We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Stuff Was Stinky for weeks after” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bed & Breakfast

The Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #574 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Stuff Was Stinky for weeks after”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2008

After reading the reviews in both our book and on here we expected a better stay. It was truly awful. Oddly, our room wreaked of an oder that included a combination of potato, onion, and mothballs. It was so pungent that we had a hard time breathing or sleeping. Exhausted and having arrived around midnight, it was too late to leave and Wendy House (next door) and Suk11 (where we usually stay) was full. The worst part was, when we arrived and unpacked at our next hotel - the smell had come with us and stuck... we actually had to throw some stuff out because even with washing and airing out it wouldn't come clean. Whatever it was must have been incredibly toxic (or alien). It was terrible and something I have never experienced. Weird. We arrived at 12am and left at 7am and that smell managed to attach itself and cling to everything.

The bed was fairly clean, though the walls were filthy, stained, and had mysterious brown and yellowish streaks... we tried to tell ourselves it was chocolate... the floor was a little sandy, but the bathroom was very clean The staff was fairly friendly and the location was close to the Skytrain. We could hear other guests, but the room itself was pretty quiet.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — The Horrible Smell, dirty walls
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2008

We moved here from another backpackers and the difference in place was incredible. The staff here are friendly, the rooms are clean (they clean them every day) and secure and you get breakfast included in the room price. Beds are comfortable and rooms have ensuites with hot water. The location is great, being literally 5mins walk from MBK and the rest of Siam Square. The only problem was the lack of internet access, but are there are quite a few places to stay down that street you can get internet elsewhere.

  • Liked — Convenience to shopping locations and great food
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smabbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2007

We paid 600 baht a night for one room with a double bed. Free breakfast was toast, tea and fruit. There is also free bottled water. I would recommend this hotel as it is my favorite location (Siam Square) for a great price. But don't expect a lot in your room, it is clean and basic which is all I needed. The room is very small (maybe 7' x 10') with only a phone, one window & AirCon, one small table and a coat rack. There is no TV, no Fridge, no closet, no desk or drawers. The attached bathroom is sufficient, it is thai style where the shower is basically the entire bathroom with a curtain shielding the toilet. My window overlooked an alley and it was plenty quiet for us. They have cheap laundry service here but no computers or internet service. I had to call them to make the reservation and I can confirm that they held the room for me despite not taking a deposit.

If you're looking for the cheapest place around Siam Square, this is my pick, Skytrain stop is 2 mins away at end of street and Siam Square is all walkable. For a little more upscale, try the Reno Hotel on the same street, more upscale than that would be the Asia Hotel which is still rather reasonably priced.

For internet access, by far the best and cheapest is on the top floor of the MBK Center, at the end of the street from the Bed & Breakfast. My favorite place to eat here is the food court at Siam Paragon Mall, 10 min walk away.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruarigriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2007

This hotel is recommended for those travellers who simply wants a nice place to sleep after a tiring day in Bangkok. The room is tidy and the bathroom is well maintained. A night cost 800 baht for double occupancy and already includes breakfast. However dont be surprised if
you eat the same breakfast everyday. If you opted not to avail the free meal, then seven eleven is just around the corner the suit you hunger.

The place is just a walking distance to the nearest shopping mall such
as MBK, SIAM Discovery, SIAM Center and SIAM Paragon. For those bargain hunters, nearest shopping bazaar is the suan lum night bazaar,
phratunam market and chatuchak weekend market which accessible via BTS
(SIAM).

  • Liked — place is clean and quiet. near BTS and shopping area
  • Disliked — no tv inside the room
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dabalyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2005

Hi Fellow Travellers,
The Bed and Breakfast was perfect for me. I was travelling alone and found the brand new revamped rooms at this place to be a refreshing change from the usual standard rooms you get around Thailand. Includes breakfast and the rooms are heaps nicer than the competition on Soi 1. If a little smaller, but so worth it. Quiet Air Con and nice size beds. I was in a single room. Also great for being close to all the skytrain and buses.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Muangphol Mansion
Muangphol Mansion
#722 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Siam
Hua Chang Heritage Hotel
Hua Chang Heritage Hotel
#143 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
#159 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#125 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#70 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Bed & Breakfast
Address: 36/42-43 Soi Kasemsan 1 Rama 1 RdPathumwan, 10330, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #574 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bangkok
The Bed And Breakfast
The Bed Breakfast Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing