We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sip Song Banna - CLOSED

Sip Song Banna
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Burmese
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“New Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

While visiting Bangkok in October 2013, my son suggested we dine at a local Burmese restaurant. It was my first experience with Burmese food, and it was delicious! I especially liked the Tea Leaf Salad. Very spicy and flavorful!! I would definitely recommend Sip Song Banna.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merlyn1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Myanmar and Chiang Mai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Really pleased to have stumbled upon this little place. I really enjoy Chiang Mai style food and they do some dishes here that I haven't seen anywhere else in Bangkok. The Kao Soi (Myanmar style) and the tea leaf salad is brilliant. The place itself is very small and they don't have a lot of dishes. However, the meals they do have are great and make the place well worth a visit. If you have ever enjoyed Chiang Mai or Myanmar food, you'll enjoy this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiangMaiMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great, Very Authentic Northern Myanmar Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a very basic but very authentic restaurant serving dishes from the North of Myanmar. The menu is small but there are a few can't miss dishes on the menu.

I highly recommend the Khao Soi soup with pork, Green Tea Salad, and Crispy Pork Salad. The rice noodles in the Khao Soi are hearty and delicious. The salads really blend the ingredients together to make a very unique taste.

It is a simple open air shop house but the food is delicious. Go to Petchaburi Road Soi 31 and walk up the soi (road) about 50m to find it. Don't use the map on tripadvisor!

Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyler C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
594 reviews
540 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Tea leaf salad & Kao soi noodles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

The food here is excellent. The menu is simple, but what they do, they do very, very well. My favorite dish is the Tea Leaf Salad which is an eclectic blend of flavors that spark every taste sensation with each bite. The Kao Soi noodle soup is a very close 2nd. The Burmese style Kao Soi, which is actually the original, is different than the Chiang Mai style usually found in Thailand. Slightly less sweet because they don't use coconut milk, and served with rice noodles rather than egg. The rice noodles at this restaurant are by far the best I have ever had.

I first discovered Burmese food at the Swan in Chiang Mai a few years ago, and I am thrilled that the same quality of food is now finally available here in in Bangkok. If you have never tried it, definitely treat yourself. It's a nice break from all the usual Thai rice dishes.

The place itself is nothing fancy, but the food is solid and the prices are cheap cheap. There is no sign with the name out front; just look for the big Coke banner and the picture menu hanging on the wall inside, not far from the beginning of the street on the left-hand side. They also speak fairly good English, which is very helpful when going to "local" restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Whirled_Traveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sip Song Banna also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing