We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok
Ranked #359 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We have just returned to Australia after another business trip to Bangkok..as usual we stayed at Tarntawan place hotel...a gem of a place we found after trying a few 5 star hotels and being disappointed....
The staff, management and all concerned exhibit the most professional manners and service.
We always choose a Surawan room to give that extra space etc...we are both surprised and delighted to arrive back after a hard days slog around our suppliers and shippers , to find a fresh basket of fruit in our room!...and on occasions such as our birthdays, received, wine...fruit,chocolates and flowers!!...little niceties that make feel comfortably at home!..we now NEVER consider staying anywhere else...close to our favourite spa..the markets...Sala dang BTS STn...and always plenty of taxis, tuk tuks or we even dared to try the motor bike taxis!!
The manager,Lukas, is a thorough gentleman who makes it his business to greet at times at breakfast...and certainly runs a tight ship!.with all his staff reflecting his dedication to their patrons!
The staff member who operates the elevator on the day shift is a walking smile!..he makes our day as we go down to the lobby or restaurant...the domestic staff are thorough and honest...and humbly appreciate any tops we offer!..we will be back for the 6th visit in march!?see you then..:-)
Kop khun Jak jai!..

Room Tip: Choose a Surawan room for that extra space ..for a few dollars more!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LairdBKAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Hotel is located in the hub of the action packed city. Staff is very courteous and truly hospitable. Hotel needs renovation but the outstanding service quality compensates for it. Rooms don't look very modern but very nicely maintained. They have an amazing eye for detail when it comes to the guests preferences. Check-in process was overwhelming. The best part is that the hotel serves breakfast 24 hours which makes it so convenient for guests coming in from different time zones. The ambience was very warm and friendly. An ideal choice for the LGBT community. I will only say in this hotel in future. The head of concierge desk was very helpful.

Room Tip: I don't remember the room category but go for the second higher category of rooms. Value for mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsymonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Nestling in a dead-end Soi (or alley) near the notorious Padpong market off the Surawong Road in Bangkok's Silom red light district, one might be forgiven for thinking this hotel would only attract a particular sort of guest - but far from it. This is a really charming place, nicely hidden away from all the bustle of the markets and go-go bars, but highly accessible to them and most other Bangkok attractions, with Sala Deng and Silom stations but a stone's throw away, and plenty of taxis and tuk-tuks 50 yards away.

Tarntawan Place is gay run and gay friendly, but not at all exclusively so. Sure, it has the usual collection of ageing western men with pretty Thai boy companions, but it's more than welcoming to couples or singles of any persuasion - typically tolerant Thai hospitality!

We had a suite with large bedroom and sitting room on the sixth floor. Very large double bed, good sized desks in both sitting and bed rooms; good clean bathroom with shower and bath; complimentary fruit and bottled water; good mini-bar with reasonably priced drinks (though spirits about 4 times what you'd pay at the airport, worth noting!). The rooms are attractively decorated in modern Thai style and very pleasant. Good efficient aircon - and they don't make you turn it off during the day so that you come home to a boiling hot room, as in so many hotels in this part of the world.

There was one lamp with didn't work and they sent a man to fix it quite promptly. Internet connection was included in the room, but was very slow in all parts of the building.

Breakfast is served all day - which is quite impressive - in an area next to the hotel lobby. Good buffet with eggs, bacon, sausage, pancake etc available off the menu, and attentive, cheerful service. Dinner can be had there too, but we didn't have the chance to try it. There is access to a pool and gym, and there is a massage place and health spa which looked fine, but no time to try them out!

One very nice touch - the hotel provides your own personalised business cards, which are very useful not only for meeting friends, but also to shove under the noses of taxi-drivers, not all of whom know where the hotel is!

I was also impressed that I was not asked to pay for my room in advance (an increasingly annoying practice in many hotels now - why should you pay for a service before you have actually received it?); nor was I asked to give my credit card number to 'guarantee' I wasn't going to run off without paying my mini-bar bill. It's sad that sort of trust is lacking in so many chain hotels these days - but maybe it is because some guests do do a runner!

Overall, staying here was a very enjoyable experience and it was by no means expensive (4,800 Baht for the suite inc breakfast). I would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for a suite - well worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nigel-Gordon-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

very convenient location. the room on 6th floor very comfortable. the internet worked great.
breakfast included a hot a la carte dish plus the buffet of fruits, breads, meats, juices. Ms Punnee, the lobby hostess very gracious. Mr. Sun, behind front desk very efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masspita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here many many times now, and is always good
Maybe the bedroom carpets could do with replacing and a few
more channels on the TV, but i would never stay anywhere else
when I am in bkk, the staff are so pleasant and any problems
are dealt with immediately

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelhiggins692000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarntawan, Owner at The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments and comments.
We are in the process of replacing the carpets in all bedrooms and this project should be completed within the next twelve months. Once again, thank you for your compliments.

Yours

Lukas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Very nice, very gay-friendly Hotel in the city of Bangkok. Perfect clean rooms, free WiFi, very friendly staff and manager. Walking distance from skytrain. Good breakfast, desired Thai or other special things not prefab. waiting for you, but freshly made on request. I sure come back when in Bangkok.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Ronald-pieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in a room with a single queen bed, the hotel was very well kept, clean and quiet. The service was typical thai style, excellent & courteous. I left my keys locked in the room a couple of times but they warmly helped me reopen it quickly and politely. Food ordered to the room was surprisingly good, even better than street or restaurant fare. Breakfast was of good quality and anything ordered from the kitchen was just delicious & well prepared. The location of the hotel is extremely strategic for tourists, just a few minutes' walk away you can access night markets, street food, lumphini park, bars with shows, offers from street peddlers (use your imagination), and tons of taxis & tut-tuts awaiting customers . If i had anything 'bad' to say of this hotel, it is the wifi being somewhat slow at times and the lobby/lift/corridor areas rather warm. For the price i paid this hotel is of great value and yes i'd come back here to stay.

Room Tip: You may choose a lower floor so that you can take the carpeted stairs instead of waiting for the onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonyim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#199 of 885 in Bangkok
893 reviews
Silom
The Tawana Bangkok
The Tawana Bangkok
#229 of 885 in Bangkok
889 reviews
Banglamphu
The Raweekanlaya Bangkok
The Raweekanlaya Bangkok
#223 of 885 in Bangkok
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
D Varee Diva Bally Silom, Bangkok
Silom
Wall Street Inn
Wall Street Inn
#426 of 885 in Bangkok
288 reviews
Silom
De Arni Bangkok
De Arni Bangkok
#463 of 885 in Bangkok
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok

Address: 119/5-10 Surawong Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Formerly Tarntawan Place Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#158 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#219 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £35 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarntawan Place is a well established, modern hotel. The rooms are stylishly appointed, spacious and light, creating a friendly and intimate atmosphere. Our personalized service and attention to detail ensure a special comfort and charm. Situated in a quiet courtyard off Surawong Road in the heart of Bangkok's business and entertainment district, the Tarntawan Place is within walking distance of international banks, shopping centeres and major airline offices. The Skytrain overhead railway (Sala Daeng Station) and Subway (Sam Yan and Silom Stations) are both just a few steps away.The famous shopping and nightlife areas of Silom and Patpong are just around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarntawan Place Bangkok
Hotel Tarntawan Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing