We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very noisy but clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of D&D INN

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
D&D INN
Ranked #503 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Chiang mai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very noisy but clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Our room was far from the street and we were told it would be quiet since it didn't have windows. Yet we heard music blasting until 6 am. The ac works. Wifi is good. Buffet breakfast is nothing spectacular. But you are on khao San road so depends if you wanna be near the party scene. Maybe you can get more for your money on a different street and just visit khao San road

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amandasi02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    504
    455
    162
    228
See reviews for
105
530
180
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We staying here for two calls of our booking.
First time, we stay at Superior room. It's was fine, bath room clean with window to the roof of neighbor. Second time , when returning back from Pattaya we did stay at Deluxe room which was not higher than Superior, just add more bottles of water and minibar without stuff inside.
We get many experiences during the time stay in Khaosan Rd, a noisy street with overnight shopping every where. What's amazing !!! Life gets started after 10:00PM. If you are couple prefer staying at quite place with friendly people, you should not stay here. We bought much at this street and wish could bring all to my home.
Swimming pool was fine even thought no more space for swimming and diving, just water bearing.
Staff was ok without uniform, almost the guest say hello before them. We have to pay money immediately when checking in, they kept 500 Bath for deposit. It's acceptable for a budget hotel more than 100 rooms. We had check out quite early in the morning, by asking them about taxi to airport, we did get very helpful and necessary information from receptionist and bell man as well. From Khao San Rd to Airport is not over than 350 Bath per way, even we took taxi at 400 Bath on the first day arrive to the hotel.
Highly recommend for people who really enjoy nighttime, bar, pub, club, shopping with cheap cheap goods and product of Thailand hand made.

Room Tip: Superior room is as near as make no deference than Deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahTon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We had high hopes for D&D, as friends we had met along the way had recommended it to us. Sadly, it didn't live up to expectations.

I'm going to summarise in bullet points as I don't want to waste too much time on prose.

Good:
Pool
On Khaosan Road, bar street
Taxis and tuk tuks know where to find it and will charge a fair price
Tours usually pick up here
24/7 reception
(Mostly) friendly staff

Bad:
A lot of scum in the pool, leaving you feeling sticky on exit
In our room, there was barely any light
The room hadn't been cleaned before we got here, with long dark hairs all over the room and bathroom and very little toilet roll (speculation: a hooker may have been the last person to rent the room)
Roaches. Baby and small-sized roaches everywhere, with a large one on our 'balcony'. They wouldn't let us use the chemical ourselves, instead sending housekeeping, then gassed us out of the room for four hours.
Dirty sheets (smelled of people and sweat, also stained)
Breakfast was pretty dreadful. Eggs that looked and tasted really bizarre, bad spaghetti bolognese, strange frankfurter style sausages and the sugar-syrup style fruit juice. I didn't try the coffee. They didn't have water. Not worth getting up and going across the road for this.
No free water in rooms.
No housekeeping for a Superior room (took them 45 minutes to get us toilet roll after we requested some in person at the desk)
Mosquitoes and house flies infesting the reception area, where I had to charge my phone as we only had one socket in the room for two of us and it was in an awkward place where I couldn't plug my charger in anyway. I had 7 bites in twenty minutes, despite killing five mosquitoes in that time!

I'll stop here, but you get the idea. For the same price there is better accommodation in Bangkok and better service, too. Perhaps if you're backpacking it's worth the budget Standard room as the location is great. Personally, though, I was really disappointed and won't be staying here again or recommending it to any of my friends.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Minmoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

D and D had some good points. It is a fairly inexpensive, large hotel with a rooftop bar and swimming pool. Breakfast is quite good, although across the road. The staff aren't the friendliest however. If you are planning on doing a bit of partying this place will do the job nicely. It's situated on the busy Khao San road in the middle of everything. The road however is dirty, smelly and thronged with people in your face selling things so if you want a relaxing quiet spot to see the main attractions of Bangkok I would say stay somewhere other than on this road!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colm87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and from the get go we were greeted by arsey staff who clearly do not enjoy westerners being there. Everything seemed like a hassle and whenever we enquired about something it was as though we were asking something ridiculous.
Rooms very basic but big, shower used to just fill up with water and didn't drain properly. Only 1 plug socket in whole room (which the tv is in) so when you are travelling with someone else and you have iPhone/iPads and cameras to charge, it is a pain. Never known this to be the case at any other accommodation before... Even hostels are more equipped!
Breakfast is served at a restaurant across the road which is very average for the price, bizarre selection of spaghetti bolognese, bacon, watermelon/pineapple, fried eggs, toast or cereal. Also it's difficult to get a seat as it's a small place and quite a large hotel.
Similarly the rooftop pool gets extremely crowded, you are given pool vouchers each day from reception as a guest but this is not checked at all. Most days we found that if you went to the pool after 12/1pm there are no seats and barely space on the floor for a towel... Clearly a lot of outside people coming and going which should be monitored as hotel guests are a priority as they've paid.
Overall it was an ok stay, nothing special and expensive for what it was. If I was to go back I would check in at the Rambuttri Inn as it's off the very busy and noisy khao San and just as nice pool which I'm sure is quieter for a relaxing day.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brilliantbrunette5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

In staying in an awful hotel down the road we and 14 friends moved to D&D where they put us all in rooms next to each other which was excellent. Our rooms were on the other side from the Main Street so there was no noise whatsoever which was a god send. The rooms were lovely, comfy bed, clean sheets, flat screen tv on the wall, big bathroom with good shower. And a little balcony which was good for smoking. The only downfall of the hotel was they phone called the room everyday to ask if you were checking out even if you had told them how long you were staying. Other than that; amazing location, the pool was always a bit crowded but nice to jump into from the heat of the city. Air con was the best we've had in 6 months travelling, and could hear no noise so got perfect nights sleep when needed. Would definitely recommend this and am planing to stay here on our way back out the country.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HannCuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great location if you're looking for the crazy of the road it's on but for me I was looking for a little more quiet than that. Room was VERY basic and didnt have any windows so the only way to tell whether it was night or day was to listen for the drum of music outside. There was only one outlet in the room for charging and the room had seen better days. I guess for the price it was ok, I would have expected a bit more. The place is chaotic and they have trouble regulating the traffic going in and out but again what to expect from the location? Packed at all times with young travelers its a nice place to meet people.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iriekenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#339 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#367 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#190 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm in The Parc
Dang Derm in The Parc
#510 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#356 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D&D INN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D&D INN

Property: D&D INN
Address: 68-70 Khaosan Road, Phranakorn,, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#135 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — D&D INN 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your D&D INN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d&d Hotel Bangkok
d And d Inn
d Hotel Bangkok
d d Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing