We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a dump!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River View Guest House
Ranked #322 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“What a dump!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I landed in Bangkok on a quiet Sunday morning and went for breakfast on the rooftop. Easy to find with GPS and the view is stunning, but the place was deserted. My breakfast was ok, apart from the horrible white sliced bread- why no fresh crusty baguette, there's a bakery nearby. Thinking to stay, I looked at a couple of rooms but the whole place seemed shabby and unkempt. Sad drab old industrial building in such a good location: great shame.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    145
    79
    36
    31
See reviews for
22
168
55
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in a young travelers room, which was just build in the stairways. The room was very very hot during the day, but the view was nice. Upstairs, the rooftop bar and view were great! The food in the beautifully renovated rooftop restaurant was a pleasant surprise as well.
A hidden gem. Phon (the afternoon reception lady) was incredibly nice! She wrote down many trips, busses, and other helpful notes in Thai for local bus drivers etc. Really great! Thank you for our pleasant stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Martijn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The personal is perfect, we are extremely happy to choose this one.
Restaurant is the same...we will come back without hesitation.
We have difficulty booking one flight for going on our travel and the person of the welcome office helped you with a very good professionalism, kindness and smile.
Thank you for all.
See you soon...

Room Tip: take the sweet breeze room its wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

One thing I must say about this place is, its not easy to find. The best way to get there is to walk inside(the road is too narrow for taxi anyway) - you will be able to see signboard guiding you along the way. It feels very local. Its about 10 minutes walk from chinatown so you are safe from the hustle and the nearest jetty is about 5 minutes away. You can actually get tickets to Wat Pho etc from there. The rooftop restaurant closes early (I think by 10pm). The view from top is awesome. Nice to hang out here and have your breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vampirus87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Great position, cheap, quiet, safe, on the river, nicely furnished and an amazing rooftop restaurant and bar just upstairs which was open from 730am-11pm daily.
Very close to china town and about 5km squared of street markets, close to central station and the post office. Friendly helpful staff, close to 711 and a really nice feel.
Definitely get aircon as we had 4 fans going and it still felt like a sauna lol

Room Tip: Cheap and really pleasant, definitely get a room with aircon you'll be thankful I told you lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlesueur2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathmanJeff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Outgrown or tired of the freak parade on Khao San Road? Then try this genuine Thai neighborhood hotel. It may be a little hard to find but that's the beauty of it. No touts or tuk tuk drivers bothering you, just everyday life happening around you.

I stay here every time I pass through Bangkok because first and foremost it's safe. And your belongings are safe. The housekeepers are friendly and honest. You could drop 500 baht on the floor and they'd put it on your nightstand. And the front desk doesn't allow anyone to just enter the hotel.

The rooftop restaurant is wonderful and has a great view and the staff up there are really friendly. Good place to hang out either in the sun or under roof. Free Wi-Fi also.

The location is great. As others have said, 15 min. to the train station where you can catch the MRT (underground) which can take you to the airport in an hour, 10 min. to Chinatown, 5 to the river boats, and 8 to the bus stand that takes to you to MBK and Siam Square.

Lots of cool temples in the area also.

The rooms are clean and have fast Wi-Fi. The lobby is brand new and has free internet. And they have great towels, big and fluffy.

The view of the Chao Phraya River is the same you get from the Orchid Sheraton or the Hilton Millennium and maybe better because you can see Wat Arun from River View... for a fraction of the price.

I love the place. Everyone is nice to me and I'll always return.

Room Tip: 6th and 7th floor rooms are the best. City view rooms aren't bad for the price because you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank KathmanJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here three nights in a Young Traveler (400 baht) room. The place is tough to find the first time but we came to like the location. 15 minute walk from hua lamphong, ten minute walk from Chinatown, and five minute walk to the river ferry.

The room was better than other budget rooms we saw if slightly more expensive. Expect no frills. The day staff are both genuinely friendly and helpful but I had an unpleasant impression of the woman I presume to be the boss who was around in the evening. But overall good service. There is though absolutely zero laxity about early checking in or out from all staff.

The big draw is the restaurant with the eponymous view. A great place to hang out though the dishes were priced a bit beyond our admittedly stringent budget.

Overall this Guesthouse is totally worth coming to. I would come back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buckaroobanzai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Bangkok 68
#239 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#281 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cubic Pratunam
#748 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Airy Resort
#409 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#315 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Guest House

Property: River View Guest House
Address: 768 Soi Phanurangsri, Songwad Rd. | Talad Noi, Sampanthawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — River View Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"See.., feel.., and breath REAL Bangkok living." Established in early 1980s, River View Guest House is a family-run budget guest house which offers a truly unique experience. It is hidden among small alleys of Chinatown's Talad Noi area, but it is very famous the breath-taking view over Chao Praya River. Our "River Vibe Restaurant & Bar" is on our rooftop, serves Thai and European menu, extensive cocktail and wine lists, you can enjoy the moment with definitely 7-star view over Chao Praya River. River View Guest House is recognized world-wide and honored to be listed in world's most respectable guide books such as Lonely Planet, Rough Guide, Frommer's, Guide Routard, Fodor's, so as to be named. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your River View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Guest House Hotel Bangkok
River View Hotel
River View Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing