We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience of my life”
Review of Thai Cozy House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thai Cozy House
Ranked #709 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst hotel experience of my life”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This has by far been the absolute worst hotel I have ever stayed at. I have traveled Asia extensively and I'm no way picky about where I stay, but in this case I would rather have slept on the streets of Bangkok. We booked through Agoda, our booking clearly stated that we booked 2 rooms for 3 people each. Upon arrival we were told to wait for 4 hours before we could have our booked rooms, which we had no issue with. When we came back 4 hours later, the we were told that our booking was for 2 people per room (even though it clearly stated otherwise) and we had to pay extra money if we wanted to stay. When we calmly refused (based on our Agoda booking which we had in our hand) we were bullied, yelled at by a variety of staff, and threatened. At one point we were told that we would be put in jail if we didn't pay up, all the while ignoring the fact that we had a piece of paper in our hands stating that we had a 3 person room booked. Everyone we spoke to was extremely rude from the get go and wouldn't listen to a word we had to say. Eventually we were threatened to a point where we had to pay them extra money. When we finally got into our rooms a few hours later, we discovered the beds had bedbugs and the walls had blood stains from dead insects. We STILL tried to make the best of it and stay the night, but ended up moving into the lobby at 4am just to escape the bed bugs. I would never, ever recommend this hotel to anyone, there are PLENTY of other hotels nearby for a better price and definitely WAY better service, there is just no reason anyone should ever stay here and go through what we had to.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bananatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    64
    75
    29
    45
See reviews for
12
72
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

The staff were grumpy and the cross dressing man/woman at the front desk was really creepy. Probably the worst place iv ever stayed. The lady who made me breaky was lovely though. I feel sorry for her. This place sucks. I'd rather shoot myself in the foot than stay here again

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Will F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My partner and I arrived from India where most places were dirty and unclean. Thai Cozy house was a lovely change.
Unfortunately they had lost our reservation on arrival, which meant we were put in a room not normally used by travellers. Having arrived at 3am we were disheartened, but too tired to complain, we just needed to rest.
The next day we were moved to the room we had reserved. It was a twin room with air con, a tv, fridge and en suite. It was clean with plenty of storage space. Only downside was no window. We paid 750 Baht a night, which was much more than we were used to paying in India. But we were really close to Koh San Road, don't let that out you off though as it's far enough away not to hear the noise.
All in all a pleasant stay with helpful staff.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Rooms were reasonably priced and clean, however you have to pay for a window (what the heck right?)

The staff was horribly frustrating with the exception of one young man who seemed like he was just doing what he was told by the scary manager who sits at his desk and refuses to talk to his customers.

The front desk woman was a total you know what. Smile and wave? She scowls. Totally unhelpful for any tourist information and looks miserable with life and her job.

Avoid this place for the horrible horrible sad and grumpy staff. There are plenty of other guesthouses that will be friendly and more welcoming as they should.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jkern88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

cheap guesthouse price but its more of a cheaper hotel, nice quality for the price, great value for money plus breakfast is included, food at the hotel is nice and cheap, rooms are good quality for the price, aircon was abit noisey but the soi is quiet considering its a stones throw away from khao san road, good food near by, would stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie_Lambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

There is a huge lit sign sticking out in to the street do its easy to find. However, there are street stalls right in front of the entrance which you have to navigate through t get in... This can be tricky wth big bags or suitcases.
The foyer area is long and narrow and is shared between the dining area and a small shopping arcade with a tailors and a travel agent. The reception is at the back.
The reception staff were mostly friendly but a bit Abrupt. The owner sits in a chair, arms folded in the office just watching you check in, a little odd!
There is a lift to all floors.

There are twin, double and triple rooms available. Not all have windows so make sure you ask (think the 'deluxe' means it has).
Besides the obvious, a major reason I like to have a window is in case of a fire, I feel I could escape out the window if all else fails!

I have stayed in both a double and a triple and both were an ok size, not large by any means but perfectly adequate.

The room was basic, curtains old, bed cover pattern dated, old fashioned furniture, non-flat screen TV... but the room was very clean, the Bedsheets were clean and fresh.

There was about 10 channels on the TV, 3 English including BBC news.
Air con worked great and was quite quiet.

There is a big fridge in the corner which is great if you want to keep your snacks or water cold, however the electric in the room is activated when you put the key in the wall holder, so when you leave the room and take the key, the fridge goes off!

The location is great, its just 2 streets (2 main walk) from the main khosan road strip but has the advantage of being quieter at night.

There are loads of hotels, guesthouses and hostels around the area, and some are probably nicer and some will be worse. This is a cheap guest house that has basic / dated, but clean rooms so don't expect too much and you'll be happy.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013

After staying for a number of times over the last few years, prices are up, breakfast included was a choice, but now only 2eggs and toast, ,tea or coffee. No asian breakfast and no fruit and yogurt. And no fruit juice. Staff on reception have changed and the hotel needs painting up.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rambuttri House
Rambuttri House
#444 of 862 in Bangkok
292 reviews
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#317 of 862 in Bangkok
232 reviews
Banglamphu
Four Sons Place
Four Sons Place
#640 of 862 in Bangkok
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#346 of 862 in Bangkok
1,290 reviews
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#344 of 862 in Bangkok
444 reviews
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#322 of 862 in Bangkok
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thai Cozy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai Cozy House

Property: Thai Cozy House
Address: 111/1-3 Tanee Road, Taladyod | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #709 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Thai Cozy House 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thai Cozy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thai Cozy House Hotel Bangkok
Thai Cozy Hotel
Thai Cozy Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing