We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in Bangkok neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibrik Resort by the River
Ranked #300 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I took my niece to Thailand for her high school graduation present and our first stop was Ibrik Resort in Bangkok. We booked the River Room and our wonderful "American" breakfast was right on the Chao Praya River! Great room (clean, comfortable beds, view of lit up grand palace at night), good bathroom, staff was welcoming and helpful, AC in room worked great. Convenient to ferry to cross the river to attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladycheetah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2011

Be sure to carry a copy of the Thai cab instructions with you .. you can always walk in from Wat Rawkang after you have been here once but you need a little help finding the place the first time.
Once you do, you know you have found something special. You may not even feel you need to leave... you can just lie on your bed or sit on your porch and watch Bangkok go by - your entire wall facing the river is like one giant entertainment screen. (This worked well for me as I was not feeling well when we arrived.)
There is a little early evening noise from the place next door, but the party boats and noise close down early, so don't really interfer with a good nights sleep.
A wonderful breakfast is served with a smile on the porch in the morning. In fact all the hotel employees ( or owners, or whatever they are) are extremely sweet and helpful. They understand more English than they speak.
When you are ready to get out, it is a super location - just hop the 3 bhat cross river boat for the Temple of the Emerald Buddha and Grand Palace and Wat Pho ( Temple of the Reclining Buddha). You are also near the Royal Barge Museum and Wat Arun on the same side. And you can catch the downriver tourist ferry to see the city from its original highway.
At night the one door over very elegant Thai restuarant has free music and dance entertainment (at least on Saturday night). It was very elegant and beautiful.
For things farther away it is easy and not expensive to arrange a taxi.
So all together we found our 3 nights very pleasant and convenient.
We stayed in the River Room on the first floor. The Sunlight and Moonlight Rooms are on the second floor. Sunlight faces the river and Moonlight faces the alley.. all rooms have terraces.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMBA_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We got Ibrik by the River recommended by a friend as a nice boutique hotel - and we got not disapointed.
The location is just great and the service is very good.
It was very hard to find by Taxi drivers even after printing out the Thai directions - after tw o days we could direct the drivers by our own.
The staff is very good and likes to fulfill all wishes.
The only thing that could be improved is the additional bill as we dropped by accident a water glass into the river.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freemagicsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We had to stay there because of the location and it was fun fun fun! We had the upstairs room with the large terrace, the double bed and the shower only.
Room (Sunshine): very small but OK for a one-night-experience, bathroom working but small, too, AC: wonderful
Location: if you are a bit adventurous and you don´t mind to stay in a small room, THIS IS IT! The neighbourhood is charming, there are almost no "farangs" and it is just lovely and quiet. Not so the river: you hear the river, the ferries and the boats. But hey! We knew this beforehand!
Breakfast: one word: royal! We loved it!
Staff: wonderful, just "Thai".
Value: well, it is expensive and you do not get what you have in other hotels at this rate. But the location is worth it!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We stayed here our first night in Bangkok and it was excellent! The service was incredible! The room was so romantic and looking out over the river was very serene...just what we needed after a long flight. The hotel is also very near all the major sites and the views from the room are amazing! We will certainly be returning here for our next trip!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HStevens1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Away from the hustle of Bangkok is the Ibrik River Resort, a gem of a boutique hotel on the banks of the Chao Phraya river. With only 3 rooms, it is best to book ahead. We stayed in the Sunshine Room that, true to its name, was full of light and air, with a large attached balcony overlooking the river. The resort is classy, serene and elegant - just the place to come back to after hectic forays into teeming Bangkok. The staff are discreet, friendly, efficient and full of information. The rooms are well appointed (although the bathroom was a bit small) with tasteful furniture (check out the king sized beds!). Breakfast in the sunny common room are a great way to start the day. The neighbourhood has retained its local charm and remains resolutely un-touristy. Other pluses include the nearby Patravadi Theater and the Supatra River House which meets both entertainment and food needs! This is one resort that you will fall in love with.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peneliti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We have booked the Ibrik by the river based on the trip advisor recommendations and we were not let down.
The ibrik is on the west banks of the river Chao Praya opposite of Bangkok Royal Palace. At this side of the river you do not see many tourists. There are none of the main tourist attractions so you feel like being at the real Bangkok.

Quick facts about the Ibrik:
Ibrik
- good service (despite our pick up at the airport did not work)
- rooms are in colonial style (we stayed in the Moon Room)
- rooms are well equipped, bed is fine, bath/ showver is good
- breakfast has to be pre-ordered the evening before (including time to be served)
- reception understands basic English

location
- nice variety of restaurants (we tried three different) around the corner
- partly restuarants have tables at the waterfront
- speed boat and ferry piers are within five minte walking distance
- airport is roughly one hour (taxi 500 TBH, Ibrik transport (1.000 TBH)

I would recommend the Ibrik to everyone who loves small, private accommodations off the beaten track.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rouwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangkok
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#159 of 887 in Bangkok
339 reviews
Aurum The River Place
#284 of 887 in Bangkok
198 reviews
Theatre Residence
#444 of 887 in Bangkok
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#197 of 887 in Bangkok
309 reviews
Taris Art Hotel Phrae
#5 of 10 in Phrae
2 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#21 of 887 in Bangkok
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibrik Resort by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibrik Resort by the River

Address: 256 Soi Wat Rakang, Arunamarin Rd., Bangkoknoi, 10700 | Arunamrin Rd, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £67 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibrik Resort by the River 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bangkok Boutique Hotel in Thailand The smallest resort in the world ...just three rooms in all .... River room .. the whisper of Chaophraya river Sunshine room .. indulgence to the bright sunlight Moonlight room .. a soft touch of tranquility Guest Room Facilities : All 3 rooms are non-smoking rooms. All rooms have private en suite bathrooms and private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Ibrik Resort by the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibrik Resort By The River Hotel Bangkok
Ibrik Resort Bangkok
Ibrik Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing