We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel not good but decent location”
Review of Miami Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Miami Hotel
Ranked #679 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hotel not good but decent location”
Reviewed 17 March 2008

Relatively cheap for the location but you get what you pay for: rooms and general hotel are not too clean, staff are not friendly. I would not stay here again but would look for something in the area...

  • Stayed March 2004, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mat789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    46
    59
    26
    32
See reviews for
16
26
65
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2007

I stayed here long term, cheap enough and the rooms ok if rather seedy but the unexpected added expenses and the joy they take in collecting them made the whole experience not worth while. They are simply extremely unpleasant staff. I also couldn't get my bond back and Im sure no one does. Still cheap but not much fun.

  • Liked — cheap
  • Disliked — staff rude and devious
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BKKBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2007

For only 800 baht/night in a pretty good location, you don't expect too much. The review in the Lonely Planet seem pretty good. I walked infrom the street and viewed a room; clean and really not bad so I made a reservation for the following week.

When I arrived, they ask for the first night cash up front, and THEN they stamp the receipt NO REFUNDS. When I got to my room, I realized why. It was sub-standard, nothing like what they showed me the week before. The matress was horrible, lumpy with no support. The television had no english stations, and was in bad shape. They don't even give you a bottle of fresh water.

The staff was indifferent.

Nice pool though, a flower inside a turd. But it is still a good location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The mattress, the condition of the room, the staff indifference
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cooljohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozzie in Asia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2007

This hotel was bad when I stayed there for the first time in 1989, so my expectations were not high when I stayed there again last year. It's not just that the rooms are in an appalling state, what makes this place the absolute pits is the attitude of the staff, several of whom are members of the owning family. Whatever you do, don't ever even think about staying on the ground floor. One night, it rained heavily and when i got back to my room it was knee-deep in flood water which had surged up from a mains drain. My possessions were floating around with bits of sewage! The receptionist said they would put me in another room for the night. The following day the room had been "drained" but not disinfected. When I asked them if they would disinfect the room a member of the owning family said that they would use disinfectant if I went to buy it from the local supermarket. Even though I had payed for several days in advance I checked out and I would never go back there again, not for all the tea in China.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank ozzie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2007

Fairly good considering the price and the excellent location. I was there in 1975 and 1976, nothing had changed, quite amazing.

  • Liked — Its location, its old fashioned style
  • Disliked — ----
  • Stayed July 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LéonParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 April 2006

The rate of 800 bucks is more than it's worth for even if it was cleaned.
We came 0400 AM and asked specificly of the rate for only one day since we would leave at 10PM. The manager answered 800 bath, we payed and got a receipet. while coming back after a long day in town to get a shower before getting to the airport the day-manager claimed us for another 800bath saying that WE made a mistace! Since we've gone over the check out time at noon we should pay again. He wouldn't agreed that the mistace was made by the hotel, instead he sat with his armes crossed and called us idiots and morons and was screaming all the time. We wouldn't get the key if we didn't pay up.
It was the worst experiance of hotel staying we even seen.
Stay out of there!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 February 2006

Hotel is a complete tourist trap, mainly because its in the lonely planet guide.

Shouldn't be more than 300 baht per night, they charged me 800 baht, for the same price you can stay at the woraburi hotel - speaks for itself.

I am no hotel snob, i stayed in lots of budget accomodation however found this place to be a dive, its the way the pretend its a luxury hotel then you discover the rooms have around 4 different carpets put together to cover the shabbey floor lights hanging from ceilings, etc etc.

Would be a great wee place for budget travellers if if cost backpackers money,, i certainly wouldnt pay any more than 500 baht a night for it, and thats pushing it

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Ruamchitt Hotel
Ruamchitt Hotel
#489 of 858 in Bangkok
114 reviews
Sukhumvit
Bunk Sukhumvit 11 Business Inn
Bunk Sukhumvit 11 Business Inn
#721 of 858 in Bangkok
7 reviews
Sukhumvit
Ruamchitt Travelodge
Ruamchitt Travelodge
#572 of 858 in Bangkok
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Best Comfort
Best Comfort
#475 of 858 in Bangkok
188 reviews
Sukhumvit
The Manhattan Sukhumvit Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Grand Business Inn
Grand Business Inn
#367 of 858 in Bangkok
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Hotel

Property: Miami Hotel
Address: 2 Soi 13 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #679 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Miami Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Miami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing