We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culinary comfort in a great ambient space”
Review of Maki Maki

Maki Maki
Ranked #517 of 10,839 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Thong Lor & Ekamai
Description: Great place for Maki and fusion Japanese food !!
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Culinary comfort in a great ambient space”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I had my birthday dinner here and we got a table in the green house. It's a very open and modern space, which felt quite homey.
The maki has a great blend of flavors and all the makes are accompanied by great sauce. They serve a wide variety of sushi's and maki, as well as salads. I also particularly liked the sparkling sake jelly.
One of our dishes came with a piece of plastic in it, and upon telling the waiter, he shortly brought us a complimentary dish (totally unexpected, but just goes to show their integrity and service). We also bothered the waiters a few times to take photos for us and they were very patient.
Prices were a bit steep, but I still had a very enjoyable meal here!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Awesome japanese food..food was definitely over the top. We order poseidon on fire as it looked really cool and was something new for us, it was really awesome. However, For the sushi there were alot of good options, and it all looked so good. It was a piece of heaven on plate.. You can really not get enough of it. Would recommend advance booking for this restaurant, some seatings had really good view by the window, unfortunately we didn't know and it was all reserved when we got there.

Helpful?
Thank vanBangkok_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Small space, classic Japanese”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Fresh fish and sushi, attentive waitstaff. Standard Japanese but high quality. Somewhat overpriced though even for top end especially the sake.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Japanese”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just visited this restaurant recently, must say i was impressed with the ambiance. Nice cozy place and awesome Sushi and great service :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Nice Japanese fusion”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Visited this restaurant last months … recommended by a friend.

The restaurant is in Thonglor 5 … can walk from the BTS station but just a bit far and not such a nice walk. The restaurant is located in a small complex. This place is not big so reservation is a good idea.

This is the place for sushi … they have wide variety of selections and also option to go for platter style with few combinations. The sushi is nicely presented and tasty.

However, if you want to have sashimi then this might not be the place. But if you like to have great sushi then this is a place you can try.

The service is ok … staff are nice and polite. The food is reasonably quick … and the price also reasonable .. average BKK standard.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stapatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maki Maki also viewed

 

Been to Maki Maki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing