We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but too expensive”
Review of Muangphol Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Muangphol Mansion
Ranked #748 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Average but too expensive”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Great location, maybe one of the best you get in Bangkok, but the Muangphol Mansion is simply too expensive for what it is offering. We booked ahead for just one night and payed 980 Baht. As we were on a backpacker budget trip, once arrived we looked for alternative accomodations in the same road and there are quite a few offering nearly the same standard but for half the price. Just ask around!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    26
    68
    19
    18
See reviews for
19
45
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

You can get better hotels in Bangkok at this price.
The hotel staff was rude.
The only good thing was that the National Stadium BTS was at walking distance.
Siam Discovery is at 5 minutes distance ( Madam Tussauds 'Bangkok is in this mall )

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LonelyMusafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Bandung, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Me and my friend stayed there on early February 2013. It was a nice surprise when we found the hotel not more than 5 minutes walking from the BTS National Stadium, we did not get any trouble to find the location. We save much money, since hotel is walking distance to MBK, Siam Paragon, Siam Square, Siam Discovery, Bangkok Art & Culture Centre and for other non walking distance location, just go to BTS National Stadium then the train will send you where ever you like to explore in Bangkok such as JJ Market, Chao Praya area, etc. Spent 3 days in Bangkok, and 2 nights stay in this Hotel is memorable, their staffs are nice, helpful, and understand English.. when you visit new place which linguistic and alphabetically you don't understand, someone who can understand English is most important, trust me :). We got full amenities in bath room, got nothing wrong in bed room. The hotel is good for us who like to spend holiday with low budget, basic facility but that was all we need.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank copy_copy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I didn't book this hotel personally, my friend made the arrangements. I would not stay again. Very simple, they don't offer soap or shampoo, the bathroom isn't fully enclosed, so when you're doing your business in the bathroom, if you have guest in your room they can hear and smell what's going on. I wouldn't recommend their restaurant downstairs since there are several food stalls with better food and prices just a short walk away. Over all if you're just looking for a place to rest your head and plan on being alone, it's ok. I have been to Bangkok several time and there are much better hotels with the same rate.

Room Tip: Lower level room, elevators are super slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercredy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were sent to this place after Wendy 's guesthouse mistakenly overbooked and used this place as an overflow. Wendy's guesthouse booked the room and apologized for any inconvenience. We came into the guesthouse rather late so we did not notice the room until the morning. The place is old, and needs a facelift. Yes it is a good location, but there are quite a few places on this street and around the corner which offer a better place for the same price. If you need a place to crash for the night, then leave in the morning than this is ok. The air con vents were dirty and it caused a lot of sneezing and sinus problems, which cleared up after we left the guesthouse. We also noticed a funny smell. There is a fridge, 2 bottles of water, hair dryer, and free wifi. The street is noisy when the tuk tuks drive by. Would this be a first, second, third or fourth choice next time I am in the area? No.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stay for 3 days, this hotel has a great location really close to MBK mall, Siam paragon mall and also BTS/MRT just walk a view minute and you get there, also in this hotel area is not hard for me if I want to find a halal food I just go to MBK mall and I can find more than 3 restaurant with halal certificate and is not that expansive, or if you want to go a round Bangkok you can take MRT/BTS from siam station is connected to every places in Bangkok. So if you need a very basic budget hotel with a good location I recommend you to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: pick hotel room with a big windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ematyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Location was great, just next to MBK and BTS. Room was okay, clean but there were this odd smell (don't know was it mold or something else).There wasn't remote control for the AC so we had to sleep without it.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Leena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
#156 of 867 in Bangkok
1,465 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#99 of 867 in Bangkok
2,119 reviews
Siam
Residence Rajtaevee
Residence Rajtaevee
#375 of 867 in Bangkok
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Nantra Ploenchit Hotel
Nantra Ploenchit Hotel
#735 of 867 in Bangkok
52 reviews
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#119 of 867 in Bangkok
349 reviews
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muangphol Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muangphol Mansion

Property: Muangphol Mansion
Address: 931/9 Soi Kasemsan 1, Rama 1 Road | Patumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #748 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Muangphol Mansion 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Muangphol Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muangphol Mansion Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing