We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Price-Value and tasty Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok
Ranked #331 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Davos
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Price-Value and tasty Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I was staying at Tarntawan in a two Room Suite from First of Nov till 10th of Nov in 5th Floor right oposite the Elevator.
The Room was extremely silent, very clean and the Bath very spacious for its Price. You could even open a big window towards the Bath from your sleeping room which was cool.
The staff was very friendly as well known from Thailand and the Hotel's breakfast a very good fusion between tropic fruits and high quality European goodies. Nice differnt choices, not exagerating huge Buffet but all you need present or on order with no extra charge.
The Muesli is amazing as Back home and the Swiss cheese a luxury add on.
I was very glad I could stay in this cosy middle sized place, not to huge and quite personal Hotel in the middle of the pulsing area of Bangkok.
Congrats to the whole Tarntawan Team - was a Pleasure relaxing there after 40 hours of flying between Europe - Fiji - Australia and finaly Thailand.

Room Tip: even oposite the Elevator - no noise - perfect! Air condition rather silent Used Room in Fith Floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreeStyleSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    138
    66
    14
    7
See reviews for
7
109
173
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We have just returned to Australia after another business trip to Bangkok..as usual we stayed at Tarntawan place hotel...a gem of a place we found after trying a few 5 star hotels and being disappointed....
The staff, management and all concerned exhibit the most professional manners and service.
We always choose a Surawan room to give that extra space etc...we are both surprised and delighted to arrive back after a hard days slog around our suppliers and shippers , to find a fresh basket of fruit in our room!...and on occasions such as our birthdays, received, wine...fruit,chocolates and flowers!!...little niceties that make feel comfortably at home!..we now NEVER consider staying anywhere else...close to our favourite spa..the markets...Sala dang BTS STn...and always plenty of taxis, tuk tuks or we even dared to try the motor bike taxis!!
The manager,Lukas, is a thorough gentleman who makes it his business to greet at times at breakfast...and certainly runs a tight ship!.with all his staff reflecting his dedication to their patrons!
The staff member who operates the elevator on the day shift is a walking smile!..he makes our day as we go down to the lobby or restaurant...the domestic staff are thorough and honest...and humbly appreciate any tops we offer!..we will be back for the 6th visit in march!?see you then..:-)
Kop khun Jak jai!..

Room Tip: Choose a Surawan room for that extra space ..for a few dollars more!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LairdBKAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Hotel is located in the hub of the action packed city. Staff is very courteous and truly hospitable. Hotel needs renovation but the outstanding service quality compensates for it. Rooms don't look very modern but very nicely maintained. They have an amazing eye for detail when it comes to the guests preferences. Check-in process was overwhelming. The best part is that the hotel serves breakfast 24 hours which makes it so convenient for guests coming in from different time zones. The ambience was very warm and friendly. An ideal choice for the LGBT community. I will only say in this hotel in future. The head of concierge desk was very helpful.

Room Tip: I don't remember the room category but go for the second higher category of rooms. Value for mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsymonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Nestling in a dead-end Soi (or alley) near the notorious Padpong market off the Surawong Road in Bangkok's Silom red light district, one might be forgiven for thinking this hotel would only attract a particular sort of guest - but far from it. This is a really charming place, nicely hidden away from all the bustle of the markets and go-go bars, but highly accessible to them and most other Bangkok attractions, with Sala Deng and Silom stations but a stone's throw away, and plenty of taxis and tuk-tuks 50 yards away.

Tarntawan Place is gay run and gay friendly, but not at all exclusively so. Sure, it has the usual collection of ageing western men with pretty Thai boy companions, but it's more than welcoming to couples or singles of any persuasion - typically tolerant Thai hospitality!

We had a suite with large bedroom and sitting room on the sixth floor. Very large double bed, good sized desks in both sitting and bed rooms; good clean bathroom with shower and bath; complimentary fruit and bottled water; good mini-bar with reasonably priced drinks (though spirits about 4 times what you'd pay at the airport, worth noting!). The rooms are attractively decorated in modern Thai style and very pleasant. Good efficient aircon - and they don't make you turn it off during the day so that you come home to a boiling hot room, as in so many hotels in this part of the world.

There was one lamp with didn't work and they sent a man to fix it quite promptly. Internet connection was included in the room, but was very slow in all parts of the building.

Breakfast is served all day - which is quite impressive - in an area next to the hotel lobby. Good buffet with eggs, bacon, sausage, pancake etc available off the menu, and attentive, cheerful service. Dinner can be had there too, but we didn't have the chance to try it. There is access to a pool and gym, and there is a massage place and health spa which looked fine, but no time to try them out!

One very nice touch - the hotel provides your own personalised business cards, which are very useful not only for meeting friends, but also to shove under the noses of taxi-drivers, not all of whom know where the hotel is!

I was also impressed that I was not asked to pay for my room in advance (an increasingly annoying practice in many hotels now - why should you pay for a service before you have actually received it?); nor was I asked to give my credit card number to 'guarantee' I wasn't going to run off without paying my mini-bar bill. It's sad that sort of trust is lacking in so many chain hotels these days - but maybe it is because some guests do do a runner!

Overall, staying here was a very enjoyable experience and it was by no means expensive (4,800 Baht for the suite inc breakfast). I would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for a suite - well worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nigel-Gordon-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

very convenient location. the room on 6th floor very comfortable. the internet worked great.
breakfast included a hot a la carte dish plus the buffet of fruits, breads, meats, juices. Ms Punnee, the lobby hostess very gracious. Mr. Sun, behind front desk very efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masspita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here many many times now, and is always good
Maybe the bedroom carpets could do with replacing and a few
more channels on the TV, but i would never stay anywhere else
when I am in bkk, the staff are so pleasant and any problems
are dealt with immediately

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelhiggins692000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarntawan, Owner at The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments and comments.
We are in the process of replacing the carpets in all bedrooms and this project should be completed within the next twelve months. Once again, thank you for your compliments.

Yours

Lukas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papendrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Very nice, very gay-friendly Hotel in the city of Bangkok. Perfect clean rooms, free WiFi, very friendly staff and manager. Walking distance from skytrain. Good breakfast, desired Thai or other special things not prefab. waiting for you, but freshly made on request. I sure come back when in Bangkok.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald-pieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Tawana Bangkok
The Tawana Bangkok
#232 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#185 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Silom
La Residence Bangkok
La Residence Bangkok
#381 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Rose Hotel
Rose Hotel
#414 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Silom
De Arni Bangkok
De Arni Bangkok
#455 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Silom
Wall Street Inn
Wall Street Inn
#509 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok

Property: The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok
Address: 119/5-10 Surawong Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Formerly Tarntawan Place Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#148 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#158 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#206 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarntawan Place is a well established, modern hotel. The rooms are stylishly appointed, spacious and light, creating a friendly and intimate atmosphere. Our personalized service and attention to detail ensure a special comfort and charm. Situated in a quiet courtyard off Surawong Road in the heart of Bangkok's business and entertainment district, the Tarntawan Place is within walking distance of international banks, shopping centeres and major airline offices. The Skytrain overhead railway (Sala Daeng Station) and Subway (Sam Yan and Silom Stations) are both just a few steps away.The famous shopping and nightlife areas of Silom and Patpong are just around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarntawan Place Bangkok
Hotel Tarntawan Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing