We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good value for money”
Review of D&D INN

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
D&D INN
Ranked #588 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 21 March 2009

We stayed at the D & D Inn in bangkok for 3 nights at a cost of 750THB ($35 au) per night. The room was very small, 2 single beds with no fridge, internet, tea/coffee facilities and only a couple of english tv channels. We had breakfast in the hotel, which is served outside. Internet is available on the 7th floor from a cafe, but was very expensive for wifi, or 10thb for 20 miniutes using their pc's. Whilst using the pc's, many virus messages popped up. On a plus side, the inn is right in the middle of the tourist area, surrounded by bars, clubs, shopping, etc. If your looking for somewhere cheap, clean and cosy to stay, then i would recommend looking somewhere else, maybe with a few more amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grimreper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,042 - 1,048 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2009

i loved the d&d, i felt it was really more of a backpackers getaway, i stayed there twice in 2008. The first time our room was not great, it had no window,but because we were backpacking we did'nt mind. the pool was great, the food, massages and beautician was all great and so cheap. And you cant beat the athmosphere of khoasan road. The second time we stayed there we got a fantastic room, same price as before, just by chance . I would advise to ask to see the room, if you are picky, as the standard of rooms varies. They do not take bookings only walk ins. It is advisable to get there early in the morning, and they will most likely have the room ready by lunch, they will mind your bags in the mean time. great friedly service.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JenniferETravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

The hotel itself is a little tired and dated but clean. We were sold a 'balcony room' but the 'balcony' was 1 metre squared and only contained the air conditioning unit! The beds were absolutely rock hard, although we were informed when checking in that the beds were hard. We just didn't expect marble worktop kind of hard!! The hotel has some good facilities (the internet cafe on floor 7 was one of the cheapest around) and a decent breakfast. Great location in the centre of Khao San Road. If you like luxury, stay away. If you're travelling on a budget, this is great value at only 750 baht (currently approx £15) a night (for the room, not per person!).

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sn00zan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

If you don't mind cockroaches in your room, the hardest bed on earth, I guess it's okey.

But the pool was very dirty and smelled like [--].

Breakfast was fine and staff in lobby were nice.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2008

I stayed here with my mother in June for about a week. We weren't the typical backpacker crowd staying there, but we didn't have any problems. The staff were always courteous, and they did not lose our booking (we booked over the phone). We came back after some time exploring the islands and they remembered us, the lovely girl at the reception could even tell us what number room we had stayed in the time before. The doorman always had the door open for us long before we reached it and always greeted us. We stayed in a deluxe room, though I haven't stayed in a standard room I would say definitely go for the deluxe. It had a minibar and tv and aircon (it wasn't noisy) and complementary water and was on the quiet side of the hotel. The only problems were a lack of toilet paper, which you can buy in khaosan rd for about 10c, so not a big deal. Also there was no hot water, but I don't know why you would want any its warm enough! You can book tours from the place in the hotel where the internet is, but I don't recommend that because we paid top price. The breakfast food is ok, not brilliant but not terrible. If you wait a bit they usually bring out fresh food. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was delicious, and of similar quality to most of the restaurants on Khaosan rd. The best bit by far though was the beauty salon on the roof. I got my hair coloured, cut and straightened, and my mother got hers cut and blow dryed, and the whole thing was only $40AUD. AMAZING! I had a great time at D&D and will be going back there in January 2009!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2008

We stayed here for a couple of nights, my friend had been before and warned me not to expect too much.
The location is great, slap bang in the middle of the Khao San Road. The receptionists were very friendy. The rooftop swimming pool and chill-out area were great for getting your bearings in Bangkok and watching all the mayhem below.
The rooms.. bit strange! no windows which made you feel a bit disorientated. bit of a wierd layout too, but big enough and our triple room had separate WC and shower rooms and tonnes of space for luggage. The walls were a bit grubby but on the whole it was ok. Very noisy at night though - thin walls and echoey corridors.. drink lots of Singha before bed and you shouldnt notice too much! serves its purpose as a cheap place to stop in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PirateAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2008

Very dissapointed with the room after entering into such a well kept lobby area....

Bed was sheets placed on planks of wood.... (it felt like wood)

Terrible hotel..... my girlfriend and i planned on staying two nights however after the first sleep we decided to find new accomdations.

We went down the street and around the corner and for only 1300 baht we found the Pannee Lodge which was just marvelous and quiet.... compared to the hustle and bustle of the crowded D&D..

I truly recommend this place to no one!
If your travelling on a budget there are many other hotels and inns on the road that offer much nicer rooms for the same price!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thailandtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#357 of 885 in Bangkok
1,313 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#365 of 885 in Bangkok
1,066 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#178 of 885 in Bangkok
1,319 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm in The Park
Dang Derm in The Park
#613 of 885 in Bangkok
19 reviews
Banglamphu
Royal Rattankosin Hotel
Royal Rattankosin Hotel
#722 of 885 in Bangkok
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D&D INN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D&D INN

Address: 68-70 Khaosan Road, Phranakorn,, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#149 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £20 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — D&D INN 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your D&D INN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d&d Hotel Bangkok
d And d Inn
d Hotel Bangkok
d d Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing