We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had an awesome 2 nights stay!”
Review of Samran Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samran Place Hotel
Ranked #404 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 20 April 2009

This is one of the better place to stay in Bangkok. Its away from the main city area but once u exit the building turn to your right...and walk a few hundred metres and you shall see a BTS station that can lead you to major places in Bangkok. It's easy to get around to anywhere from here. As a Muslim, its really easy to find Halal food around here. Just beside the hotel there's a shop selling the best Bee Hoon beef noodle I've ever tasted. The soup tasted very good but its just too bad there's not so much Bee Hoon as maybe it's normal for Thai people to eat lesser than people living in my country...and the shop just across the road sells wonderful Tom Yam as well..one of the best I tasted in Bangkok.

Well, i stayed 2 nights in the deluxe room. It was clean and fitted with bath tub...the room was spacious and the hotel staff service were very good. There's a young man who serves us well. We requested for a queen size bed and we got 2 twin beds instead...so we asked for a change. He called down the reception and requested for another room...all done with sincere manner and with willingness to serve. It was a great help and we are thankful for such great service...

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fauzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Samran Place Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2009

We stayed here twice and found this hotel to be good value for money. It's not the most fancy place by any means but was clean and tidy. For breakfast you have to choose from a selection of set menus which does get a bit limited if you stay for long. The location is good as it is just around the corner from the Ratchathewi Sky train station.

There are two coin opererated computers with internet in the lobby. They are quite expensive (10 Baht/5 mins) if you wan't the use the internet for any length of time, but there is an internet cafe nearby.

A good time to judge a place is when things go wrong and the staff did well here. When we stayed in this hotel the second time there were anti government protest which escalated until the city was declared a state of emergency. Some of the fighting was on the street right outside the hotel with sticks, bricks and petrol bombs being thrown. The staff were very concerned for our welfare and apologised for what was going on eventhough it wasn't their fault! We needed to check that the trains were still running as we were going by rail to Nong Khai, and reception staff made some phonecalls on our behalf.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

I stayed at Samran Place 5 nights in February. It was clean and centrally located to shopping region with access to Skytrain. It is ideal for the budget conscious travelers if they can tolerate excessive traffic as well as construction noise day and night. I changed the room three times to escape the noise but it did not work. The breakfast was pretty ordinary. The restaurant serves very mediocre food with added 10% service charge. The staff of the hotel including people at the reception very helpful and courteous.
Shop around for cheaper tours before you book from Samaran.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

I first stayed in Samran 4 yrs ago and have been returning back every year. My parents love the location as it's convenient and the rooms are always clean.

We had Room 704 and Room 305. The only problem we had with our room was on the last day when the toilet ceiling started to leak. It only started at night. It stink but as we were going to be leaving that afternoon at 12pm (and was away in the morning), it wasn't much of an issue. Other than that, the stay was okay.

As for service, service is always with a smile. No problems with staffs even the evening staffs. However some things to highlight.

One, if you leave coins on table or small amount of money. Cleaning staffs would think it is tips. So if you DO NOT intend to give tips, please do not leave it there. Because for some of us, we have tendency to leave small amount as tips cos the staffs are earning much.

Two, there is no safe box. So if you have valuables, please bring your own lock so that you can lock your luaggage when you go out. That's what our family do.

Three, sometimes the staffs "forget" to leave towels. I guess maybe sometimes they expect tips but again, no issues...cos 20 baht isn't that expensive. The fact that the towels they provide is always clean without stain, so 20 baht isn't a big issue. Don't make a big issue out of 20 baht or so...okay?

Four, breakfast menu isn't large. Just simple. I love the fried rice...so does my kids. We always have that for breakfast. If you get tired of breakfast, go out to the A&W or across the road for coffee/breakfast. Food is plentiful.

Hmm...can't remember what else to say. But I love the hotel cleanliness and people.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icebaby0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

Good location - walking distance to MBK, Siam, Pratunam, Tesco Lotus; short cab ride (60B) to Chinatown (200B to airport); near Ratchathewi BTS; 7-11 within 5min in both directions. Massage shop next door is decent (200B), so is roadside stall, cheap (300-400B for 2) n clean food (not those with Karaoke). Decent breakfast in hotel, but staff can be friendlier. Rooms are comfortable, but no kettle, poor water pressure and very limited TV channels. No internet, but what do you expect for less than 1000B/nite? Rooms facing main rd can be noisy.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank woonyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in January 2009 room was very clean fairly small but adequate with very clean bathroom. Room was opposite a half built multi storey block of something or other on which the work had ceased presumably as a result of the credit crunch so for us no problem of noise, The staff were friendly and helpful and when the reception couldn't speak english they would get someone who could. Breakfast was nothing special but for a budget hotel
it was pretty good with as much coffee as we wanted.
Its was about 5 minutes walk from the sky train and there was plenty of hawker food around the place.
Aircon was a bit noisy but then when isn't it.
I would rate this hotel as a best buy budget hotel and would stay there again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank alcachofral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2009

I stayed in Samran Place last February 2008. I forgot to write a review here but thought that I really had to contribute since the reviews here in tripadvisor was really helpful to travellers like me. I chose Samran Place mainly because of the good reviews posted here and was not disappointed. The place was really very clean. We stayed in the 8th floor and maybe because it was February, the weather was not that hot. The building next door was still under construction but there was no contruction noise heard during the night. Unlike other reviews here, the breakfast was great taking into account the low price of the room. Singapore was more expensive.

Service from the reception area was adequate. I think the reception lady mentioned in the earlier reviews was also there but we had minimal interaction with her because she looked snooty. The night receptionist (a man) was alright but not very friendly. The only good exception was the guard who assisted us in getting a cab to the airport on our last day. Hope they read this review and give that night guard a pat on the back!

Since we hardly stayed during the day, we really did not have much contact with the hotel staff. We were just happy that the hotell have such high standard of cleanliness.

Our room (I think No. 808) was really very nice, the decor and style was reminiscent of the 1970's, with the glass doors leading to the terrace, although the view from the terrace should have been facing the other way since the terrace was located beside the building under construction.

The best part was the location of the hotel, near the main street, the MRT, shopping places but was in a much quieter street.

All in all, our stay in Bangkok was really enhanced by this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rohan72008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Bangkok City Hotel
#277 of 879 in Bangkok
1,054 reviews
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#731 of 879 in Bangkok
408 reviews
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
#304 of 879 in Bangkok
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Residence Rajtaevee
Residence Rajtaevee
#374 of 879 in Bangkok
264 reviews
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#341 of 879 in Bangkok
60 reviews
Bangkok City Suite
#636 of 879 in Bangkok
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samran Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samran Place Hotel

Address: 302 Petchburi Rd | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £25 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samran Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Bangkok close to business centers, shopping areas and Thai attractions, which makes it prominently convenient for visiting guests to pursue a broad variety of activities for both business and pleasure. We are about five minutes walk to the BTS sky train station and about forty minutes drive to both Suvarnabhumi and Don Muang airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samran Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samran Place Bangkok
Hotel Samran Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing