We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top service and Top quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Ranked #35 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Kathmandu Valley, Nepal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top service and Top quality”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel is situated close to top tourist attractions. It takes by boat around 20 minutes to get to the Siam Square and the immense shopping opportunities. By taxi it can take a little longer depending on the time of the day.

The hotel itself is good craftsmanship. It is clean, solid, well equipped and well functioning. There are rooms and space for family holidays, stylish rooms for romantic couples, rooms for the ones, who need to wrap up the report after the days meetings...

Internet, number of power sockets, water supply, mini bar etc are well dimensioned and functioned without any problems during my 8 weeks stay.

The staff is a separate chapter. They are extremely helpful, flexible and very service minded, I cannot thank them enough. I am looking forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Romantic channel side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    97
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
45
235
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Booked the hotel before arrival in Bangkok based in reviews here, and were not disappointed. The location is great, about 5 min walk to Kao San road, but located in a quiet street. It is a long way to the metro or sky train, which can be a problem during rush hour (which is 15-18 at least). The laundry took a day longer than they said and they mixed out clothes with sone other guest's, but we got all our clothes back in time and nicely cleaned. The AC, wifi and breakfast was good. Wouldn't mind staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolinestrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Very clear and tidy. I like the garden and traditional taid style very much. Also the nice breakfast. Every one from hotel are very enthusiastic, they answer every question in detail. especilly Kanokwan Phuphuong,when I ask help where can I buy the monk, she driver me and my friend to by her car to the temple at lunch time, and barging with the seller, thanks for her help we get good price. so happy trip.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sakana3476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel was just what I needed in hectic Bangkok. It was like a safe haven with its beautiful serene garden, tucked away in a busy street. Rooms very tastefully decorated and staff friendly and helpful. I would definately come back here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kariki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This was one of best hotels which had a very homely feel. I stayed with my husband for 3 nights and we were so impressed by their hospitality.
The staff ( jeep, one, and few more) were absolutely outstanding. This hotel tried to provide us utmost comfort ....
I am a vegetarian.. So they tried to prepare some veg options too for the breakfast. Rooms are very clean, good airconditioning, good wifi access in room n everywhere. Corridors also very very clean.
Staff always ready to help. Speaks and understands english.
When next time in bkk i am surely staying here as the hospitality provided by them was more than my expectations. Very cheerful,n helpful staff.
Also as this is located close to many temples and night life, night market... This is my first preference.
Thanks guys for making our stay wonderful.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Shweta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely few days here straight off the plane from the UK. We slept like logs in the lovely rooms which are very new and stylish.. The hotel is also very close to the Palace, Khao San Rd etc so very convenient. Recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I found this place via tripadvisor and have to confirm that it is indeed a great place to stay in. The location is really central in walking distance to Khao Sarn road but not in Khao Sarn Road, so it is nice and quiet. The rooms and appartments are furnished with great taste, a mixture of modern minimalistic and antique style, really nice ,)
The best though is the really friendly and supportive staff that helps you with all your questions.

The only thing that could be optimized is the breakfast with only two choices, either american or asian breakfast ..

All in all great choice, though :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Stefan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 862 in Bangkok
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#67 of 862 in Bangkok
1,018 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#16 of 862 in Bangkok
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok

Property: Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Address: 457 Phra Sumen Road | Bavorn Niwet, Phra Nakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Phra Sumen sits in the heart of historic Bangkok, located on Phra Sumen Road which ran along the ancient city's walls and connected Phra Sumen and Maha Kan Forts over two hundred years ago. Among the 14 forts that were built to protect the city from enemy attacks in the late 17th century, Phra Sumen and Maha Kan Forts are the only ones that still stand today. Villa Phra Sumen is also centered among Rattankosin Island's most popular highlights, including the Emerald Buddha, Wat Pho Temple, The Temple of Dawn, Bawon Niwet Wihan Temple, Suthat Thepwararm Temple, Brahmin Temple, The Golden Mount, Loha Prasat (Metal Palace), The Grand Palace, Ananda Samakhom Throne Hall, Vimanmeak Mansion, The Giant Swing, Democracy Monument and even some charming communities which still go about their ways in the traditional Thai way. The urban boutique resort comprises 2 converted and restored historic buildings, offering 29 guest suites combining both contemporary and classic Thai styles. Towards the back of the property is a two story building situated along Rop Khrung Canal built of wood and concrete. Each suite offers high ceilings, wooden floor, antique furniture and windows opening onto the canal, from where guests can see the traditional lifestyle of people living in the area. The front 4-story building offers tastefully and functionally finished rooms, but with private balconies overlooking the internal courtyard. Villa Phra Sumen is perfectly suited to guests seeking serenity and privacy in an environment which conjures of the atmosphere of hundreds of years ago. Our dedicated staff looks forward to welcoming you to a pleasant stay in old Bangkok and at Villa Phra Sumen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing