We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muangphol Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Muangphol Mansion
Ranked #722 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Location was great, just next to MBK and BTS. Room was okay, clean but there were this odd smell (don't know was it mold or something else).There wasn't remote control for the AC so we had to sleep without it.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Leena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    24
    68
    18
    15
See reviews for
17
43
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lhasa, Tibet
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

You can't beat the location, probably the best reason to stay here. Very close to MBK, Arts and Culture Centre, BTS, 7/11, street stalls.

The first room we checked in had some funny smell from the bathroom, the second one was much better.

Good value: THB 980 per day for a double room (type B) with private shower room and wifi.

Helpful?
Thank PazuSpinn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
The Gorge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

I stayed here in '06 and '12. The price was right. I always travel on a budget. The room is basic but the location is perfect. The National Stadium BTS Skytrain is right out the front door. Funny thing, I stayed there on 4 different occasions and was assigned the same room every time! During the most recent trip we stayed on the same road for $16 per night but Muanphol at $28 per night was superior. The front desk could use some lessons in customer service, but I eventually won them over.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Non_Reving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

Arrived here in the wee hours after an overnight bus from Phuket back in 2010. Unfortunately they didn’t let me check in early but were happy to hand over the free wi-fi password to while away the hours till a room became available. Situated in the ‘modern’ part of Bangkok, surrounded by large shopping malls, this hotel gave a different feel to the city than the Khao San Road area most backpackers frequent. Decent enough for the price but no endearing features.

Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Richhufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayong, Thailand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

First time I stayed at this place, and its in a great location in the middle of Bangkok. A few minutes walk to the BTS and u can get to the rest of Bangkok really easy. Close to the biggest mall around, MBK and only one station from Paragon as well. The rooms are quite simple, but most importantly, clean. It has the amenities I needed, such as hot water, aircon and of course Wifi. The aircon is of the simple type though, only an on and off switch. Cannot change the temperature or anything, and its a bit loud, especially if you are unlucky and get one right next to your bed in pillow height. The food from the hotel was okey, but don't expect wonders. The beds are a bit hard, so it took a few night sleeps to get used to it. And the rooms do not have safetybox, but the reception provides with a box if needed. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Overall I was okey with this place, and I am sure I will return again.

Room Tip: If you get a room with aircon mounted on the floor next to bed, change room. Its a challenge to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Everdeen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
All over the place
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

I've stayed in this place 3 years in the roll when I pass by Bangkok. It's very basic, but clean and right next to mbk mall and the mrt station. The staff have always been fairly friendly and pleasant, but the last time I went though the hotel staff tried to con me into paying a higher price for my taxi ride to the airport.

Me to hotel staff (in English): I need a taxi to the airport.
Hotel staff to taxi driver (following conversation is in Thai): how much to airport?
Taxi driver: 400 baht.
Hotel staff to taxi driver: You should tell her 500.
Taxi driver: ok.
Hotel staff to me: It's 500 baht.
Me: I can understand Thai.

There are a number of hotels in the same alley and I think I will go to another one next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheilapoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

The only thing thats good is the location, if youre looking for shopping. the building and rooms are terrible, not very clean, and the stuff are not realy friendly or helpful. it seems like its an old business building that was converted to a guest house.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naama_ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Nantra Ploenchit Hotel
Nantra Ploenchit Hotel
#677 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#698 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Samran Place Hotel
#382 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#124 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
#160 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Siam
Hua Chang Heritage Hotel
Hua Chang Heritage Hotel
#147 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muangphol Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muangphol Mansion

Property: Muangphol Mansion
Address: 931/9 Soi Kasemsan 1, Rama 1 Road | Patumwan, Bangkok 10330 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #722 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Muangphol Mansion 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Muangphol Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muangphol Mansion Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing