We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmm...”
Review of D&D INN

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
D&D INN
Ranked #611 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

D and D had some good points. It is a fairly inexpensive, large hotel with a rooftop bar and swimming pool. Breakfast is quite good, although across the road. The staff aren't the friendliest however. If you are planning on doing a bit of partying this place will do the job nicely. It's situated on the busy Khao San road in the middle of everything. The road however is dirty, smelly and thronged with people in your face selling things so if you want a relaxing quiet spot to see the main attractions of Bangkok I would say stay somewhere other than on this road!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Colm87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,621)
There are newer reviews for D&D INN
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 617 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and from the get go we were greeted by arsey staff who clearly do not enjoy westerners being there. Everything seemed like a hassle and whenever we enquired about something it was as though we were asking something ridiculous.
Rooms very basic but big, shower used to just fill up with water and didn't drain properly. Only 1 plug socket in whole room (which the tv is in) so when you are travelling with someone else and you have iPhone/iPads and cameras to charge, it is a pain. Never known this to be the case at any other accommodation before... Even hostels are more equipped!
Breakfast is served at a restaurant across the road which is very average for the price, bizarre selection of spaghetti bolognese, bacon, watermelon/pineapple, fried eggs, toast or cereal. Also it's difficult to get a seat as it's a small place and quite a large hotel.
Similarly the rooftop pool gets extremely crowded, you are given pool vouchers each day from reception as a guest but this is not checked at all. Most days we found that if you went to the pool after 12/1pm there are no seats and barely space on the floor for a towel... Clearly a lot of outside people coming and going which should be monitored as hotel guests are a priority as they've paid.
Overall it was an ok stay, nothing special and expensive for what it was. If I was to go back I would check in at the Rambuttri Inn as it's off the very busy and noisy khao San and just as nice pool which I'm sure is quieter for a relaxing day.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Brilliantbrunette5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

In staying in an awful hotel down the road we and 14 friends moved to D&D where they put us all in rooms next to each other which was excellent. Our rooms were on the other side from the Main Street so there was no noise whatsoever which was a god send. The rooms were lovely, comfy bed, clean sheets, flat screen tv on the wall, big bathroom with good shower. And a little balcony which was good for smoking. The only downfall of the hotel was they phone called the room everyday to ask if you were checking out even if you had told them how long you were staying. Other than that; amazing location, the pool was always a bit crowded but nice to jump into from the heat of the city. Air con was the best we've had in 6 months travelling, and could hear no noise so got perfect nights sleep when needed. Would definitely recommend this and am planing to stay here on our way back out the country.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank HannCuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great location if you're looking for the crazy of the road it's on but for me I was looking for a little more quiet than that. Room was VERY basic and didnt have any windows so the only way to tell whether it was night or day was to listen for the drum of music outside. There was only one outlet in the room for charging and the room had seen better days. I guess for the price it was ok, I would have expected a bit more. The place is chaotic and they have trouble regulating the traffic going in and out but again what to expect from the location? Packed at all times with young travelers its a nice place to meet people.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a window!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iriekenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I've stayed here several times over the past 4 years. I love the location and the price is excellent. The rooms are clean and everything that you would possibly want is on the doorstep! Even though this hotel is right on Khao San Road, you'll be surprised with how quiet the rooms are.I was here on Christmas eve when a random street party started around midnight as I was on my way back to the hotel, it was so much fun. I stayed partying for about an hour and went to my room with the party still in full swing, even with this going on outside it was so quiet in the room. You will get a decent night sleep here. I highly recommend a trip to the roof of the hotel, there's a nice pool and the views across the city at night are stunning.

Room Tip: Go for deluxe.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here; deluxe room for two. At the moment, this place is undergoing renovation (err, expansion is more like it), so it's a bit noisy and dirty when we go out; i guess this is why they deduced 100 Baht off the public price. So far, this place met our basic needs: clean room, AC, private bathroom, good wifi, security. A plus for its tv with english language channels (news update). Breakfast was provided also. So, money well spent.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kembangalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 days. The room was basic but clean and fairly spacious. We didn't have any real problems with noise as our room was towards the back of the hotel. The location was excellent right in the heart of Koh San road! The pool was lovely but the decking around the pool needs some attention as it didn't feel very safe on parts. The staff could do with some customer service training. No service with a smile here, everyone behind reception seemed very serious and unhappy. But overall we had a nice experience and I would still recommend it to anyone looking to be in the thick of it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseJ2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#364 of 880 in Bangkok
1,309 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#378 of 880 in Bangkok
1,057 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#174 of 880 in Bangkok
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Dang Derm in The Park
Dang Derm in The Park
#606 of 880 in Bangkok
18 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri House
Rambuttri House
#490 of 880 in Bangkok
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D&D INN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D&D INN

Address: 68-70 Khaosan Road, Phranakorn,, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#152 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £18 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — D&D INN 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your D&D INN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d And d Inn
d&d Hotel Bangkok
d Hotel Bangkok
d d Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing