We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in downtown BKK”
Review of Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rose Hotel
Ranked #411 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Located directly behind the Le Meridien, it can be difficult to explain to taxis. So, have the taxi take you to outside the Le Meridien and just walk down the Soi.
The Rose is an upgraded older hotel that offers a great swimming pool and clean rooms, good linen and services.
The Le Meridien is a hotel in another class, especially in cost but having stayed at both properties, I was very happy with the quality of accommodation and service.
Breakfast is included and is a set menu.
I would stay here again, happily. I probably would not use the pre-booked airport taxi facility again though.
Comments regarding the ladies at reception not being friendly can be understood but they were not rude and I've experienced far, far worse in Bangkok.
Hotel internet facility is costly, in Thai terms, but it's there if you need it.

Room Tip: My room was on the 5th floor. It faced to pool but minus a view. There are rooms on the 6th floor bu...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomtom58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for Rose Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel is home to our tailor, Saville Row, and we only had 2 nights in town for this trip, so Rose Hotel was utterly convenient.
Location is party prime. (Khao San Road is backpack hippie haven) Phat Pong is wild adult area. Awesome shopping, massage parlous everywhere, sex district (if that's your bag) and plenty of eateries.
The hotel...the rooms are basic, really basic, your view is, well, Bangkok, BUT the location is prime, and their outdoor pool is a paradise retreat from the madness, heat, and dirt of Bangkok.
Hot water, strong a/c, clean sheets.
Their restaurant by the pool? Really good!
tuktuk to Khao San is 200baht. Private taxi to BKK is 500baht.
We wanted to hit 4 big sites in one day, we rented a tuktuk man, for 4 hours, negociated 1000baht, he took us to the big sites, waited...drove to next big site.
We wanted to save our feet, and love traveling through Bangkok via tuktuk.
Right near hotel is Snake Farm...GO TO IT!
For great massages, including your "happy types"...walk out of hotel to main street, cross street toward the right, and go to massage parlour 2 before "JC MASSAGE" -you'll see JC sign, trust me.

Husband and I were very pleased with this location, this being our 4th time to Bangkok. Would come here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Convenient hotel, quite quiet, clean, rooms are not very big though, not many TV channels in english, drinks warm in the mini bar. For me it is fair value, not far from subway stations, restaurants; swimming pool is nice and the restaurant nearby is awesome, very good.
Ladies at the front desk are not very warm but well, that's ok anyway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Main highlights were the friendly staff and the amazing pool.

Staff were friendly from the concierge to the reception to the tour desk. However, they will not offer information - you will need to ask. I had to ask, "Are there windows?". The answer was "Yes". However, they neglected to mention that the windows were frosted. There's a reason for it being frosted, the unfrosted view wasn't very pleasing.

Generally, the room was clean where it mattered but I would be more impressed if they put in more effort in cleaning areas where we normally would usually ignore. For example, the nozzle of the water spray near the toilet bowl, corner of the bathroom mirror, etc. Sorry, I'm a detail freak. The bath tub was very clean; almost pristine.

Location was near Patpong - a popular place with tourists. There were sex shows and souvenir stalls along this road. There were many pubs, restaurants and hangout places popular with westerners at the main road near this hotel. If you liked these, Rose Hotel would be a good place to start.

The room that I had was the Studio Corner Double. It's not overly priced nor was it cheap. For a small person like me, it's easy to move around. There were the usual amenities like mini-bar, old-fashioned TV, mini-safe and a lighted closet. There's also a divan with an ottoman.

There were a few things that I loved. The comfy towels, the clean bath tub, the jasmine scented bath foam, the beautiful paintings around the hotel and the swimming pool.

The few things that I disliked were the window view (there were none), the power trips that happened twice (once while I was showering - it was really dark), calling the operator who kept saying, "Ka?" and the limited pool opening hours (from 7am till 7pm).

My biggest gripe was the fee-based wifi.

Personally, I don't like the Patpong area along the Surawongse road. The hotel was also quite a distance away from Silom Complex - my current favourite place to hangout especially when it's too warm to walk under the sun. The lack of free wifi was a major turn off. Will not be returning to Rose Hotel anytime soon.

Room Tip: Studio Corner Double has a frosted window. Will let sunlight in but no view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

It's a good hotel for the price, but i don't come back. The staff don't help you because they don't speak english very Well and they don't know nothing. The rooms are clean but poor (take your champoo and gel bath!). There is a very good restaurant close to the hotel called Mango Tree.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladycc-307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is an old hotel. A brand new one "high rise" has been erected on what had been the front garden at one time of this hotel. Because of this the pool area and the rooms are muffled from street traffic and they put the money for selling their front garden back into an amazing restaurant made over from an old Teak wood Thai House moved to the spot. It faces the pool and is available in addition to a small, but modern 24 hour restaurant. Once above the main floor (The elevator is small in size) the fully remodeled rooms are a treat and contain every convenience a traveler might ask. Everything about the rooms makes up for the fact that they have enclosed what was once an open to the sky center atrium to create the lobby. The staff is friendly and helpful and there is even a reservations desk near the elevator to book any attraction in Bangkok or tour to your taste. Amazing value for what I paid which was just 1600 baht for a large double room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view if it is available. There are also wonderful two room suites on the...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveledThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The hotel is small and near a lot of nightlife. The room was clean but certainly not the nicest I have seen. Their internet service cost extra and is pretty slow. Some of the staff were very friendly especially the bell staff and tour desk; the front desk and restaurant were hit and miss. The hotel still uses keys and the room key has a VERY LARGE keychain (kind of a pain in the a** to walk around in your pocket all day!). Would I stay again.... probably not, but if I had to would.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#199 of 880 in Bangkok
888 reviews
Silom
The Tawana Bangkok
The Tawana Bangkok
#235 of 880 in Bangkok
886 reviews
Silom
The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Montien Hotel Bangkok
Montien Hotel Bangkok
#377 of 880 in Bangkok
871 reviews
Silom
De Arni Bangkok
De Arni Bangkok
#457 of 880 in Bangkok
170 reviews
Silom
D Varee Diva Bally Silom, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Hotel

Address: 118 Surawongse Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #411 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £35 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small yet beautiful hotel in the heart of Bangkok’s vibrant business district, entertainment and shopping area, Silom, Surawongse and Patpong night market. With its Ruen-Urai fine Thai cuisine, swimming pool and tropical rush garden, we are an urban oasis for travelers. Easy access by BTS and MRT, Rose hotel is an ideal place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing