We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in Bangkok”
Review of Wendy House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wendy House
Ranked #24 of 728 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This was my third experience at Wendy House in Bangkok and am very glad to report that Wendy House has only improved over the years in terms of comfort and homeliness and built upon what it has offered to its guests over the past years.

ROOM and WENDY HOUSE
I will strongly recommend this for travellers who are looking for a safe homely stay in Bangkok - either for work or for tourism. Wendy House has rules that make sure it continues to be a safe, healthy, clean and homely place for its guests. Cleanliness needs a special mention and so does the way its entire team goes an extra personal step ahead to help us out. Jintama, Ewa, Wendy, and all the rest are absolutely amazing in helping their guests and making stay as comfortable as possible.

Rooms are neat, clean, big enough and equipped with TV, fridge, two bottles of drinking water (and guests can fill bottles as much as they like from the reception area), electric kettle for tea/ coffee/ soup, some cups, glasses, bottle openers, hair dryers, dressing table, some rooms have a chair and desk to work from, and a comfortable bed. Air-conditioning is great as Bangkok can be hot and humid. The bathroom is so clean and comes with soap and shampoo supplies, towel clean and comfy too. Smoking is not allowed in entire campus of Wendy House so that guests can enjoy fresh clean air to breathe.

Breakfast is very good - homely too. Homemade yoghurt, great strong coffee, tea, fresh seasonal fruits, bread, buns, croissants, two farm eggs made to order (omelette, scrambled, fried, boiled, semi-boiled, poached etc) or Thai noodle soups, yummy muffins, museli, fruit juice, etc... the breakfast area is really warm and Wendy House team makes you feel so warm and taken care of while you begin your day with great meal. There are three tables outside in the shade where guests who wish to smoke can sit and enjoy their breakfast.

Internet: The entire campus of Wendy House has wifi - and reception area has two computers where guests can access internet free of cost. Wifi speed is really good and one of the big reasons why I could work out of Wendy House so well.

Wendy House also has daily English newspapers, phone booth, a GREAT WELL STOCKED LIBRARY (trust me, you will be amazed) with travel books on Thailand and other countries too!

Wendy House supports Child Safe network - so you will find lot of information that we all should follow to make this world a safe place for our children. Huge respect for Wendy House to make this commitment.

Umbrellas are there too in the reception in case rain shower hits Bangkok and guests want to move out. Please ask for one.

The massage place right outside of Wendy House is great and offers 10% discount if we show the Wendy House room key. So do remember to carry your room key if you wish to enjoy massage here.

LOCATION: As many guests have mentioned and I wrote in my earlier review of this property, location is really good. From airport, one can take the train to Phaya Thai, then hop on to skytrain BTS to Siam (two stations ahead), and then to National Stadium station (next station after Siam). Wendy House is hardly 100-150 metres walking distance from National Stadium exit 1 or 3. It is also close (100-150 m) from Bus station, river taxi, and meter taxi is right outside the door! just ask for it. Also the main shopping malls etc (with food courts, cinema, etc) are also 150 metres - MBK Mall, Siam Discovery, Siam Centre, Siam Paragon, Centra World, etc.. and Panthip Plaza is also in the vicinity (Panthip is 'the' place for electronics).

SPIRIT
What amazes me is how an all women enterprise can do so well - and feeling of ownership and commitment can breathe a new life to our experience at this place. Not just the lady Wendy who leads Wendy House but every other Wendy House team member such as Jintama, Ewa, and others whose names I am not aware of, are so spirited, smiling and helpful - this is surely not plastic and is a genuine attempt to make our stay as comfortable, warm and safe as possible. All the best to Wendy!

Room Tip: if you are working, then request a room with a desk :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bobbyramakant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2012

The Room was decent, clean, quite silent A/C, but not very personal. White walls with boring cold light, no elevator. But I didn't come to Bangkok to hang out at the hotel. The great ting with this place is the location (close to MBK and National Stadium skytrain station), very good breakfast (for asia and being a guesthouse, no fancy hotel) and reasonable prices. The staff was friendly, but not more than expected..

Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
Thank Ohleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at Wendy for several times during trips to Bangkok and am still satisfied with it over all. The staff and location would be their best asset. I can't stress enough how strategic the place is to BTS National Stadium and how it makes traveling within Bangkok easier.

Although Wendy could use some changing of mattress and pillows, I don't mind the room size but comfort in terms of sleep is also important.

Aside from that they are still top of my list of places to stay in BKK. Their homemade yoghurt is still one of the beat I have tasted.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mowma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Very nice and clean hotel. Breakfast is very good with a lot of option. Very convenient location to move around the city as the National Stadium BTS is just 1/2 minutes walk way. Staffs are very helpful and always tried to help. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to choose the room at lower floor preferably 1st and 2nd one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saifun_Nabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My mom and I started and ended our trip to Thailand with stays at Wendy House. This place is well-managed by a team of women who strive to make your stay successful. The rooms are small and basic but super clean. Breakfast is great, and the laundry facility next door is very handy. Wifi works well. The helpful staff repeatedly gave money-saving advice on transport and activities. These girls saved us money.

It is difficult for the western mind to comprehend the size and traffic problems in Bangkok. Thus, location of your accommodation is more important than you might think. Being able to walk to shopping, banks, restaurants, etc., is very nice. Being 300m away from the Skytrain, as you are at Wendy House, saves time and money as well. The Skytrain uses the same ticketing system as the Metro in Washington, D.C., so it is easy to use. For basically $1 per person, you can go anywhere in the system in air conditioned comfort above the traffic. The location of Wendy House is therefore a huge plus. Additionally, it is located on a quiet street, so you will not get traffic noise there. Using the printable Thai directions on the website or the card they give you, we never saw a taxi/tuk tuk driver have problems finding it.

For comparison, the LIT Hotel (more upscale) is next door, the A One Inn (looks a bit rough/dirty) and Reno Hotel are on the same street, and the Lub d (construction and traffic noise galore) is around the corner. These places with essentially the same location give you a range of options.

We were happy with our choice of Wendy House. It is a basic guest house, so no pool or fitness center. However, the range of services offered (satellite TV, etc.) exceeded our expectations. We needed a place initially to recover from jet lag, and this place was a good choice for that. It was great value for money, and I would recommend this place to anyone who does not need a five star or partying-type of place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angangang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Great place this. The room is on the basic side in terms of volume of furniture but it ticks all the boxes: clean, safe, comfy bed, consistent hot water, cracking brekkie, free wifi (best strength is on 4th floor) + extra PCs downstairs, very friendly and uber efficient staff, decent price for this part of bangkok - what more could you ask!

It's basic accomod (no choccies on pillows) and the rooms are arguably wee bit on cosy side (but I stayed 5 days incl 2 locked in my room filling in job applications + it didn't feel claustrophobic) and it's great value. The wee extras - free bottled water, replenished daily, hairdryer+ kettle/mugs etc in room, cable TV, full office/business services (copying, printing, scanning etc, post bopx) - are a nice surprise you wouldn't expect for this price (I paid 1000B for dble rm on 4th floor - think it's usually 1250 but they gave me discount for being a returning customer - I didn't even ask!)

Not being in 'backpacker central' street, means it's quieter and it's so close (less than 5mins walk) to the skytrain and river taxis that you can get everywhere incl airport quickly+ cheaply. The area feels very safe too, there are fantastic shops (incl Siam Paragon mall - it's food court downstairs is a sight to behold!), restaurants/cafes and the very lovely Lampini Park (great scope for people watching there, the outdoor aerobics classes are hilarious! - it's a wee bit reminiscent of central park in NYC tho much smaller) is very close by.

The staff are great too, very helpful and always friendly, they really do seem to care about the quality of your stay+ always have a smile - I know this is irrelevant for some folk but it's nice when you get it. And the laundry next door is very handy+ a decent price.

Overall I was so pleased with this wee hidden gem (A1 in the lonely planet is just over the rd, and looked pretty scruffy from the outside, Lub*d is around the corner but charges almost the same for bed in a dorm+is om busy main rd) I went back for a return visit + would only stay elsewhere if this place was full or I wanted a luxury treat.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AverageJo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendyguesthouse, Manager at Wendy House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Dear Claire, In fact we have only two single rooms in our guest house, then some time we will upgrade to double bed for single guest who stay several night with pre-reservation for they comfortable.
I'm really appreciate you taking time to write the review. I look forward to welcoming you back to Wendy House. Thank you for stay with us, and all the best to you , Wendy and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Wendy house is conveniently located close to Siam Square by the National Stadium Skytrain station. The guest house is really backpacker/western tourist focused and is well geared up with separate wi-fi for each floor and a good array of tourist information.

We stayed in a double room on the fourth floor which had everything we needed (air conditioning, fridge, bottled water and hot-shower) but was a little bit tired looking. The air con was very noisy and took quite a while to cool down the room. The room was pretty clean and met all of our needs but I feel like the $34 per night we paid was definately for the location rather than the accommodation.

The customer service at Wendy House was very good; the staff was friendly and helpful and the included breakfast of eggs, toast, fruit, pastries and coffee was a really nice inclusion in the package. Overall, it does not get my strongest recommendation but the location and the service make it worth a look.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendyguesthouse, Manager at Wendy House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Dear Matthew, thank you for writing your review. I am happy that you like our services.
I ‘m sorry for the air condition we will ask the maintenance service to check it.
I hope we can welcome you back someday in the future. All the best, Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Patumwan House
Patumwan House
#55 of 728 in Bangkok
300 reviews
Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
#34 of 1,335 in Bangkok
1,060 reviews
Banglamphu
Sourire @ Rattanakosin Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cacha Hotel
#28 of 728 in Bangkok
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wendy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wendy House

Address: 36/2 Soi kasemsan1, Rama1 Road | Patumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 728 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £25 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wendy House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GUEST HOUSE (room with breakfast)with free wifi internet in all guest room and public areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wendy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wendy House Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing