We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the stay”
Review of Samran Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samran Place Hotel
Ranked #375 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the stay”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I got booked this hotel through Thailand Tourism Center at Bangkok. I stayed with my friends and we are 3. Hotel had arranged an additional bed. Service was good and reception was helpful in planning our trip in Bangkok. Communicating in English was bit tough, but the reception guys have managed to help us. Morning breakfast was provided with the stay and it was good even it was not heavy. We had fried rice and noodles; it was close to Indian style. We went to Palace and Sleeping Buddha temple, it would be around 20-30 mins travel from the hotel. Eat street guys can find lots of shops around. Also 7-Eleven shops were there near hotel. It was a good stay and I would recommend.

Room Tip: Select top floors, so that you can have a view of Bangkok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prakash_Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    107
    51
    10
    11
See reviews for
35
68
38
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We were very dissapointed with the hotel, especially the staff. The room is quite old. The breakfast was awful, same food every day. We kept getting the wrong food from the staff, different from what we ordered. When we asked for an additional glass of orange juice, we waited for half an hour but nothing happened and finally we gave up. No kettle in the room. Cloth ironing is not allowed in the room. Aircond is the old model and temperature cannot be adjusted. The a/c was too cold, my baby girl had a flu/running nose because of this. In summary, stay away from this terrible hotel. I wont stay again at this place. Bangkok City Hotel which is is next to this hotel is much more better.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ir_EdieFendie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Overall it was excellent experience, very nice, clean, excellent location.
I requested a baby coat when I booked this hotel but on the day of booking hotel management said we don't have anything for babies. Breakfast was good as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shafaqat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I do not leave reviews and I have stayed in A LOT of hotels travelling over the past 4 weeks in SE Asia. However, I feel this hotel warrants a review.. I was very disappointed with this hotel, mainly the lack of customer service and unhelpfulness of the staff. Ideally its a great location and good value for where it is- 10 mins walk from Siam Square and Siam Discovery/Paragon. The rooms are basic with old television and only 2 English channels but the sta were so unhelpful. Everytime I enquired at the front desk on how to get somewhere- by boat/klongs/metro or skytrain- I was just told "take a taxi'. This was the answer for everything!!! In the end I gave up asking and went to the nearest tour agency who were more than happy to tell me how to get somewhere for FREE. Even asking about where to change money- just told- go find a currency exchange. When my travel adapter broke right before a tour day- I asked the older lady on reception if she would charge it behind the desk for 5 mins whilst I ate my dinner and she refused!! Very disappointed- the food is not worth the money and the breakfast is awful- hard boiled eggs came out raw- don't have them..The computer's are expensive and don't work.. I am back in Bangkok in a couple of weeks and will be staying next door at the Asia Hotel. Really disappointing- no attention to detail and no customer service....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
386 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed in room 803 for 4 nights. Room of average size and able to accommodate an extra bed with enough room to walk. Room faces a road with some construction activities which is quite far away. Room is quiet and clean. Breakfast is ok but may not be enough for people with greater appetite.

Hotel is 15 minutes 'walk to Platinum Mall and 20 minutes to Big C, about 10 minutes to the nearest LRT station.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank new88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Its not a luxury hotel. But the combination of location, price and the very nice staff makes it one of the better ones in Bangkok. The rooms are clean, the wifi is working (good speed). Have tried some other hotels in Bangkok, but if you are looking for a budget one this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malacay66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogor, Indonesia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

check in was brief, taxi driver having problem found the hotel, just say bangkok city hotel and you will be ok. samran just few meters before bangkok city hotel.Room interior pretty old, they still use old tube tv and key for the room. No kettle just complimentary mineral water. price compare to next door hotel slightly expensive. Breakfast buffet was good not fancy but adequate and tasted good.
for booking online you must pay the room online for confirmed booking.

Room Tip: pick the room facing the street or facing MRT dont pick room that facing bangkok city hotel or you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ioks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#716 of 858 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Bangkok City Hotel
#280 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Siam
Nantra Ploenchit Hotel
Nantra Ploenchit Hotel
#722 of 858 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#117 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Siam
Muangphol Mansion
Muangphol Mansion
#736 of 858 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Bangkok City Suite
#550 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samran Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samran Place Hotel

Property: Samran Place Hotel
Address: 302 Petchburi Rd | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Samran Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Bangkok close to business centers, shopping areas and Thai attractions, which makes it prominently convenient for visiting guests to pursue a broad variety of activities for both business and pleasure. We are about five minutes walk to the BTS sky train station and about forty minutes drive to both Suvarnabhumi and Don Muang airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samran Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samran Place Bangkok
Hotel Samran Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing