We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but good”
Review of K.T. Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
K.T. Guest House
Ranked #102 of 707 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stayed here for one night during transit between bus and train.
The room was clean and spacious enough. The bed was very soft but clean. Wifi didn't work in the room, I had to use it in the lobby and still had to pay the 40 Baht for it. Air con worked fine but the temperature can not be adjusted, so it's eather pretty cold or pretty warm. Breakfast in the restaurant was ok but a little bit expensive for the quality. At night and in the morning you can hear some noise from the street but as long as you are not a really light sleeper it should not be a problem.
The whole building is kind of old and a little bit worn out but still more than acceptable. I didn't use the pool but it seemed pretty clean.
The neighborhood is pretty dark at night and there are not too many restaurants to go to.
You should definitively print the map for the taxi, otherwise I would have probably never gotten there. Getting a taxi on the next morning took almost 30 minutes as there were not many driving though the Soi. Keep that in mind, when being in a hurry.
Given the price, the guesthouse provides very good value, especially when travelling with two people. I would not stay there if I wanted to tour the city but for transit it is more than ok.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel has become our family favourite whenever we're in Bangkok. It's great value, the staff are friendly and helpful, there's a pool to play in if you've got free time, it's not too far from the airport and a short taxi ride from big malls like MBK, but in a quieter area. The restaurant food is well priced and tastes amazing - all compliments to the chef! The tom yum soup is seriously the best we've tasted anywhere in Thailand, and all the curries and stir fries we've tried are equally impressive. There's also a 7/11 very close for any quick needs (like icecreams). We'd highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank courtstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

KT is still a nice place off the noisy tourist race in Bangkok. It is close to the subway and to Don Muang airport. Nice little pool, good beds and everything is clean. Staff is helpful and friendly. The food is excellent, one has to try it.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Guenterdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My friends and I have stayed at the KT a few times over the last few years
It is in a quiet area of Bangkok and not very far from the old Bangkok airport (Don Mueang) which of course is now popular with many budget airlines.
So if you are on an overnight stop in Bangkok and flying out of Don Mueang this place would be a good option as its a short and easy cab ride to the airport.
It is also about a 15 minute walk to the Subway station as well if you want to venture into the city.
If you want a place very close to shopping and night life then this is probably not a good choice but if you want a quiet oasis away from the madness of the city its a good location to child out.
The rooms are basic but large and clean and the service is always friendly
For the modest room prices I think its good value particularly considering they have a nice pool on site which is very hard to get in this price range.
The cooked breakfast was also OK, and they have a nice little restaurant and bar on the ground floor,
They are currently building an extension to the hotel next door but there was no noise during the night or early morning while I was there.
Overall I think the KT is a good budget option for a couple of days if you like something quiet and a bit different to the normal tourist hotel, its just a nice old style Thai family run guest house,

Room Tip: There are no elevators in the building and its about 4 stories but the Pool is located on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Baz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

One of the best features of this place is the cleanliness, every part of it. The place is simple without much fan fair, theres a great pool, very little noise, comfy beds and a descent restaurant with some very good dishes - Tom Yum "yum". The staff are bordering on shy, but pleasant and helpful if you ask :) One of my favourite things is how its in a neighbourhood removed from the core of the city, yet that core is quickly reached, The MRT (subway) is only a 15ish minute walk through a great fresh street market where only locals can be found browsing, its authentic Bangkok. Seriously, unless they're guests of KT you won't find a foreigner. In the evening all that disappears and the streets transform into a lively shopping area with restaurants overflowing onto the street. The weekend market, Jatujak is only 5 stops north, and the core of Bangkok, beginning with Asok, only few stops in the opposite direction. Its perfectly located, and a respite from the cacophony of your day out. Bliss after a hard day out and about in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRecek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have stayed here several times since first finding this place in 2010. The food is really exceptional quality. We always look forward to eating here. It has a nice pool on the second floor and the location is in a quiet area within the city. We like the walk through the street market on the way to the subway from the GH. It is like a real taste of the local life and the Thai culture. I admit that you can work up a sweat with a backpack, but if that is a worry for you take a moto from the subway to the GH or take a short (5 or so minutes) taxi ride, easily acquired at the front of the lobby, to either the subway or to the skytrain, which takes you direct to the airport terminal. If you know Bangkok at all you will know that the subway will take you to the skytrain with just a short 5 minute walk between the two terminals. The skytrain will also take you to the terminal by the river taxi where you can ride the river taxi to the palace or Khao San road, if you want to see the travellers from around the world. One stop on the subway from the GH there is a 10 or 12 theatre mega plex in a 5 or so story mega mall for those looking for a few things, or want to watch a new release at the theatre. To us, once discovered, the KT Guest House is a quiet oasis for a reasonable price. This last visit I actually had the time to chat with the owner and asked a few quetions about the new addition that they are starting to work on. The new addition for those who have never been here before is where the old house was next to the GH. It will be 5 stories with an elevator, where the main GH only had stairs. The new addition will also include a new garden area for guests to relax or to just put your feet up and read a book.

One thing that should be noted is that the owner has very reasonable prices and you must pay in cash. If you don't have cash there is an atm near the 7 eleven store only 50 meters away. The price is kept low even though many others have been raising prices so as to offer every guest the price range and services they would like to pay for. For example why should everyone pay for the cost of tv if you don't use it and the same goes for the wifi in the room. This way only those who use it pay for it. There is wifi in the lobby and dining/bar area. The only point that I have is that the internet on the computer offered in the hotel can add up if you plan to spend a great deal of time on the internet. I could be wrong, but I think the first ten minutes was $1. Not really a big deal, but I used the internet a lot and each time you go on you pay the initial rate and then after that it goes down substantially. I purchased my first smart phone in the airport departures duty free as planned long before, so this may not be an issue for me anywhere again. On a side note, buying it duty free is the only way to go. Saved well over $100 in normal taxes anywhere else.

Back to the owner and the GH. This place is clean, rooms are basic with aircon and balcony, but okay. If you want a chocolate or flower pedals on your bed I am sure you can pay more for your room somewhere else and bet the extras you like. The owner built this GH/hotel with an open concept and decided to continue this trend in the new building development. Not cramming rooms in to make money, but when you see the hotel the rooms all have an outside window and the central area is open all the way to the top floor. It keeps the hotel cool and excellent airflow throughout. If you don't mind the 15 minute walk to the subway this is a highly recommended place to sort of get away from it all and the food is exceptional or take the moto taxi just 2 or 3 minutes to the subway. The menu is absolutely full of selctions. You will never run out of new tasty options.

Room Tip: Pool is on the second floor if that is important to you. There will be construction ongoing on the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tws4nr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed here a few times over the years, my choice in Bangkok. The area is just like your regular Thai neighborhood up and down the country. Having a pool, air con and a bar with good prices on site makes this my first choice every time I head to BKK.

Room Tip: The walk to the MRT Huai Kwang is a bit far, but there are regular buses at the entrance to the soi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jake E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Din
Bangkok 68
Bangkok 68
#282 of 883 in Bangkok
345 reviews
Siamaze Hostel
#4 of 1,299 in Bangkok
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 883 in Bangkok
8,445 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K.T. Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K.T. Guest House

Address: Soi Inthamara 44, | Din Daeng, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Din
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 707 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
k.t. Guest House Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing