We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
My Bangkok Tours - Day Tours
Save
Review Highlights
Grand Palace and Temple tour

We did a half day tour for this. We had Tanya as our guide, she was amazing. Very informative... read more

Reviewed 2 September 2018
323DianeF
,
Inverness, United Kingdom
via mobile
Fantastic tour guide

We wanted to spend a couple of days in Bangkok, first to visit Hellfire pass/River Kwai bridge, we... read more

Reviewed 16 May 2018
Craig O
Read all 44 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bangkok
from US$75.00
More Info
from US$110.55
More Info
from US$14.05
More Info
from US$5.49
More Info
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
35
8
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
8
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hellfire pass half day tour take photos river kwai bridge floating market great company highly recommend this company grand palace driver
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

We had a great tour. The car was in good condition and nice and clean. The driver, Sam, was very good and was quite adaptable to the itinerary changes due to traffic and time tabling of the train. The guide, Tanya, was very friendly and knowledgeable and had us down to the Hellfire pass via a different track when the regular track was closed for maintenance. We would thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone with a sense of adventure who is interested in getting up close to an area where there was so much death and suffering along with great courage to overcome insurmountable difficulties and survive. The restaurant choosen had an excellent rustic decor. They catered well for vegetarians, the meal was served quickly enabling us to get to train on time. We can't fault the service and care taken of us by Tanya and Sam.

Date of experience: December 2016
2  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Did a half day private tour of royal palace, temples and river.. Tanya our tour guide was lovely and tour was at a leisurely pace. Would highly recommend

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank 764MariaM764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

A short stay but enjoyable & memorable ones. Shopping is heaven, food is delicious although limited to just "halal" one. It's a must repeat vacay

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank tajudin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We were in Bangkok for a couple of days and wanted to fit in a day trip to Hellfire Pass and the bridge over the River Kwai. It's a pretty long way and didn't fancy the stress of trying to get out there and back via train in one day (glad we didn't). I shot an email to My Bangkok Tours and within half an hour (and a bit of back and forth) and the day trip was booked.

Driver picked us up in a car from our hotel in Bangkok and visited both sites mentioned above as well as the Commonwealth war graves. The tour also included a guide, who spoke very good english, although we didn't need her much as we were happy to explore the museum ourselves. It's a big day, 730am start and 7pm back to the home - but well worth doing.

Very happy with the booking process - small deposit payable via bank transfer or paypall.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Philtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Used MBT in November with friends and had great day out with Tanya, so didn't hesitate to use them again in the Easter holidays with our daughter and grandchildren aged 8 and 12. We did 3 trips with Tanya and had a wonderful time.
Day 1. Railway market, floating market, lunch and Rose garden.
We were picked up on time by Tanya and her driver, we had paid a deposit by PayPal and paid balance in cash. Railway market was very interesting and Tanya bought us loads of fresh made snacks to try, and helped the children barter for things they wanted to buy.
Floating market. We had been previously but our family hadn't. Tanya arranged for a private long rail boat to take us along the canals James Bond style - screams of excitement from the children. She asked if we wanted a paddle boat to go around the stalls but we preferred to walk . We had plenty of time to look around and enjoyed a fresh coconut ice cream - Tanya's favourite.
Next lunch at a lovely hotel, excellent food.
Final stop at the Rose Garden Cultural show. Gave the children a great insight into Thai Culture and a fun show for them to watch. We also fed to elephants and watched a short display from them.
Day 2. Kanchanaburi, and river Kwai.
We started our day with a visit to the war graves, very moving and an opportunity for a little education for our grandchildren. Time was tight as we were also going to the museum before catching the train. A few words with Tanya and the itinary was adjusted so we could spend the time we wanted at the cemetery instead of rushing. She arranged for us to visit the museum after the train trip, it was great going over the bridge on the train, Tanya made sure we got seats on what she considered to be the side of the carriage for the views. We went for lunch overlooking the river, great views, food not as good as previous day. After lunch we were able to walk along the track to a cave temple which had been used by prisoners.
We then returned to the bridge over the river Kwai and had time to walk all the way across and take photos. To was followed by a return to the cemetery to visit to museum. It's a small museum but very interesting and educational.
To is a long day out - early start and late return. Kids fell asleep on way back to BK.
Day 3. Fisherman village.
It was a late decision to do this trip, but so glad we did. Pat has told us when we booked to bring some old shorts and T shirts good job we did!!! What a fun day if you don't mind getting very muddy. Tanya enjoyed it as much as us, she had never done some of the things we asked to do. We had a private long tail boat, we were given life jackets to wear. We set off along an inlet with wooden stilt houses along the banks, we were soon in the mangrove area, we had mangrove saplings to plant which aroused the interest of the local monkey population who were soon swimming over to investigate what we were doing. We all got extremely muddy planting these - sunk up to our knees. Tanya said we were the first guests she'd had to do this - she joined in. We then went way out over the cockle beds ok to the estuary to the oyster beds. Lots of little huts on stilts overlooking the cockle beds. Most guests just go for the boat ride and lunch but we decided to skip lunch and do kayaking then came the cockle collecting on a wooden board a bit like a surf board - another thing Tanya wanted to do, and another very muddy activity...
Then back to base and a much needed shower and clean clothes. Fab day out for all the family.
We thought the prices were reasonable, we didn't have to wait around for other tourists, Tanya was happy to answer all the kids questions and ours too.
Well done MBT.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank blushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews