We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't live up to the Hype”
Review of D&D INN

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
D&D INN
Ranked #566 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the Hype”
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Me & my girlfriend were recommended to stay here by a fellow backpacker who absolutely raved about the place. We were very disappointed. The bed might aswell have been made of stone it was so hard, and we had a big noisy air con extractor just off the room.

Pool was quite nice up until early afternoon when it became full of rich 18 year old soon to be students! Also the service was terrible. Tried to coax us into paying for a more expensive room, then when we decided to check out after 1 night (booked for 3) they wouldn't give us our money back!

Good location though!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfreeza69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    522
    482
    179
    241
See reviews for
119
563
191
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Four different email requests for lodging here were unsuccessful as they claimed to be full. Two requests were for the following night and two were over a week in advance. The only time I did get in is when I stopped at the front desk and made a reservation for 2 weeks away. The agents working behind the desk were not very friendly, were often sidetracked and many times acted as if we were inconveniencing them. Every time I was in the lobby there was someone in a heated discussion with one agent or another. If the management succeeded in getting the front desk agents to smile the rest of the stay would be much more enjoyable. It didn't help either that the hotel did not take credit cards for payment.
Beyond the front desk, the morning breakfast, included in the rate, was pleasant with a good selection of food. The rooms were no different than many of the other places on Kho san rd, adequate but nothing spectacular. Of the four places I stayed in the area it was the only place that we saw cockroaches in the room. The location is central to Kho san rd. activities and loud in rooms along the front of the hotel.
The swimming pool on the roof was a nice place to hang out but did not accommodate very many people with the small deck area around it. The pool bar was convenient but again the staff was not very friendly and went about there jobs without any additional effort or pleasantries.
With the difficulty to get rooms and the lack of friendliness from the staff I'm surprised that they stay as busy as they do. With a little extra work there are many other places in the area that have nicer rooms and better rates.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RASHERRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2009

We stayed at the D & D Inn in bangkok for 3 nights at a cost of 750THB ($35 au) per night. The room was very small, 2 single beds with no fridge, internet, tea/coffee facilities and only a couple of english tv channels. We had breakfast in the hotel, which is served outside. Internet is available on the 7th floor from a cafe, but was very expensive for wifi, or 10thb for 20 miniutes using their pc's. Whilst using the pc's, many virus messages popped up. On a plus side, the inn is right in the middle of the tourist area, surrounded by bars, clubs, shopping, etc. If your looking for somewhere cheap, clean and cosy to stay, then i would recommend looking somewhere else, maybe with a few more amenities.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grimreper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

i loved the d&d, i felt it was really more of a backpackers getaway, i stayed there twice in 2008. The first time our room was not great, it had no window,but because we were backpacking we did'nt mind. the pool was great, the food, massages and beautician was all great and so cheap. And you cant beat the athmosphere of khoasan road. The second time we stayed there we got a fantastic room, same price as before, just by chance . I would advise to ask to see the room, if you are picky, as the standard of rooms varies. They do not take bookings only walk ins. It is advisable to get there early in the morning, and they will most likely have the room ready by lunch, they will mind your bags in the mean time. great friedly service.

  • Liked — The roof top pool and massage area
  • Disliked — the room with no window
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferETravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

The hotel itself is a little tired and dated but clean. We were sold a 'balcony room' but the 'balcony' was 1 metre squared and only contained the air conditioning unit! The beds were absolutely rock hard, although we were informed when checking in that the beds were hard. We just didn't expect marble worktop kind of hard!! The hotel has some good facilities (the internet cafe on floor 7 was one of the cheapest around) and a decent breakfast. Great location in the centre of Khao San Road. If you like luxury, stay away. If you're travelling on a budget, this is great value at only 750 baht (currently approx £15) a night (for the room, not per person!).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The beds!!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sn00zan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

If you don't mind cockroaches in your room, the hardest bed on earth, I guess it's okey.

But the pool was very dirty and smelled like [--].

Breakfast was fine and staff in lobby were nice.

  • Liked — The rates
  • Disliked — cockraches plus the bed
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2008

I stayed here with my mother in June for about a week. We weren't the typical backpacker crowd staying there, but we didn't have any problems. The staff were always courteous, and they did not lose our booking (we booked over the phone). We came back after some time exploring the islands and they remembered us, the lovely girl at the reception could even tell us what number room we had stayed in the time before. The doorman always had the door open for us long before we reached it and always greeted us. We stayed in a deluxe room, though I haven't stayed in a standard room I would say definitely go for the deluxe. It had a minibar and tv and aircon (it wasn't noisy) and complementary water and was on the quiet side of the hotel. The only problems were a lack of toilet paper, which you can buy in khaosan rd for about 10c, so not a big deal. Also there was no hot water, but I don't know why you would want any its warm enough! You can book tours from the place in the hotel where the internet is, but I don't recommend that because we paid top price. The breakfast food is ok, not brilliant but not terrible. If you wait a bit they usually bring out fresh food. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was delicious, and of similar quality to most of the restaurants on Khaosan rd. The best bit by far though was the beauty salon on the roof. I got my hair coloured, cut and straightened, and my mother got hers cut and blow dryed, and the whole thing was only $40AUD. AMAZING! I had a great time at D&D and will be going back there in January 2009!

  • Liked — Beauty Salon! Also the staff we encountered were lovely and competant.
  • Disliked — Rooms were not made up, toilet paper not refilled. Actually I think they made up the room once for us on request.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#348 of 861 in Bangkok
1,290 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#367 of 861 in Bangkok
1,027 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#176 of 861 in Bangkok
1,284 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm in The Park
Dang Derm in The Park
#646 of 861 in Bangkok
15 reviews
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#341 of 861 in Bangkok
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D&D INN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D&D INN

Property: D&D INN
Address: 68-70 Khaosan Road, Phranakorn,, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#146 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — D&D INN 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your D&D INN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d&d Hotel Bangkok
d And d Inn
d Hotel Bangkok
d d Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing