We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly staff! Good base for Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Joe Guest House
Ranked #280 of 650 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Really friendly staff! Good base for Bangkok”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hostel is located in a perfect location, close by everything! Had some difficulty finding it when we first got dropped off though! Walking distance to everything and staff are willing to help when you need it! Food is very nice here too just wish I had ate here more.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    31
    49
    21
    17
See reviews for
8
46
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kremnica, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This guesthouse is hidden behind Khao San Road and tiny side aisles leading there looks a bit scary and dangerous. Once you reach guest house you go through the restaurant and bar with tables, fans and some greenery. So it is giving you a glimpse of relief and peace in otherwise crazy Khao San jungle. WIFI is available for free only here (not in the rooms). Food is VERY tasty but portions could be bigger. Receptionist does not understand well sometimes and it very depends who is on duty because I met very nice staff here as well as bored and annoying. In the corner of reception there a local travel agency offering many cool trips in Southeast Asia (can provide you with many useful information). You can choose (according to a price) from AC and NON AC rooms as well as room with a fan. No lift in the guesthouse so it is better to take a room on the first floor if your luggage is heavy. Guesthouse is right after reconstruction so rooms look nicer than before but still cheap (very basic and simple). So it is just a question of time when the rooms are going to need reconstruction again. Walls are decorated with paintings trying to evoke Thai atmosphere. There was hot water BUT water was not flowing out so while having a shower you are standing in the water constantly. It is really just place to sleep (even if you are not going to sleep much because of noise) so if you are looking for some trendy and warm place with atmosphere do not go for this one. At the other hand it is right in the center of backpacking area of Bangkok and more quiet (as it is hidden) than some other guest houses around.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majzitka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for only one night and was glad i did. The location is good, right next to kao san rd, the staff was very unfriendly and the wifi didnt work in our room. The building is all grey and the lights is the most basic you can find what results in a very unpleasant hostel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LexBeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We arrived in Koh San Road, backpacking area and for first night we did not book a hotel. We found this place, the facilities are good but the bedroom has no air con and no hot water. We stayed elsewhere second night. The staff was friendly and the restaurant and bar area was nice and floral, with free wifi, but the bed was basic and just a room fan. Average, not too bad location though.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Well all was fine until our second to last night when the guy on the desk pulled a GUN out on us.
Ran upstairs packed up all our stuff went downstairs to the police being there, we did nothing wrong. Had our friend with us which I think was the problem but he was always going to wait downstairs.
As soon as we got there was greeted by miserable staff and the restaurant service is so poor, the food is gross. No wifi in the room so poor for the amount of money. Found a much better place on Khoasan road.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We booked our stay at New Joe Guesthouse via e-mail, the contact was good. When we arrived late at night, after 10 p.m., our reservation was still valid, which was nice. The room was cheap for Bangkok standards, but not very nice. The bathroom was tiny, a bit dirty and the water heater was broken. The staff was helpful (they let me take a warm shower in another room), but apart from that I was under the impression that they didn't care whether we'd stay or not.
Generally we got what we paid for, nothing more, nothing less. It was ok for one night, but I wouldn't stay there for longer.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor are much nicer, but also more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Setsunka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this place to people back-packing around Thailand. I went with a few mates and it was good. The prices are fair and the staff is friendly and helpful. Its not a 5 star hotel or anything but for a back-packer on a budget its great cause you don't spend too much time in your room. You really only leave your bag there, sleep there and wash there and it provides all those things. Its really close to Khoasan road which is great cause Khosan road is where all the fun is. I recommend it theres free wi-fi

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank hellotheredarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
#92 of 1,210 in Bangkok
75 reviews
Banglamphu
Nitan Hostel Khaosan
Nitan Hostel Khaosan
#97 of 1,210 in Bangkok
53 reviews
Banglamphu
Green House BKK
Green House BKK
#59 of 650 in Bangkok
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Panee Lodge
Panee Lodge
#443 of 650 in Bangkok
40 reviews
Banglamphu
Khaosan Park Resort
Khaosan Park Resort
#131 of 650 in Bangkok
115 reviews
Banglamphu
No photo provided
Siri Poshtel Bangkok
#599 of 1,210 in Bangkok
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Joe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Joe Guest House

Property: New Joe Guest House
Address: 81 Trokmayom Chakrapongse Rd | Taladyod, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 650 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your New Joe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Joe Guest House Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing