We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will go back there!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Joe Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Joe Guest House
Ranked #230 of 604 Bangkok B&B and Inns
sarahbcn
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Will go back there!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My room was plain and simple but very clean and the mattress was excellent!!!
Located just off Koh San Road (good location for backpackers, probably not the best though) but not too noisy, very friendly and helpful staff, good services.
Not the cheapest but still very cheap compared to western prices, but worth it seeing the dumps you can find in Bangkok...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sarahbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    30
    49
    20
    16
See reviews for
8
44
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked an A/C room for four nights, and ended up leaving after one. The staff was pretty indifferent. The food was extremely overpriced and not very good. We had to kill a cockroach immediately upon entry. The A/C was like a cat sneezing on you. The room was dank and dirty. There was dirt on the bed sheets! It seemed like a room from a horror film based in an abandoned hospital, except that instead of creepy violin music, you heard loud, thudding bass until 4am. This is a place for kids to pass out after drinking too much at Khao San Rd, nothing more. You can get much, much better for cheaper, even if you walk 5 minutes up to Samsen Rd.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

This is a good place to stay. We booked a double room with fan and hot water but there was an ac unit in there. So switched that on. Lovely. Free A/C.

But we saw a lot of cock roaches downstairs by the kitchen and my girlfriend saw a rat. Besides that and the building work next door its not too bad.

Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

This is perfect place for the right kind of person going super cheap. For a family, I definitely wouldn't go any cheaper! Next time we stay in Bangkok, I will avoid this tourist trap area like the plague and stay somewhere a little bit nicer. It was recommended to us by someone we should have realized was a little grungier. But what do you want for 400 baht ($12)?

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Not clean, dark & dingy, hottest room I've stayed in, the best part about the hotel is the restaurant bar. And it's only good for meeting people, stay somewhere else. Terrible staff, location right off koh San.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlixandraL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

I just spent 4 nights in NJ's - and can't really complain about anything. It's a guesthouse where you get a room for less then USD 20 - and that's the benchmark I am judging it by. The room was relatively clean (new painting wouldn't hurt, but didn't offend me), there were no bugs in/under the beds and the A/C worked. Toilet/shower combo was worn, but very clean (to my sincere surprise).

I found the staff really nice and friendly - always ready to help and/or advice. They have a small travel agency in the reception area and the girls are able to help out with anything you need - day trips around BKK, transport elsewhere, visa and/or a 130baht transfer to the airport (better book a day in advance though).

What I ended up loving about the place was the restaurant - the food was excellent and the cooks were sweet (quite unlike the waiter guys who were sadly so inapt that I couldn't believe it was the same establishment... but hey, it's holiday so why stress yourself over a slow service... it's not like I was in some sort of rush anyway ;)). The entire restaurant area serves as a wifi hangout for the travelers since there is no wifi in the rooms, which makes up for a nice atmosphere (okay, I must admit that after 4 days, I was totally ready to tell them that they should expand their Norah Jones and Jack Johnson playlists ;))

Location-wise, it was great as you could easily do all the major sites (Grand Palace + Wat Pho, Wat Arun, Golden Mount ) by walk/tuktuk. Plus there is the Khao San Road and Rambuttri Streets just around the corner with all their markets and bars and restaurants. Plus there is a bunch of really nice massage places and a bigger 7/11 just a couple of meters out of the guest house. All-in-all everything one should need :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KachkaUmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Don't go for that guesthouse in Bangkok, there are some much better rooms for the same price. The room was in a completely decrepit state, moist on the walls, paint coming off. The ceiling is very low which gives the impression you are in a shoe box. The bathroom was tiny and dirty as was the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SanderAndMarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Bangkok Boutique Hotel
Bangkok Boutique Hotel
#572 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Banglamphu
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
#80 of 1,128 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Banglamphu
At Home Guest House
At Home Guest House
#413 of 1,128 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Sakul House
Sakul House
#94 of 604 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Banglamphu
Nitan Hostel Khaosan
Nitan Hostel Khaosan
#100 of 1,128 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Banglamphu
Khaosan Park Resort
Khaosan Park Resort
#131 of 604 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Joe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Joe Guest House

Property: New Joe Guest House
Address: 81 Trokmayom Chakrapongse Rd | Taladyod, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 604 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your New Joe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Joe Guest House Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing