We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous, A Wonderful, beautiful, tranquil and extremely friendly boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Ranked #37 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous, A Wonderful, beautiful, tranquil and extremely friendly boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 1 week with my family and it was nothing short of a wonderful experience. I booked very easily by email with communication prompt and detailed. The whole staff were very friendly and helpful above anything I have experienced before. There room was spacious with a wonderful design and spotless. We had special dietary requirements for breakfast outside the normal menu which was never going to be a problem here and breakfast each day was specially prepared for us. The hotel is centred around a beautiful common area garden overlooking the canal where we spent time relaxing. This was also a lovely place for my daughter who played regularly in the garden and with all of the staff. We hope to return here again soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank geordieneil0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    88
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
40
206
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

1st Class.. I had a major hiccup with our travel plans when on the morning we were due to fly to Bangkok I lost my passport.. These guys were wonderful in what for us was a very upsetting + stressful situation. Nothing was a problem, they were so accommodating. The hotel is clean, lovely showers, 24hr security + perfectly positioned for a good night's sleep, yet close enough to walk + take in the hustle + bustle of Khoa San Road. Look no further guys, the reviews speak for themselves. We are planning a return trip to Thailand next year. If we fly to Bangkok we will without doubt be staying here again. Trust me, you will NOT be disappointed!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank doughnut68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

In short: I have no idea why anyone would stay anywhere else. This place is amazing - spotless, new, spacious, comfortable, boasting cool modern design and a very European aesthetic. The bathrooms are huge with both a rain shower and a hand held and the shower itself is huge. Even the towels are very lightly scented - what a wonderful touch. Flat screen, huge comfy couch, closet, fridge, comp. water etc., brand new AC, wonderful staff, beautiful courtyard, private huge balcony - really high ceilings and SO SO clean! Breakfast amazing - honestly this is the nicest place I think I've every stayed. It's like a 5-star for such a deal!

Room Tip: I liked the Courtyard view - peaceful and very relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pangandaran, Indonesia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This new hotel is the best option in the Khao san road area for sure.

I stayed there in February when it was first opening.

A lot of money has been spent on every detail in the rooms. The bathrooms are high spec, the rooms are European standard with the best type of bed and air con system.

The breakfast is delicious- the best Ive ever had.

You will happy with this hotel if you decide to stay here. Its only a 5 min walk to the KSR area and 5 min to the restaurants / village area of Soi samsen 2. Just cross the canal and walk 5 min.

I highly recommend this hotel!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the garden courtyard. I would avoid the urban rooms unless your ok with noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank abooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a trip touring Thailand. In summary, this is the best accommodation we have stayed in during 6 weeks of travelling in SE Asia. The villa was ideally located for us; 30 minutes walk to the Grand Palace area and 10 minutes walk to Khao San Road area where there are many restaurants. There are plenty of passing taxis or tuk tuks if you're not into walking.
As it only opened in October 2013 (refurbished older building), the whole villa is fresh, modern, clean and in brand new condition. We stayed in a standard room on the 3rd floor and found it to be very spacious and comfortable. You have one large room with a large comfortable bed (with 2 pillows each), side table, chair and footstool, wardrobe, large sideboard containing a fridge, kettle, tea and coffee, cups and glasses; air conditioning and flatscreen TV (with some English speaking channels). Through the large glazed doors we had a small, private balcony complete with 2 small chairs overlooking the central grassy courtyard. The heavy, black out curtains over the glazing do a good job of cutting out light. You receive 1 bottle of complimentary water per day per person which is a nice touch. The only thing 'missing' is a safety deposit box in the room but valuables can be left at reception (the villa feels very secure – there is even a security guard at the front gated entrance). The shower room, separated from the bedroom by a sliding door, had the best shower we have had in any accommodation in the last 6 weeks. There is a fixed head and also a hand held head – both are superbly powerful; just what you need after a day exploring the hot and humid city. The complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body wash and soap seem quite luxurious; not just the bog standard toiletries. The towels are bright white and fluffy. There is also a hair-dryer in the shower room. The Wi-Fi throughout the villa is brilliant – very fast and good signal. We made a few video calls to the UK with no jumping or cutting out of picture or sound. Given the location, we expected some noise from the street outside but we really pleased to find that had no noise issues at all – it was a very peaceful stay thanks to the comfortable bed and our room overlooking the inner courtyard. There was the usual noises of other guests coming and going in the corridor but nothing you wouldn't expect.
Breakfast was included in the rate and you enjoy this sitting in the open air (in the shade) next to the canal that runs behind the villa. The food is delicious and there is plenty of it. You have the option of an Asian or American breakfast. We opted for American but the Asian looked good. The staff were happy to accommodate a request for just toast and tea one morning after a late dinner the night before which was much appreciated.
The staff were very friendly and eager to help. They were more than happy to organise taxis, write down the names of places in Thai for us to give to tuk-tuk drivers etc. They took an active and genuine interest in where you were going and where you had been which was nice.
We paid £34 per night B&B for two people which we think is a value for money given the quality of the room, food and villa generally. Overall, we would highly recommend Villa Phra Sumen and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the courtyard as there are some rooms which face out onto the street whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cetra14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed for two nights, newly built boutique hotel, clean room, good breakfast, professional staff, little difficult to locate but very close to the "best phad thai" place in Bangkok. It is away from Sukhumvit district in a quiet neighborhood near the palace and well known wats.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank soe494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Had a 2 night stay here, booked via Agoda. Chose this place based on reviews and they were pretty spot on!

Pros:
lovely staff
clean/spacious rooms
in room amenities
helpful staff
good location, slight 10/15 walk to khosan road
Free American breakfast (yum!)
lovely chill out area
24hr security guard (very secure after getting in too)


Cons: (this is a hard one...)
no long mirror in room!?
Taxi drivers couldn't find easily (take a map)

As we had to check out at 3:30am, I asked reception if they were able to pack a small snack as we were going to miss the full breakfast, which they gladly did :-) juice/sandwich/banana/water

Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend to others to stay

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#51 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#65 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#26 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Hotel Clover Asoke
Hotel Clover Asoke
#41 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#124 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Bangkok Loft Inn
#58 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok

Property: Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Address: 457 Phra Sumen Road | Bavorn Niwet, Phra Nakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Phra Sumen sits in the heart of historic Bangkok, located on Phra Sumen Road which ran along the ancient city's walls and connected Phra Sumen and Maha Kan Forts over two hundred years ago. Among the 14 forts that were built to protect the city from enemy attacks in the late 17th century, Phra Sumen and Maha Kan Forts are the only ones that still stand today. Villa Phra Sumen is also centered among Rattankosin Island's most popular highlights, including the Emerald Buddha, Wat Pho Temple, The Temple of Dawn, Bawon Niwet Wihan Temple, Suthat Thepwararm Temple, Brahmin Temple, The Golden Mount, Loha Prasat (Metal Palace), The Grand Palace, Ananda Samakhom Throne Hall, Vimanmeak Mansion, The Giant Swing, Democracy Monument and even some charming communities which still go about their ways in the traditional Thai way. The urban boutique resort comprises 2 converted and restored historic buildings, offering 29 guest suites combining both contemporary and classic Thai styles. Towards the back of the property is a two story building situated along Rop Khrung Canal built of wood and concrete. Each suite offers high ceilings, wooden floor, antique furniture and windows opening onto the canal, from where guests can see the traditional lifestyle of people living in the area. The front 4-story building offers tastefully and functionally finished rooms, but with private balconies overlooking the internal courtyard. Villa Phra Sumen is perfectly suited to guests seeking serenity and privacy in an environment which conjures of the atmosphere of hundreds of years ago. Our dedicated staff looks forward to welcoming you to a pleasant stay in old Bangkok and at Villa Phra Sumen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing