food is not good as hotel food.
I had early morning flight, taxi was only 75B 10min to Airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindar_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benicia, CA
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Okay hotel. Acceptable cleanliness. Great buffet breakfast. Handy location if you are flying out of Don Muang airport. No free wifi - which is so very annoying but given the price I could live with that. The biggest issue for me was the hardness of the beds. It was practically like sleeping on a wood plank with a towel over it. I seriously kept laughing to myself about it because the beds were so ridiculously hard! Then i wondered if it was some sort of practcal joke ala candid camera. It wasnt. I ended up asking for additional blankets which I used to pad the bed so I could sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda4490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.2 mi away
Ebina House
Ebina House
#640 of 862 in Bangkok
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miracle Grand Convention Hotel
1.1 mi away
Casa Residence Hotel
Casa Residence Hotel
#502 of 862 in Bangkok
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mida Hotel Don Mueang Airport Bangkok
1.8 mi away
TK Palace Hotel
TK Palace Hotel
#460 of 862 in Bangkok
58 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rama Gardens Hotel Bangkok
Rama Gardens Hotel Bangkok
#351 of 862 in Bangkok
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louis Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Tavern Hotel

Property: Louis Tavern Hotel
Address: 79 Soi Viphavadi-Rangsit 64 | Vibhavadi-Rangsit Rd, Don Muang, Bangkok 10210, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #711 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Louis Tavern Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Louis Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing