We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for Money! Recommended” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thrive The Hostel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thrive The Hostel Bangkok
Ranked #187 of 1,132 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great value for Money! Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I spent 6 nights in Thrive and it was pretty good, 4 nights in the standard room & 2 night in the superior standard. it works out about 28SGD per night with attached bathroom and queen size bed.

1. i love the interior look & feel which is industrial + it is true to the photos you see by the hostel & other travelers. what you see is what you get.

2. most of the staffs are pretty unfriendly (stern face, no smile), but they will still go ahead and help if you ask with a smile but dont expect anything more. HOWEVER there is this 1 guy who is super friendly and helpful, speaks decent english and is ever ready to assist, so i guess it depends on who is your receptionist for the day.

3. if you got a little more budget, i suggest you go for the superior room as the standard room is really tiny (and i mean really tiny for an asian lady). it cannot be comfy for 2 paxs, it is extremely tight in term of spacing and i am staying alone. But as soon as i moved into the superior room, it felt pretty decent, with decent space to move around. the layout of the room is more sensible too.

4. for light sleeper, you may want to consider bringing ear plug because you do get noise from traffic and some thumping music from i dont know where. it didnt bother me, but you might want to note.

5. the hostel provides towel (face & bath, 2 of each), shampoo & body wash, hair dryer and kettle and i LOVE the towel. they are nice thick comfy towel, that kept me happy for 6 nights. the linen are fresh, i can still smell the freshness of the soap after 2 nights. so in term of cleanliness & comfort i would give it 4 stars! the pillows are a little disappointing though, it's kinda thin and light but that didnt bother me too much, i just stacked them and it's fine.

6. hot water is running fine, water pressure is decent, nothing to complain about but do take note that you have to let the tap run for a couple of minutes before the water get hot. other than that all good.

7. location wise, it is really near the sala daeng BTS. it's like 5-10mins walk. i wouldnt recommend luggage lugging kinda walk because the pavement isnt that friendly but if you're on backpack that is fine. the location is a little discreet and there is hardly any branding on the facade so good luck with that. once you figure out the location it's fine. i do realized that not many taxi drivers is familiar with this place (road name: rama 4) so it is better for you to get the staff to write the hostel number & address in thai just in case the taxi get really lost.

in summary - i highly recommend this hostel for budget travel. it is new, fresh, clean, convenient. i'll come back here again be it alone/ as couple/ or with a group of friends (not for family). give it a try :)

Room Tip: go for the superior room that is NOT facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daffodilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    67
    35
    11
    10
See reviews for
6
30
78
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

A good and cheap place to stay, nice style, very new and clean, friendly and helpful staff (although they don't always speak much English). Book though other sites for nice discounts. Be warned of the location, while very central, it is between a red light district and a gay club street.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kununurra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I wanted to give this 4 and a half stars - and even temped to give 5, maybe in the future!

Issues: The ONLY issues I had was the 'unfriendly' staff behind the reception. Not sure if this is because they weren't very fluent in English, or if they just couldn't be bothered. I'm talking unhelpful in regards to giving advice to travellers. If you had an issue with the room/bedding or anything, they were very helpful. Also, the designers of the hostel should maybe have focused a little more on function, and not spent their entire time and budget on design. Yeah, sure the hostel looks great, but were am I supposed to put my clothes if I want to take a shower? Also, when I was there, it wasn't the best place to meet people, but I'm sure that will change as they get more people in!

Awesomeness: Location was great (near the MRT and BTS), beds were great (I've never come across a thicker mattress), they give you nice, big towels, and the showers have awesome pressure (even if it does take a while to warm up).

Improvements: The common room needs more comfy seats - no one likes sitting on metal chairs! Please have lots of hooks to hang things up in the shower cubicle. Please get your staff to engage more with visitors!

To their credit, every-time I came back, they had improved the hostel, so it has to be getting better and better. Keep up the good work! I would recommend everyone stay here, even people who usually don't 'do' hostels!

Room Tip: Even though you have to climb some stairs, I'd recommend going for the dorms on the upper-level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I had stayed at this hotel for 2 times due to changing schedule. Me and my friends had different plans and that caused a lot of trouble for the staff but everything was solved rapidly. With the competitive price at a location like this, you cannot ask for more. Definetly with come back here next time in bkk

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ngocbichng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Booked a double room through Asia Rooms and Hostel Bookers because for some reasons Asia World said there was no more double rooms available but Hostel Bookers had vacancy.

I didn't take much photos of the hostel but what you see on their website was exactly the same in reality! Nice unique rail concept and the rooms were very clean. Housekeeping only available upon request.

Location: Great if you want to stay in Silom area. Silom has a range of shopping centres however it is not the cheapest. Patpong is just 2 minutes walk away. The main tourist areas like Pratunam, Chaktuchap and Khaosan is quite a distance away but you will be able to get to anywhere under 100 baht for a taxi / tuk tuk. If they ask for higher, just bargain or walk away. Taxi drivers usually have difficulty finding this place so tell them: Patpong Surawong and then turn left in the main junction onto Rama 4 road. Look out for Take A Nap Hostel, it is just 2 doors away. It's quite hard to spot Thrive Hostel building at first because it is all black but you'll be fine if you manage to spot Take A Nap Hostel.

Service: It would be better if staffs could be more helpful in directions. Though i emailed 3 times asking for directions to the hostel from the train station, no one replied me. Also, the staff were not too knowledgable about public transportation, so just take a cab furthermore it is not too expensive. Would be nicer too if they smiled more! But generally they are fine. They looked after my luggage for a few hours and offered me to use the shared bathrooms for shower when i came back and even gave me a towel to use.


Room: My double bed had a metal spring poking my back when i sleep :/ but everything else was okay. TV channel selection was pretty impressive, they have international English speaking channels and even MTV. You get your private safe too. Towels provided.

Room Tip: Room 2.9 was quiet and it is the first room on the second floor when you get on the escalator. I rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbowbiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Managed to book a private room here for £8 a night with Asia rooms. If it's was a dump it was still going to be a bargain. As it was the hostel is in a great location for sky train and metro, the building is in concrete urban chic design. The room was, trendy basic but fine . Minor point is the toilet, although private, is in a smoked glass screen in the room. Totally fine but if you make a lot of noise your room mate will hear and smell everything.

Only drawback is the place is quite noisy. There are gay gogo bars to the rear and you get the beat of their music vibrating through the room till about 2am. If your a party animal and put till at least then this is a fantastic spot at margin prices. If you need a good nights sleep I wouldn't book here. I invested in earplugs which helped!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solo City
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

The HOSTEL
Nice and unique design, their industrial concept works fine for us. It has 3 floors but no elevators (it's still okay for a hostel).
They provide 3 PCs for guests' use. And the Wifi was free but unfortunately it was unstable and slow.

LOCATION: 4/5
It's not a perfect location, but near perfect: exactly between Silom MRT / Sala Daeng BTS and Sam Yan MRT. The shortest walk is from Sam Yan MRT exit 1.
Very near to the vibrant entertainment area of Patpong. A lot of street food vendors there.


SERVICE: 5/5
Staffs were mostly friendly, always smile and helpful. We could also put our luggage after checking out.

ROOM 3/5 -&- SLEEP QUALITY 2/5
Room was tiny but clean. The lighting was dim but it matched with the hostel's concept.
Shower and toilette design was nice. LCD TV also provided.
The double bed was big, but not from a top quality.
We booked a Double Eco room, and unfortunately it was exactly above the Bar. The Bar was never empty in the late evening until midnight. If you have sensitive ears like we do, you'll only be able to sleep after midnight. And even worse on weekends, the Bar opens till 2 a.m.
And in the morning it was quite noisy because the room was facing a busy street.
That's the only major drawback we experienced there.

VALUE 4/5
Quite pricey for a hostel but considering its location, Thrive has a good value for the money we spent.

Conclusion:
a very nice hostel with a comfortable room, but a bit noisy.
recommend this hostel mostly for young people. Not for family with infant kids. Nor for older persons.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms which are NOT facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneXaverio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
La Residence Bangkok
La Residence Bangkok
#376 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Silom
Bavana Hotel
Bavana Hotel
#545 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Silom
Orchid Hostel Bangkok
Orchid Hostel Bangkok
#107 of 1,132 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Take a Nap Hotel
Take a Nap Hotel
#281 of 1,132 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Silom
The Raya Surawong - Bangkok
The Raya Surawong - Bangkok
#71 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Silom
Red Lips Hostel
Red Lips Hostel
#390 of 1,132 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thrive The Hostel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thrive The Hostel Bangkok

Property: Thrive The Hostel Bangkok
Address: 908 Rama 4 road, Bangkok, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 1,132 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Thrive The Hostel Bangkok 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Thrive The Hostel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing