We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miami-love it or hate it!!”
Review of Miami Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Miami Hotel
Ranked #421 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This is a sleezy hotel. I like it like that! Please don't stay here if you are a family or an uptight farang couple. Staff has improved...especially the Burmese pool boys! The old maid on the second floor is a problem. She will wake you up (hello, I just went to bed!) and beg for a tip. When we didn't tip her, she was extremely rude...pounded on the door at 11 am.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nevillebartos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights as we had to stop in Bangkok for a few days. We found the hotel in the Lonely Planet guide and I'm glad we stayed here. The room was large enough, and we were very excited to have a bath (after two months of traveling and only coming across cold showers!). There was a television with plenty of channels, although there were only a few English channels which were both news. The hotel also has a pool which was lovely to be in given the heat of Bangkok. When it came time for us to move on the hotel staff also helped us to sort out further travel arrangements, and we found them useful and helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navytaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

the hotel is at Nana very near to the shopping .very old hotel .I would not advice this hotel.The lift is switched off in the nights .To much light and one cannnot sleep well
The rooms are big but very very basic.However all the entertainments are near walking distance

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank csrao57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We spent some time in Bangkok as my wife had to have surgery for her sinus problems whilst we were on our 2 month holiday in Thailand. We found the Miami hotel advertised on the bottom of a curry house leaflet where we all ate some days before. The price for two adults and one child was 1200 bahts & the marketing on the leaflet was fantastic. We checked in and the staff seemed very unfriendly and hostile. When we got to our room on the third floor, the first thing we noticed were the vintage air conditioner units blasting away like rocket engines. They had no controls on them so I presume they were operated from the reception desk. The beds were very soft and uncomfy, I awoke at around 1am the following morning with something sharp sticking in my back. My daughter and myself were covered in bites from bugs or some insects. I awoke my wife (who is Thai) and asked her to telephone down to the reception to change the room. The Phone in our room did not work, but just crackled. We all got up and decided to go down to the reception. The lift did not work so we took the stairs. We saw 60’s signs saying Love, peace etc. The lady at the reception desk argued with me about changing the room and said we would have to wait until the morning. My wife spoke in Thai and the receptionist got a porter to change our room. The second room was even worse. Lights held on by one thread of wiring, fridge did not work, beds soft and uncomfy and a Whirling / Grinding noise coming from the Air-conditioning units that had no controls on them. I could not wait until the morning when we all checked out.

We asked a taxi driver to take us somewhere and he recommended the Star Suite on 81 Sukhumvit Soi 15 . For 1100 bahts for three of us it was the best value accommodation in Bangkok for luxury , good customer service. I wished we found out about this place first

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukwildcatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

I don't mind a few cockroaches for a genuinely cute cheap hotel with personality. But you've GOT to have hospitality as part of the package. Owner (30 to 40 year old Chinese guy)isn't friendly and is so avaricious (greedy). Many lovely staff members - too bad!- but this guy left a bad taste in mouth.

Otherwise the please had everything going for it if you don't mind compromising certain things for a good price. A greedy unfriendly owner is not a place I can compromise, dangit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paisleygeisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

The lady owner and her unprofessional staff should be ashamed of themselves for the service they give there customers. Do yourself a big favor and Stay away from here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Highboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We haven't stayed in Miami hotel for a couple of years.
We've first stayed in Miami hotel in 1988. I don't know how may times we've stayed there. Sometimes with a group of 12 friends.
But since our children grew up their mindset was changing and they started disliking it. So, when in Bangkok, we moved to the Ambassador or the Zenith.
And this is what I do: Every time when we are in Bangkok I just enter the place to check if everything is still in place.
And that is exactly what I like about Miami. It hasn't changed for decades. And on the corner of Soi. 13 Sukhumvit the lady still knows what drinks I like best and Young Lee and his family still run the restaurant on the corner of Soi. 15. Nostalgic?
Maybe! But I still like this place very much becaus of its old world charm.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palmfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Ruamchitt Travelodge
Ruamchitt Travelodge
#710 of 887 in Bangkok
50 reviews
Sukhumvit
Best Comfort
Best Comfort
#640 of 887 in Bangkok
202 reviews
Sukhumvit
Ruamchitt Hotel
Ruamchitt Hotel
#406 of 887 in Bangkok
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Bunk Sukhumvit 11 Business Inn
Bunk Sukhumvit 11 Business Inn
#737 of 887 in Bangkok
7 reviews
Sukhumvit
The Euro Grande Hotel
The Euro Grande Hotel
#558 of 887 in Bangkok
194 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#304 of 887 in Bangkok
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Hotel

Address: 2 Soi 13 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#69 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £23 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Miami Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Miami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing