We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad but not great.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Tower Inn Rama VI

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Tower Inn Rama VI
Ranked #684 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed here total of 3 nights during Nov, 2013. Didn't expect much since I came with a group that planned everything. I must say, I am a little picky when it comes to hotel. Doesn't have to be fancy but definitely needs to be clean and bright. My first impression, ehhhhhh. The lobby is pretty dark and not so welcoming. Room hallways were dark and creepy. Staff didn't speak much english. However, I find the rooms to be comfortable and clean. Wifi had good connections (fee around USD$3). Okay for a few nights of stay. They also have a pool and gym on the top floor. Pool is outdoor and according to my swimmer friends, the water is great(not much chemical)! The gym was also surprisingly decent. They also offer buffet style breakfast vouchers. There are dates on the vouchers, make sure you bring the right vouchers with you or they won't let you in at all! Breakfast was good. Coffee, orange juice, eggs, french toast, congee, fruits, fried rice, and some other thai dishes. This place is also not too far from the JJ market (weekend market). Overall, it's a decent place to stay if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sasa1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    38
    38
    17
    8
See reviews for
39
29
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks while getting the annual family dental visits ( cheaper in Thailand than Australia). We are timeshare owners with RCI and were able to purchase 2 bonus weeks here. The timeshare rents floors out from the hotel. Hotel is extremely Thai, not many of the staff speak good English. This can be a pest when simple services are required. The room key cards failed at least 10 times during our stay which was very irritating as we then had to trek downstairs in the very slow lifts to reset them. We did use pool and gym facilities which were surprisingly immaculately clean and functional. Rooms are ok, the bigger rooms are better with a queen and a pull out double as well. Air con worked well but the smoking floors permeate the air con in the whole hotel so if you hate smell of smoke do not stay here. Rooms are very clean and serviced every day. There are no room safes, but there is a tea and coffee making set up as well as a microwave in the bigger rooms. Breakfast is on 2nd floor but the room smelt so bad we were unable to go there. They have food in the foyer restaurant which is cheap, but nothing to rave about, same food on room service. The location of the hotel is poor, we had to get a Tuk Tuk to the sky train, only cost $2 but nevertheless was an inconvenience. You can walk, takes about 20 mins. Then is 7 stops to the city central at Siam. This is not a holiday hotel, more a stop for doctors etc. Is a very old tired ex 5 star really. The timeshare staff at RCI were initially helpful, however one feels they are really there for the purposes of tour selling, they actually told us one day the Royal palace was closed, we rang there and found that not to be so which was disappointing, and consequently we did not deal with them after that incident. We ended up catching a taxi and saving ourselves a lot of baht. Our kids needed to move hotels due to room changes and were able to get a hotel in Silom central for $40 a night, much closer to the city, so we would not stay here again as we feel there are better deals to be had in Bangkok. Is close to the weekend markets, if that is your thing, can get a cheap couple of nights as a last resort. We did feel safe walking around, even at night, and local area has some interesting eating opportunities which are very cheap.

Room Tip: Non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Macafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

The room was large and spacious but didnt have a safe in it. The shampoo was 1 chemical short of being dishwashing liquid. The pool is on teh top floor of teh hotel with no shade, wooden lounges with no cushions and no umbrella's which made it unusable. The lobby bar had tables set out like a caffateriia with no atmosphere. I understand taht when you travel overseas not all peopel are going to speak some English but the bar staff couldnt speak any english at all and when we ordered a drink and they didnt undersatdn they just turned around and walked away. The breaksfast was a buffet with fried eggs cooked and left on an unheated dish and cold but they wouldnt cook an fresh for you until the ones in teh dish had been used. No bacon at all. Cleaning staff where the only ones that said hello when you saw them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

stayed at this hotel in November 2013, very disappointing. Staff not friendly ,no eye contact or smiles from any of them. the one bright person in our stay was the cleaning lady who was delightful. Meals basic. Breakfast was repetitive and cold bacon, eggs, etc.The pool area is just that, a pool only no shade or greenery.I would be very reluctant to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nannacaz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manipal, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

This review comes a bit late I guess, I had the (mis)fortune of staying here for 6 nights / 5 days in November 2010. My wife n I were on honeymoon n this was what we got as a gift from a friend with a Royal Club membership. Though they had stayed at this hotel a couple of years back, it was more like a family stay - a couple with kids, not the kind of honeymoon stay that I was looking for.

Anyway, that was the real mistake - this hotel is strictly a business hotel and really really not good for anyone looking for a romantic or pleasure trip. The services provided are purely functional and nothing is for free. The rooms are comfortable, well maintained and again, purely functional.

The room service is efficient, but the staff will strictly adhere to their duties and never ever try to go even slightly out of the way to give you any personal service. On the first day of our stay we made the mistake of using their microwave (operating instructions were not in English) and burnt some edibles. No matter who we spoke to, we could get the room changed and had to endure that burnt-food smell for the rest of our 6 day stay. Understanding of English language is poor and a vast communication gap will exist unless u r on a group tour and the tour operator gets someone who's a good translator.

Food is typically Thai - and they r really good at it, I was made to believe - but that's of now use to Indian tastes. Leave Indian, even their continental offers are just average and limited to a scant selection. Their buffet breakfast has a similarly limited menu but works well if u r on a budget. One advice : no matter how hungry or desperate u are, NEVER order their American Fried Rice!! There are some restaurants run by Indian / Pakistani folk close by though, and it's surprisingly easy to get their number from the hotel staff - even though to collect the food ordered from these one has to go the basement coz they can't officially allow outside food to be delivered up front. Weird!!
Location wise this hotel is bang in the center of the city, I believe, and well connected. Most tour operators will collect and drop you from here with no problems. But if u r a tourist looking for fun, or even someone whose sole purpose of visit is just shopping, this is not of any advantage.

Apart from the beautiful view u get at night of the twinkling city sprawled for miles n miles around you. In fact, I'd put that as the ONLY real attraction of this hotel, the views from the top - which also has a big pool (but NO lifeguards so not safe, esp for kids), a large gym (again just functional) and a spa (couldn't try that) - are just amazing at night.

In all, a business hotel that shud be visited strictly for business.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank IntransigentEgotist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had taken a 1BR suite for four people. The rooms were neat and well positioned. Everything worked in the room. The service was good and the staff were courteous. The only fact which was an issue was lack of vegetarian food. There were many Indian families staying and one wished they had served some vegetarian food. The location of the hotel is a little off from downtown Bangkok.

Room Tip: Try the travel desk for attractive deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blpsimha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The view of Bangkok from our room on 15th floor was excellent . the hotel is older but everything is really well maintained and the hotel is spotlessly clean. It has a large sauna and steam room available for 100bht which are attached to the Spa which offers good traditional Thai massage. There is also a large gym but I did not use. The food in the restaurant is excellent and inexpensive. It is not far from the weekend market at Chatuchuk 10 min taxi ride and the outstanding food market at Moochit - Must visit - Best fresh market out of five visited in Bangkok. The Skytrain with links to the MRT is 5mins taxi ride or a 25minute walk on Pradiphat Rd past interesting local shops and food outlets. At night this street comes alive as a street restaurant and is well patronised by locals. It is very easy to explore Bangkok from here using the train and you feel very safe walking in the street at all times of the day.. We travelled as a couple but it would be a great hotel and location for a family to stay in

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
ibis Bangkok Riverside
#168 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Grand Tower Inn Sukhumvit 55
Grand Tower Inn Sukhumvit 55
#400 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Bangkholaem
Grand Tower Inn Sathorn Hotel
Grand Tower Inn Sathorn Hotel
#810 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karnmanee Palace Hotel
#570 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Sukhumvit
Tai-Pan Hotel
Tai-Pan Hotel
#286 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
The Aiyapura Bangkok
#538 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Tower Inn Rama VI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tower Inn Rama VI

Property: Grand Tower Inn Rama VI
Address: 402 Soi Rewadee, Rama VI Rd | Samsennai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sarn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #684 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Tower Inn Rama VI 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Tower Inn Rama VI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Tower Hotel Bangkok
Grand Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing