We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverside ambience with food to match”

Sheepshank Public House
Ranked #817 of 10,918 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Banglamphu
Description: Brand new Sheepshank Public House is a beacon of modern cuisine on historic, bohemian Phra Arthit Road. Cool minimalist, industrial design in a former boat repair shop, the restaurant features a long and spectacular view of the river and Rama 8 bridge. With Modern American cuisine, specializing in seafood, Sheepshank Public House emphasizes freshness of ingredients along with meticulous presentation - making for an exquisite dining experience.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Riverside ambience with food to match”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Sheepshank Public House is a bit different to other eating venues we have experienced in Bangkok. It is set in a former industrial space and the decor pays homage to the past. It is a delightful space from which to view the river traffic and perhaps a sunset over the nearby Rama bridge. The food menu is contained but offers a wealth of different tastes - something for everyone. We had the crab and green apple salad (fresh and delicious), the razor clams (spicy and meaty), organic sausages and blue cheese potatoes (tasty with a great sauce), and the oxtail tortellini with butter, sage and walnuts ( rich and out of this world). We would highly recommend a visit when in town. Great staff too! And the cocktails are generously sized and made with love and skill.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maggiwithoutane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    26
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Food nothing special - filled the gap”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

needed a place that could fit our group 6 with a range of foods for different tastes. This place did everything and did it well....no frills.

Will never compete against real thai restaurants but if you have a range of palates, a tight budget and need a feed withou a fuss then this place has my vote

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheBeigeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Top notch restaurant in every way. Industrial interior situated right on the river is one of a kind. Cocktails were straight out of a how-to guide and the food was exceptional. We had the crab and apple salad. Outstanding! Then came the seafood pallela, which is like the Spanish classic but with a touch of Bangkok flair to take it to a whole other level. We also had the oxtail tortellini, hand crafted and simply succulent. And the panacotta for desert had a Thai twist to it that topped off the meal perfectly. The only thing that slightly disappointed was that they dont have coffee on the menu. Super staff, super location, super ambience, stellar food!

Helpful?
Thank Taipandesaipan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant for beautiful people with delicious food.”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We read about this newly opened restaurant in our in-flight Travel & Leisure magazine. We sought it out on our last night in Bangkok. Pulling up to the address from the sidewalk, we saw floor to ceiling glass but the interior was unlit and empty. Had they closed? As we stood looking perplexed in a little enclosed parking lot adjacent to the "empty storefront," the man working at the parking lot, pointed behind him and winked. We heeded his advice and walked towards the rear of the lot and climbed a few steps. We started to hear the buzzing chatter of other patrons and we soon found ourselves in the restaurant. We were greeted warmly by Eddie the proprietor. The dishes were amazing the standout was the razor clam special. I also enjoyed the oxtail ravioli, in fact, every dish was great, we ordered 4 in total and there were no misses. We ordered cocktails and my old fashioned was spot-on. Eddie kept checking back in with us during the course of our meal. He informed us he had just opened 4 months ago. The place was buzzing but not overly crowded. There were plenty of trendy 20-something's enjoying the food, drinks, and the decor, which has a repurposed warehouse/factory feel to it. A wonderful meal, wonderful staff. Plus a nice complimentary sorbet to cap it off. We left the restaurant wonderfully satisfied not just in the food, but in the overall experience of discovering this little gem.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ObiKwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food that makes you happy”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Really enjoyed a leisurely evening at Sheepshank Public House. The food is delicious, original and comforting, with shades of Seven Spoons thanks to being run by some of the team there. Stand-out dishes included the crab and apple salad and the razor clams with spicy chorizo. If you are looking for comfort food then order the giant oxtail tortellini. There's also a decent range of original cocktails and craft beers here too. Arrive via the river boat, disembarking at Pra Athit Pier (13).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sheepshank Public House also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Sheepshank Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing