We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for dorm room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thrive The Hostel Bangkok
Ranked #256 of 1,245 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value for dorm room!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I fell in love with Thrive The Hostel Bangkok right at the first sight. The design is very very cool. The size of the dorm room is quite small (not easy to move/walk if you just keep even 1 bag inside loll) and a bit noisy because it is located right on the highway with the sky strain line upfront. However, I did sleep very well (too tired maybe haha) with very very comfortable bed linen. Besides the dorm room, all other common spaces are amazing with the details. Very good value for the budget travel to stay in a dorm! Will be back again when we visit Bangkok next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    69
    36
    12
    12
See reviews for
6
31
83
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boulder
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Cons: Small room, even at the "deluxe" size we booked. Very noisy from main road right outside window. Nice big balcony, but couldn't use because it was locked, no key provided, and could not get the staff to understand our request for a key. Staff very bad english (and when we used thai phrasebook still problems with understanding) and even rude (sending texts on cell phone for several minutes while we stood there waiting). At check in / check out / asking about key / picking up train tickets from front desk (delivered by another agency) never once got a smile. Odd design is toilet inside shower enclosure so be prepared for wet floor while using toilet.

Pros: Good location walking distance to best rooftop bar in Bangkok (MoonBar), subway direct to trainstation,150-250baht taxi ride to grand palace area. Clean! Very cool industrial design and feel - loved the overall look of this place! Price is very decent if you can get a deal.

Room Tip: Request a room that is higher up and does not face the main road. Otherwise, be prepared for non-st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is a real flashpackers place. Awesome design, very comfy beds, a nice common room with tv and dvd and a cool bar with public computers. There are just two negative points: no safety boxes in dorms and staff who don't speak english. If you enter they really try to ignore you. Forget about questions or smalltalk. But all in all a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I feel like home when staying at this hostel.
I and my group went to stay there for holiday - Yee Ping Festival in November 2013.

The first thing coming into my mind when I saw this hostel on agoda booking is the beautiful interior and the facilities. At that time, I dont think this hostel will have a good service. However, the time I stay here could be the the most unforgettable travelling experiences and memory.

The hostel is so cool, look like a pub or bar from the outside. The room is very clean and clear. The bed is soft and the air-condition is working good. Especially, the smile always on staff's faces. They help me to book the bus tickets to Chiangmai when I have so many problems with Thai language. They work professionally and they try their best to make you feel like home. I really really and really enjoy my trip and totally satisfied.

I highly recommend this hostel. Great location, few minutes walk to BTS & MRT, right beside the patpong night market. Moreover, not only the price is very reasonable for travellers but also the accommodation and the service is cant be described by words. When I come back Bangkok, the place I stay would be surely this hostel.

Amazing!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanNgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This place is definitely worth a try. Beautiful industrial design makes the whole place looks really special and unique. It's super clean and cozy. The hostel itself is brand new and the mattresses are really comfortable. The staff is friendly and willing to help eventho their English is a work in progress. I definitely recommend this place, it's super cheap and at walking distance of Silom MRT train station and great clubs.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velocity_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

great location, few minutes walk to BTS & MRT, right beside the patpong night market and Silom street but quiet enough for a good rest. Chose this hotel because of it's new opening and good that it did not disappoint me. stay at the female dorm, ended up sleeping alone for 3 nights there. comfortable bed, towel, shampoo/body shampoo provided, the bathroom even equip with air-cond. I would rank very top of this hotel for its cleanliness, and the cold design of the hotel does impress me. the only drawback is the staff are not informative.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jofoo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This place is brand new as of September '13 and the place is cool. Industrial feel with the new smell permeating throughout. They give you your own towel and face towel, which is a luxury for being a hostel. You can tell they took great detail to make this place feel slick and clean. The dorm rooms are smaller than usual, but I had it all to myself for one night. The staff doesn't speak English so well, but the owner and manager does and he was very kind and chill. Check it out. Great location near Pat Pong, Bangkok. All the night life is around the corner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Orchid Hostel Bangkok
Orchid Hostel Bangkok
#92 of 1,245 in Bangkok
165 reviews
Silom
Red Lips Hostel
Red Lips Hostel
#410 of 1,245 in Bangkok
1 reviews
Silom
Take a Nap Hotel
Take a Nap Hotel
#325 of 1,245 in Bangkok
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
BBB Inn
BBB Inn
#347 of 670 in Bangkok
22 reviews
Silom
Silom Space Hostel
Silom Space Hostel
#206 of 1,245 in Bangkok
10 reviews
Silom
The Raya Surawong - Bangkok
The Raya Surawong - Bangkok
#80 of 670 in Bangkok
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thrive The Hostel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thrive The Hostel Bangkok

Property: Thrive The Hostel Bangkok
Address: 908 Rama 4 road, Bangkok, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 1,245 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Thrive The Hostel Bangkok 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Thrive The Hostel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing