We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere in backpackers' central”
Review of Born Free Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Born Free Hostel
Ranked #88 of 1,337 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This place has a real communal atmosphere, and has good access to public transportation. There's an amazing pad thai place around the corner (at 35THB per plate!), and the owners are helpful and friendly. I definitely recommending this place if you don't mind a mixed dorm-style hostel. Also, they don't over-charge on beer :)

Room Tip: Rooms with snorers are loud. I slept in both the AC and fan rooms, and both were good (pay less for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muminmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here twice whilst travelling around southeast Asia and loved it both times. The owners are both amazing. Kevin can speak about 5 languages which is always useful and his wife arranged all our onward travel.
The beds in the dorm are great so I always slept well. There was always stuff going on whether it be a film, going to a blues bar or visiting the local market. My highest recommendation would be to go on the bike tour with Kevin as it gives you a great overview of the city and costs hardly anything.
Had a couple of great nights out on khao San road with ppl from here and its probably our favourite place because we found it so easy to meet ppl there.

Room Tip: I think if you book on hostelbookers you get the air con room, whilst on hostelworld you get the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewisewombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Rooms, beds, showers - everything clean and comfortable. The staff seem to genuinely care about the guests' experience and wellbeing. They can help book further travel, including train/bus tickets, accommodation, activities and tours (probably not the cheapest in town, but immeasurably better than the many, many travel agent scams in Bangkok, and very convenient).

The location near Khao San Road is great for meeting other backpackers but a bit less so for sightseeing. It's just about walking distance from Wat Pho, The Grand Palace, Wat Arun, Wat Saket etc. but the only nearby link to public transport is the river ferry and one bus stop.

Overall, a nice, chilled place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewJCrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Hostel only has offer big dorm rooms, one with aircon and one with fans. We picked one without to save some money, and it was pretty hot room, but before we checked in we go chance to switch to room with aircon, but we choose not, so no-one else to blame than us. Room was very clean and tide, bathrooms properly washed everyday. There weren't enough space for lockers in the room, but lockers were provided outside of the rooms. Lobby was cozy and inviting, but dark all times. Couple running the place were part of the hostel character, she was specially very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mambochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Born Free is an excellent Hostel. It was our first port of call when we arrived to Thailand and it is excellent. The place is very clean, with great facilities but most importantly it is a very chilled and welcoming place to stay. Kev the owner is a brilliant guy who was very accomodating even when one of our party disturbed him during the night.
The Hostel is close to Koh San Road but just far enough away that you feel like your staying in the real city of Bangkok.
The hostel is a fantastic place to meet people, the people we met in our 3 nights there were people we kept bumping into throughout the rest of our time in Thailand even when we were over 400miles away.
Lastly Wasana (Kev's Girlfreind) runs a absloutley fantastic travel agency, she went out of her way to sort us an amazing itineary for our time in Thailand with every place she booked us being amazing in quality and value. She even planned all our travel down to the smallest detail making our time completley stress free and easy.
If your going to Thailand make this Hostel your first port of call it is definatley 5*

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveWalsh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hostel was great from the friendly owners to the location and the rooms. Everything was really clean and all the beds have access to little pockets and night lights which is handy. They have sturdy lockers to keep all of your valuables and Kevin does cycle tours in the evening. Its a stones throw away from Khao San Road (5-10mins) but quieter to sleep. It really was an oasis away from the madness of Bangkok! I met some great people here and you won't find nicer, more helpful owners. A fantastic stay that is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephandJosh16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Ive been backpacking in SE Asia for 6 months and can say hands down Born Free has been one of, if not THE best hostel experiences i have had thus far. Bangkok can be crazy and i usually am only in town for a day or two en route to another location, but Born Free made me want to spend time in Bangkok. The couple who run the place are SOLID. I was constantly given suggestions on better places to go, cheaper ways to get there, etc which is clutch while backpacking in a big city. Just the feel of the place is the best part. Im no raging 19 year old so sometimes hostels can really ware me out. But i was in a 10 bed dorm and slept soundly everynight, met other chill travelers, and really enjoyed myself. They had a movie night in the hostel one night and we pretty much all stayed in to hang out and watch, which would never happen in some of the other raging hostels ive visited. And beyond that the spirit of the place is just solid. There are bikes available to ride around on for free, there is beer available at the hostel that is a couple cents more expensive than a 7-11 instead of 3x the price. Like i said above, i can be picky sometimes, but Born Free really nails it on all fronts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank achaysay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Sabye Club Hostel
Sabye Club Hostel
#69 of 1,337 in Bangkok
142 reviews
Banglamphu
Samsen 360 Hostel
Samsen 360 Hostel
#56 of 1,337 in Bangkok
102 reviews
Banglamphu
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
#27 of 1,337 in Bangkok
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
The Oasis Hostel
The Oasis Hostel
#24 of 1,337 in Bangkok
293 reviews
Silom
Old Town Hostel Bangkok
Old Town Hostel Bangkok
#15 of 1,337 in Bangkok
257 reviews
Silom
Glur Bangkok Hostel
Glur Bangkok Hostel
#25 of 1,337 in Bangkok
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Born Free Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Born Free Hostel

Address: Samsen soi 6, Soi Woraphong, Bangkok, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 1,337 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: £8 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing