We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, convenient, well placed.”
Review of Pranee Building

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pranee Building
Ranked #230 of 691 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Don't expect lots from this budget place. It's a decent money to value proposition. The rooms are small and furniture is sorta old. Location is truly magnificent - near skytrain terminal station, a few feet away from MBK and Siam Square and other places of business. Far away from Kao San road. Another amazing proposition is shamelessly cheap price to keep you bags while you travel light to other parts of Thailand.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side opposite to Skytrain line.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bazmek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Pranee Building
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

One of my go-to places in Bangkok. Old fashioned and simple. Don't expect too much. Very handy for shopping - a walk away from MBK, Siam Square and Jim Thompson Museum. It is right beside the Arts and Cultural Center too where on the ground floor is a lovely little coffee shop, and the library downstairs is a perfect place to hide away if you need to get any work done in BKK and need somewhere quiet and aircon. Prane also has a restaurant out front - good place for simple and inexpensive (hurray!) food in Bangkok. On the street there are lots of stalls selling fresh fruit too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KateMayTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay if you're on a budget and don't want to be near Kao San rd. it's next to the sky train which is a great way to get around and nearby buses service all the main tourist sites at about 13 baht.

The owners were a great help giving us local transport directions to places, their drinks fridge was dirt cheap and they had cheap Internet cards for the communal area (although you could get free Internet at most stores in the nearby mall).

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ENWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I have been staying at Pranee many times over the past 10 years and always find it clean , the management efficient and staff honest.These are very important factors when travelling..It is unpretentious and the location is so central that I always return to stay here again..I look forward to my next stay here,I am always made most welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I'm not too picky, just need a place to sleep and taking a bath, so this place is perfect, because with less than 500b/nite you get a quite big room, shower ,fan room in siam area, just 1 minute walk to 7/11, 2 min to BTS ,3 min to MBK/BACC, and 5-10 min to siam square/siam paragon.

eventhough the hotel is old, very basic, but overall is clean, the owner lady is nice, and if you have a thing for old motorcycle, on the garage you will find classic motors such as ariel, norton, etc.
don't forget to eat at the restaurant , very cheap and tasty meals !

Room Tip: lower floor, because no elevator !
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank denimBandung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

As I get older, it's getting harder to stay at the Pranee Building. It's old. I stayed in 2005, and returned five years later, and not a single thing had changed, including, I imagine, the sheets. No updating. No maintenance. It's a worn down, slightly better than a backpacker-style place with good (though loud) air conditioning (but not in every room) for prices that are hard to beat for a major city like Bangkok. I love the location, across from MBK and right down from the end of the Silom line of the Sky Train (National University Station, I believe). But, the beds are old and not of great quality, the furtniture looks like it was dragged off the street by people who left it, and it generally has a dusty feel to it.

Don't get me wrong: I love Pranee, but it doesn't have the level of comfort that I'm starting to require as I get older. During my last trip to Thailand, I stayed at the Pranee three times. I also stayed elsewhere and paid more for better accommodation. That said, these folks are reliable. When they take down a reservation, they honor it. I've never had a problem with them, and they've always come through. I would simply like a better bed. And maybe even some blankets.

The restaurant attached to the Pranee is also servicable. It's not going to wow anyone, but it gets the job done and is always a base-hit.

I prefer places like the Pranee and Siam Square to any of the types of places up in the Khao San area. I could also like Sukhumvit, though I've never stayed there. For what it is, it's unbeatable. Most of the folks reading this, however, will likely have outgrown this style of accommodation long before arriving.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SalsaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

It's very suitable for backpackers because the room has only a bed with no TV and fridge but When you check in you will see like a original small hotel in Bangkok (very antique thai style and little scary) but for backpackers very perfect!!

Room price
Room with fan 350 baht
Room with air 400 baht

For 2-3 persons , and it also free internet on downstairs
Room style like Thai houses bedroom around 1990s to 2000s
Room type : Small studio!
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryanharmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Muangphol Mansion
Muangphol Mansion
#747 of 879 in Bangkok
139 reviews
ibis Bangkok Riverside
#166 of 879 in Bangkok
2,599 reviews
Naga Residence
#52 of 1,276 in Bangkok
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Decor do hostel
#122 of 1,276 in Bangkok
140 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 879 in Bangkok
8,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pranee Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pranee Building

Address: Ton Sai, Bang Lamphu Lang, 10600 | Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 691 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Pranee Building 1.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Pranee Building Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing