We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT for a pleasure trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Tower Inn Rama VI

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Tower Inn Rama VI
Ranked #684 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Manipal, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“NOT for a pleasure trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

This review comes a bit late I guess, I had the (mis)fortune of staying here for 6 nights / 5 days in November 2010. My wife n I were on honeymoon n this was what we got as a gift from a friend with a Royal Club membership. Though they had stayed at this hotel a couple of years back, it was more like a family stay - a couple with kids, not the kind of honeymoon stay that I was looking for.

Anyway, that was the real mistake - this hotel is strictly a business hotel and really really not good for anyone looking for a romantic or pleasure trip. The services provided are purely functional and nothing is for free. The rooms are comfortable, well maintained and again, purely functional.

The room service is efficient, but the staff will strictly adhere to their duties and never ever try to go even slightly out of the way to give you any personal service. On the first day of our stay we made the mistake of using their microwave (operating instructions were not in English) and burnt some edibles. No matter who we spoke to, we could get the room changed and had to endure that burnt-food smell for the rest of our 6 day stay. Understanding of English language is poor and a vast communication gap will exist unless u r on a group tour and the tour operator gets someone who's a good translator.

Food is typically Thai - and they r really good at it, I was made to believe - but that's of now use to Indian tastes. Leave Indian, even their continental offers are just average and limited to a scant selection. Their buffet breakfast has a similarly limited menu but works well if u r on a budget. One advice : no matter how hungry or desperate u are, NEVER order their American Fried Rice!! There are some restaurants run by Indian / Pakistani folk close by though, and it's surprisingly easy to get their number from the hotel staff - even though to collect the food ordered from these one has to go the basement coz they can't officially allow outside food to be delivered up front. Weird!!
Location wise this hotel is bang in the center of the city, I believe, and well connected. Most tour operators will collect and drop you from here with no problems. But if u r a tourist looking for fun, or even someone whose sole purpose of visit is just shopping, this is not of any advantage.

Apart from the beautiful view u get at night of the twinkling city sprawled for miles n miles around you. In fact, I'd put that as the ONLY real attraction of this hotel, the views from the top - which also has a big pool (but NO lifeguards so not safe, esp for kids), a large gym (again just functional) and a spa (couldn't try that) - are just amazing at night.

In all, a business hotel that shud be visited strictly for business.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank IntransigentEgotist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    38
    38
    17
    8
See reviews for
39
29
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had taken a 1BR suite for four people. The rooms were neat and well positioned. Everything worked in the room. The service was good and the staff were courteous. The only fact which was an issue was lack of vegetarian food. There were many Indian families staying and one wished they had served some vegetarian food. The location of the hotel is a little off from downtown Bangkok.

Room Tip: Try the travel desk for attractive deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blpsimha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The view of Bangkok from our room on 15th floor was excellent . the hotel is older but everything is really well maintained and the hotel is spotlessly clean. It has a large sauna and steam room available for 100bht which are attached to the Spa which offers good traditional Thai massage. There is also a large gym but I did not use. The food in the restaurant is excellent and inexpensive. It is not far from the weekend market at Chatuchuk 10 min taxi ride and the outstanding food market at Moochit - Must visit - Best fresh market out of five visited in Bangkok. The Skytrain with links to the MRT is 5mins taxi ride or a 25minute walk on Pradiphat Rd past interesting local shops and food outlets. At night this street comes alive as a street restaurant and is well patronised by locals. It is very easy to explore Bangkok from here using the train and you feel very safe walking in the street at all times of the day.. We travelled as a couple but it would be a great hotel and location for a family to stay in

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

The only good things I could think of for this hotel are it's quite near to the Chatuchak weekend market, also the swimming pool is really big (but i had no chance to use at all because i was dead tired everyday after back from shopping in town)

Other than that everything else are below par for me....
- Location, it's really far away from city center and we had to pay quite a lot for the tuktuk or taxi to come back to the hotel. There is a BTS station 'nearby', 15 minutes walk as told by the hotel staff but it actually took me more than 30 minutes and it's around 2km....I walked once with my wife at night and the streets are really dark with rats around....
- Hard to find nice restaurants nearby...
- My wife and I both woke up with red and itchy spots all over our hands and legs and we suspected it's from the bed bugs !
- No free wifi provided, no complimentary coffee and everything else need to pay, but they have complimentary mineral water everyday.

If it's not because my dad got an offer for this hotel then I would not stay in this hotel...definitely not recommended for people who wants to go Bangkok city center for shopping !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank voonchean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

East London, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

if you have some food from outside and you expect to borrow some plate, spoon or fork here they does not allow you to borrow dinning tool even you are customer who stay in this hotel just want to have 1 plate and 1 spoon. i'm very disapoint about staff service or stupid policy of this hotel. i khow you have outlet food for sell here but you should use your brain and consider about what i'm going to tell you. if you have this policy you should have a nocification board at front desk like "this hotel are not allow food from outside because we don't have dinning tool for borrow" then.

Room Tip: see above comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Hotel was one of the worst we have ever stayed, location is dreadful nothing around, no complimentary coffee (had to pay, extra pillow had to pay) feel the bed springs when you sleep. TV was as old as my grandmother with minimal clear transition. Tuk tuk drivers scam you however that's part of Thailand and we expect that but when the hotel tour company also scams you its very disapointing and when you question the service the so called manager says LISTEN TO ME!!! then my wife new what was the point. On a positive the house made was efficient and friendly ultimately we have now left.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't want to deal with the hassle of the Bangkok tourist scene as it is off the beaten track, but good value for its price. The hotel is very well run, and caters largely to groups. Rooms are large and well maintained. The roof pool is looked after and often completely empty, despite the hotel clearly being quite popular. The BTS is a 10 minute Tuk Tuk ride from the hotel (transport is easy to get from there).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N0M8D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
ibis Bangkok Riverside
#168 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Grand Tower Inn Sukhumvit 55
Grand Tower Inn Sukhumvit 55
#400 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Bangkholaem
Grand Tower Inn Sathorn Hotel
Grand Tower Inn Sathorn Hotel
#810 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karnmanee Palace Hotel
#570 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Sukhumvit
Tai-Pan Hotel
Tai-Pan Hotel
#286 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
The Aiyapura Bangkok
#538 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Tower Inn Rama VI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tower Inn Rama VI

Property: Grand Tower Inn Rama VI
Address: 402 Soi Rewadee, Rama VI Rd | Samsennai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sarn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #684 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Tower Inn Rama VI 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Tower Inn Rama VI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Tower Hotel Bangkok
Grand Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing