We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something a little different”
Review of Sip Song Banna - CLOSED

Sip Song Banna
Cuisines: Burmese, Thai
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Something a little different”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This was my first time trying Burmese food and I must say I was very impressed! After years of living in Bangkok and eating Thai food, I found the Burmese noodles and salad dishes to be much more interesting. Definitely a good choice if you're up for something a little different than the usual Thai fare.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little taste of Northern Myanmar in the centre of Bangkok”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Cracking little place. Great food, great service, very cheap. I can honestly say they make the best green tea salad I have ever had. Will definitely be back...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ftsimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“New Experience”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

While visiting Bangkok in October 2013, my son suggested we dine at a local Burmese restaurant. It was my first experience with Burmese food, and it was delicious! I especially liked the Tea Leaf Salad. Very spicy and flavorful!! I would definitely recommend Sip Song Banna.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merlyn1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Myanmar and Chiang Mai food”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Really pleased to have stumbled upon this little place. I really enjoy Chiang Mai style food and they do some dishes here that I haven't seen anywhere else in Bangkok. The Kao Soi (Myanmar style) and the tea leaf salad is brilliant. The place itself is very small and they don't have a lot of dishes. However, the meals they do have are great and make the place well worth a visit. If you have ever enjoyed Chiang Mai or Myanmar food, you'll enjoy this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiangMaiMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great, Very Authentic Northern Myanmar Food”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a very basic but very authentic restaurant serving dishes from the North of Myanmar. The menu is small but there are a few can't miss dishes on the menu.

I highly recommend the Khao Soi soup with pork, Green Tea Salad, and Crispy Pork Salad. The rice noodles in the Khao Soi are hearty and delicious. The salads really blend the ingredients together to make a very unique taste.

It is a simple open air shop house but the food is delicious. Go to Petchaburi Road Soi 31 and walk up the soi (road) about 50m to find it. Don't use the map on tripadvisor!

Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyler C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sip Song Banna also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing